Checked
Child Care Businesses in Arkansas
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 728
- Child care workers
- 11,708
- Average yearly pay
- $25,980
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 4,012
- 15.5 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas County | 4 | 49 | 29 | 20.0 |
| Ashley County | 4 | 34 | 17 | 11.4 |
| Baxter County | 8 | 132 | 34 | 9.9 |
| Benton County | 64 | 1,329 | 262 | 10.7 |
| Boone County | 8 | 55 | 47 | 14.4 |
| Bradley County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 6.9 |
| Calhoun County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 8.5 |
| Carroll County | 5 | 22 | 32 | 12.9 |
| Chicot County | 5 | 47 | 27 | 32.8 |
| Clark County | 9 | 142 | 25 | 16.1 |
| Clay County | 4 | 47 | 11 | 10.5 |
| Cleburne County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 6.3 |
| Cleveland County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 9.4 |
| Columbia County | 11 | 88 | 18 | 13.0 |
| Conway County | 4 | 40 | 27 | 14.7 |
| Craighead County | 26 | 876 | 231 | 22.7 |
| Crawford County | 17 | 257 | 69 | 14.1 |
| Crittenden County | 14 | 168 | 192 | 43.6 |
| Cross County | 8 | 97 | 34 | 25.4 |
| Dallas County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 6.4 |
| Desha County | None reported | Not reported | 34 | 31.5 |
| Drew County | 4 | 71 | 27 | 18.2 |
| Faulkner County | 30 | 735 | 144 | 13.6 |
| Franklin County | 4 | 23 | 13 | 9.8 |
| Fulton County | 5 | 43 | 10 | 12.2 |
| Garland County | 21 | 474 | 92 | 11.3 |
| Grant County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 7.7 |
| Greene County | 13 | 94 | 82 | 20.5 |
| Hempstead County | 4 | 48 | 33 | 19.0 |
| Hot Spring County | 5 | 48 | 29 | 10.2 |
| Howard County | 3 | 7 | 22 | 19.9 |
| Independence County | 5 | 105 | 26 | 8.1 |
| Izard County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 7.1 |
| Jackson County | 3 | 22 | 11 | 8.4 |
| Jefferson County | 15 | 136 | 176 | 29.5 |
| Johnson County | 6 | 86 | 28 | 13.1 |
| Lafayette County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 19.6 |
| Lawrence County | 3 | 64 | 19 | 13.5 |
| Lee County | None reported | Not reported | 37 | 44.3 |
| Lincoln County | 3 | 26 | 10 | 10.0 |
| Little River County | 3 | 27 | 12 | 12.7 |
| Logan County | 3 | 36 | 28 | 14.6 |
| Lonoke County | 19 | 245 | 64 | 11.0 |
| Madison County | 5 | 23 | 17 | 12.7 |
| Marion County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 5.2 |
| Miller County | 11 | 92 | 74 | 20.1 |
| Mississippi County | 24 | 279 | 120 | 36.8 |
| Monroe County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 31.9 |
| Nevada County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 28.2 |
| Newton County | 3 | 74 | 5 | 11.2 |
| Ouachita County | 5 | 33 | 35 | 18.1 |
| Perry County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 10.9 |
| Phillips County | 6 | 77 | 45 | 33.0 |
| Pike County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 7.9 |
| Poinsett County | 5 | 49 | 38 | 19.1 |
| Polk County | 3 | 45 | 21 | 12.4 |
| Pope County | 22 | 394 | 58 | 12.5 |
| Prairie County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 17.4 |
| Pulaski County | 109 | 1,811 | 646 | 18.9 |
| Randolph County | 5 | 59 | 22 | 14.3 |
| Saline County | 34 | 483 | 97 | 10.3 |
| Scott County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 13.2 |
| Sebastian County | 29 | 323 | 185 | 16.6 |
| Sevier County | 3 | 107 | 16 | 12.1 |
| Sharp County | 8 | 87 | 14 | 12.4 |
| St. Francis County | 3 | 18 | 84 | 38.8 |
| Stone County | 3 | 19 | 7 | 8.0 |
| Union County | 13 | 217 | 77 | 23.7 |
| Van Buren County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 8.1 |
| Washington County | 51 | 1,198 | 214 | 10.3 |
| White County | 9 | 151 | 71 | 10.3 |
| Woodruff County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 18.3 |
| Yell County | 11 | 142 | 14 | 12.4 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Arkansas?
- Arkansas had 728 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 11,708 people. Another 4,012 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Arkansas counties have the most child care centers?
- Pulaski County (109), Benton County (64), Washington County (51) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Arkansas?
- Arkansas licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: