Checked
Child Care Businesses in Oklahoma
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 1,055
- Child care workers
- 12,353
- Average yearly pay
- $25,150
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 4,946
- 14.9 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adair County | None reported | Not reported | 39 | 19.9 |
| Atoka County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 4.2 |
| Beaver County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 6.0 |
| Beckham County | 7 | 35 | 20 | 12.2 |
| Blaine County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 7.0 |
| Bryan County | 14 | 132 | 38 | 10.8 |
| Caddo County | 4 | 36 | 31 | 13.2 |
| Canadian County | 37 | 506 | 181 | 12.9 |
| Carter County | 13 | 123 | 47 | 12.4 |
| Cherokee County | 14 | 80 | 78 | 19.2 |
| Choctaw County | 13 | 78 | 15 | 19.6 |
| Cleveland County | 80 | 1,108 | 291 | 12.4 |
| Coal County | 3 | 60 | 4 | 13.2 |
| Comanche County | 42 | 441 | 104 | 12.0 |
| Cotton County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 5.5 |
| Craig County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 11.9 |
| Creek County | 16 | 177 | 63 | 10.8 |
| Custer County | 7 | 135 | 32 | 13.8 |
| Delaware County | 17 | 148 | 27 | 10.7 |
| Dewey County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 16.1 |
| Ellis County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 8.1 |
| Garfield County | 13 | 227 | 61 | 11.9 |
| Garvin County | 11 | 43 | 39 | 19.3 |
| Grady County | 7 | 69 | 49 | 9.9 |
| Grant County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 9.7 |
| Greer County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 7.3 |
| Haskell County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 19.7 |
| Hughes County | 3 | 28 | 9 | 9.0 |
| Jackson County | 8 | 108 | 23 | 12.6 |
| Jefferson County | 3 | 16 | 6 | 16.7 |
| Johnston County | 3 | 31 | 8 | 10.7 |
| Kay County | 9 | 165 | 67 | 17.4 |
| Kingfisher County | 4 | 11 | 21 | 16.2 |
| Kiowa County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 14.3 |
| Latimer County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 14.7 |
| Le Flore County | 8 | 23 | 72 | 16.3 |
| Lincoln County | 13 | 59 | 39 | 15.2 |
| Logan County | 4 | 50 | 40 | 8.5 |
| Love County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 9.7 |
| Major County | 4 | 22 | 4 | 10.5 |
| Marshall County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 7.0 |
| Mayes County | 6 | 62 | 46 | 13.1 |
| McClain County | 13 | 128 | 47 | 13.3 |
| McCurtain County | 13 | 100 | 47 | 19.4 |
| McIntosh County | 4 | 22 | 19 | 11.9 |
| Murray County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 11.6 |
| Muskogee County | 18 | 207 | 103 | 18.2 |
| Noble County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 14.7 |
| Nowata County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 17.0 |
| Okfuskee County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 12.4 |
| Oklahoma County | 244 | 2,926 | 1,253 | 18.6 |
| Okmulgee County | 12 | 71 | 59 | 19.2 |
| Osage County | 7 | 96 | 59 | 14.3 |
| Ottawa County | 9 | 107 | 37 | 15.2 |
| Pawnee County | 3 | 48 | 8 | 7.0 |
| Payne County | 13 | 234 | 44 | 6.9 |
| Pittsburg County | 14 | 147 | 43 | 13.1 |
| Pontotoc County | 14 | 178 | 28 | 11.0 |
| Pottawatomie County | 21 | 226 | 54 | 10.2 |
| Pushmataha County | 5 | 25 | 13 | 16.7 |
| Roger Mills County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 11.9 |
| Rogers County | 22 | 308 | 95 | 11.9 |
| Seminole County | 6 | 37 | 18 | 10.2 |
| Sequoyah County | 7 | 57 | 78 | 21.3 |
| Stephens County | 18 | 149 | 36 | 12.4 |
| Texas County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 10.1 |
| Tillman County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 8.7 |
| Tulsa County | 166 | 2,550 | 1,028 | 17.5 |
| Wagoner County | 14 | 192 | 97 | 12.8 |
| Washington County | 19 | 146 | 57 | 14.3 |
| Washita County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 11.1 |
| Woods County | 7 | 11 | 18 | 29.1 |
| Woodward County | 7 | 57 | 18 | 12.4 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Oklahoma?
- Oklahoma had 1,055 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 12,353 people. Another 4,946 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Oklahoma counties have the most child care centers?
- Oklahoma County (244), Tulsa County (166), Cleveland County (80) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Oklahoma?
- Oklahoma licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: