Skip to content

Checked

Child Care Businesses in Arizona

Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.

Centers with employees (2023)
965
Child care workers
13,790
Average yearly pay
$31,120
Self-employed providers (2024)
9,124
13.7 businesses per 10,000 residents

Child care by county

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

CountyCentersWorkersSelf-employedPer 10,000
Apache CountyNone reportedNot reported6710.3
Cochise County2726918917.2
Coconino County12219665.4
Gila County6376413.0
Graham County6563410.2
Greenlee CountyNone reportedNot reported55.3
La Paz CountyNone reportedNot reported2313.8
Maricopa County6239,8075,44413.3
Mohave County202081357.0
Navajo County958909.1
Pima County1581,9401,39614.7
Pinal County4157453412.3
Santa Cruz County88119140.7
Yavapai County211921346.3
Yuma County3233075237.0

The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".

Frequently asked questions

How many child care centers are in Arizona?
Arizona had 965 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 13,790 people. Another 9,124 providers worked on their own in 2024.
Which Arizona counties have the most child care centers?
Maricopa County (623), Pima County (158), Pinal County (41) have the most centers with paid employees.
How do I find a licensed child care provider in Arizona?
Arizona licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data

Share: