Checked
Child Care Businesses in Texas
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 6,242
- Child care workers
- 91,240
- Average yearly pay
- $25,940
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 50,778
- 18.9 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anderson County | 7 | 76 | 72 | 13.5 |
| Andrews County | 3 | 38 | 13 | 8.6 |
| Angelina County | 27 | 389 | 102 | 14.8 |
| Aransas County | 4 | 38 | 37 | 16.5 |
| Archer County | 5 | 34 | 5 | 11.3 |
| Atascosa County | 11 | 97 | 67 | 15.3 |
| Austin County | 8 | 92 | 63 | 22.8 |
| Bailey County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 11.6 |
| Bandera County | None reported | Not reported | 30 | 13.6 |
| Bastrop County | 18 | 168 | 125 | 13.4 |
| Baylor County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 23.0 |
| Bee County | 6 | 62 | 35 | 13.2 |
| Bell County | 114 | 1,306 | 587 | 18.1 |
| Bexar County | 340 | 6,057 | 2,840 | 15.4 |
| Blanco County | 4 | 22 | 6 | 8.0 |
| Bosque County | 4 | 18 | 21 | 13.4 |
| Bowie County | 28 | 327 | 137 | 17.9 |
| Brazoria County | 106 | 1,725 | 734 | 21.5 |
| Brazos County | 43 | 795 | 271 | 13.0 |
| Brewster County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 9.5 |
| Brooks County | 6 | 25 | 36 | 60.5 |
| Brown County | 8 | 74 | 27 | 9.1 |
| Burleson County | None reported | Not reported | 20 | 10.6 |
| Burnet County | 8 | 106 | 32 | 7.6 |
| Caldwell County | 6 | 60 | 63 | 14.2 |
| Calhoun County | 6 | 79 | 27 | 16.6 |
| Callahan County | 3 | 14 | 8 | 7.7 |
| Cameron County | 157 | 1,453 | 1,060 | 28.6 |
| Camp County | 3 | 11 | 24 | 21.1 |
| Carson County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 6.9 |
| Cass County | 7 | 69 | 42 | 17.2 |
| Castro County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 12.3 |
| Chambers County | 10 | 150 | 83 | 18.1 |
| Cherokee County | 8 | 79 | 85 | 17.9 |
| Childress County | 4 | 11 | 10 | 20.8 |
| Clay County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 5.7 |
| Cochran County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 11.8 |
| Coleman County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 15.3 |
| Collin County | 282 | 5,101 | 1,446 | 14.9 |
| Collingsworth County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 11.6 |
| Colorado County | 7 | 101 | 32 | 18.6 |
| Comal County | 23 | 441 | 108 | 7.1 |
| Comanche County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 5.7 |
| Cooke County | 7 | 69 | 46 | 12.3 |
| Coryell County | 13 | 155 | 79 | 10.9 |
| Crane County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 8.7 |
| Crockett County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 17.7 |
| Crosby County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 9.9 |
| Culberson County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| Dallam County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 9.6 |
| Dallas County | 509 | 6,904 | 5,238 | 21.9 |
| Dawson County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 6.6 |
| Deaf Smith County | None reported | Not reported | 38 | 20.6 |
| Delta County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 18.4 |
| Denton County | 195 | 3,379 | 1,221 | 14.5 |
| DeWitt County | 4 | 38 | 24 | 14.0 |
| Dimmit County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 20.3 |
| Donley County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 12.3 |
| Duval County | 3 | 25 | 35 | 39.0 |
| Eastland County | 4 | 19 | 15 | 10.5 |
| Ector County | 26 | 406 | 195 | 13.4 |
| El Paso County | 154 | 1,812 | 1,509 | 19.1 |
| Ellis County | 37 | 515 | 336 | 17.5 |
| Erath County | 3 | 42 | 40 | 9.8 |
| Falls County | 5 | 25 | 22 | 15.6 |
| Fannin County | 4 | 56 | 47 | 13.7 |
| Fayette County | 5 | 38 | 34 | 15.6 |
| Fisher County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 13.7 |
| Floyd County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 7.7 |
| Fort Bend County | 235 | 3,999 | 1,812 | 22.9 |
| Franklin County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 7.5 |
| Freestone County | 5 | 14 | 26 | 15.5 |
| Frio County | 4 | 37 | 36 | 21.5 |
| Gaines County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 5.8 |
| Galveston County | 66 | 1,324 | 560 | 17.4 |
| Garza County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 13.7 |
| Gillespie County | 7 | 51 | 21 | 10.2 |
| Goliad County | 3 | 49 | 5 | 11.2 |
| Gonzales County | 4 | 47 | 16 | 10.1 |
| Gray County | 4 | 74 | 19 | 10.9 |
| Grayson County | 25 | 273 | 190 | 15.0 |
| Gregg County | 35 | 485 | 247 | 22.5 |
| Grimes County | None reported | Not reported | 41 | 13.1 |
| Guadalupe County | 24 | 450 | 174 | 10.8 |
| Hale County | 4 | 64 | 24 | 8.7 |
| Hamilton County | 3 | 28 | 7 | 11.9 |
| Hansford County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 9.8 |
| Hardeman County | 3 | 19 | 5 | 22.9 |
| Hardin County | 12 | 164 | 76 | 15.3 |
| Harris County | 1,028 | 16,687 | 10,778 | 24.4 |
| Harrison County | 11 | 124 | 126 | 19.5 |
| Haskell County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 16.6 |
| Hays County | 52 | 901 | 260 | 11.6 |
| Hemphill County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 15.5 |
| Henderson County | 12 | 111 | 101 | 13.3 |
| Hidalgo County | 303 | 1,995 | 2,661 | 33.2 |
| Hill County | 5 | 36 | 53 | 15.5 |
| Hockley County | 4 | 23 | 15 | 8.9 |
| Hood County | 11 | 143 | 53 | 9.7 |
| Hopkins County | 3 | 30 | 58 | 16.1 |
| Houston County | None reported | Not reported | 41 | 18.6 |
| Howard County | 5 | 64 | 31 | 11.1 |
| Hudspeth County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| Hunt County | 15 | 199 | 142 | 14.4 |
| Hutchinson County | 4 | 24 | 22 | 12.9 |
| Jack County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 14.6 |
| Jackson County | 5 | 21 | 49 | 35.6 |
| Jasper County | 7 | 88 | 90 | 29.6 |
| Jefferson County | 52 | 551 | 506 | 22.0 |
| Jim Hogg County | 3 | 23 | 8 | 23.3 |
| Jim Wells County | 17 | 134 | 102 | 30.6 |
| Johnson County | 21 | 281 | 240 | 13.3 |
| Jones County | 3 | 11 | 18 | 10.3 |
| Karnes County | 3 | 19 | 22 | 16.7 |
| Kaufman County | 26 | 365 | 408 | 25.1 |
| Kendall County | 6 | 160 | 36 | 8.6 |
| Kerr County | 4 | 70 | 32 | 6.7 |
| Kimble County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 27.3 |
| Kinney County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 12.7 |
| Kleberg County | 15 | 133 | 52 | 21.9 |
| Knox County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 15.1 |
| La Salle County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 8.8 |
| Lamar County | 9 | 105 | 61 | 13.8 |
| Lamb County | 4 | 18 | 13 | 13.3 |
| Lampasas County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 7.9 |
| Lavaca County | 10 | 68 | 32 | 20.4 |
| Lee County | 4 | 33 | 16 | 11.1 |
| Leon County | 4 | 18 | 22 | 16.0 |
| Liberty County | 12 | 162 | 238 | 24.2 |
| Limestone County | 3 | 24 | 34 | 16.6 |
| Live Oak County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 13.8 |
| Llano County | 6 | 11 | 5 | 4.9 |
| Lubbock County | 72 | 1,527 | 353 | 13.3 |
| Lynn County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 20.9 |
| Madison County | 5 | 20 | 29 | 24.9 |
| Marion County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 12.3 |
| Martin County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 7.7 |
| Mason County | 3 | 6 | Not reported | 7.6 |
| Matagorda County | 5 | 49 | 91 | 26.4 |
| Maverick County | 14 | 213 | 169 | 31.5 |
| McCulloch County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 8.0 |
| McLennan County | 51 | 738 | 294 | 13.0 |
| Medina County | 8 | 88 | 70 | 14.6 |
| Midland County | 36 | 527 | 227 | 15.0 |
| Milam County | 7 | 63 | 30 | 14.5 |
| Mills County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 6.7 |
| Mitchell County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 6.7 |
| Montague County | 6 | 27 | 15 | 10.0 |
| Montgomery County | 106 | 2,250 | 969 | 15.7 |
| Moore County | 5 | 41 | 26 | 14.5 |
| Morris County | 5 | 34 | 37 | 34.8 |
| Nacogdoches County | 9 | 181 | 78 | 13.4 |
| Navarro County | 15 | 164 | 68 | 15.2 |
| Newton County | None reported | Not reported | 22 | 18.2 |
| Nolan County | 7 | 63 | 8 | 10.4 |
| Nueces County | 53 | 1,003 | 663 | 20.3 |
| Ochiltree County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 10.2 |
| Orange County | 20 | 236 | 134 | 18.1 |
| Palo Pinto County | 4 | 43 | 34 | 13.0 |
| Panola County | 5 | 56 | 31 | 15.8 |
| Parker County | 31 | 511 | 165 | 11.9 |
| Parmer County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 6.2 |
| Pecos County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 8.1 |
| Polk County | 3 | 29 | 67 | 13.3 |
| Potter County | 26 | 351 | 203 | 19.7 |
| Presidio County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 13.5 |
| Rains County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 10.2 |
| Randall County | 25 | 383 | 155 | 12.3 |
| Reagan County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 24.8 |
| Red River County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 15.5 |
| Reeves County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 7.9 |
| Refugio County | 3 | 14 | 13 | 23.9 |
| Roberts County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 36.1 |
| Robertson County | 3 | 46 | 30 | 19.2 |
| Rockwall County | 22 | 470 | 127 | 12.1 |
| Runnels County | 5 | 14 | 4 | 9.1 |
| Rusk County | 9 | 119 | 64 | 13.8 |
| Sabine County | 3 | 22 | 6 | 9.0 |
| San Augustine County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 8.9 |
| San Jacinto County | 5 | 26 | 50 | 19.3 |
| San Patricio County | 16 | 168 | 143 | 22.7 |
| San Saba County | 3 | 24 | 7 | 17.6 |
| Scurry County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 9.1 |
| Shackelford County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 9.4 |
| Shelby County | 5 | 36 | 24 | 12.0 |
| Smith County | 47 | 620 | 282 | 13.6 |
| Somervell County | 3 | 38 | 11 | 14.4 |
| Starr County | 12 | 69 | 422 | 65.7 |
| Stephens County | 3 | 45 | 3 | 6.4 |
| Sutton County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 18.3 |
| Swisher County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 17.3 |
| Tarrant County | 427 | 7,020 | 3,784 | 19.4 |
| Taylor County | 20 | 256 | 190 | 14.4 |
| Terry County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 15.5 |
| Throckmorton County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 30.5 |
| Titus County | 6 | 75 | 53 | 18.8 |
| Tom Green County | 15 | 290 | 118 | 11.1 |
| Travis County | 277 | 4,286 | 1,389 | 12.5 |
| Trinity County | None reported | Not reported | 28 | 19.9 |
| Tyler County | 3 | 40 | 24 | 13.3 |
| Upshur County | 3 | 31 | 49 | 12.2 |
| Upton County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 12.5 |
| Uvalde County | 9 | 73 | 49 | 23.3 |
| Val Verde County | 9 | 90 | 80 | 18.6 |
| Van Zandt County | 10 | 128 | 67 | 12.3 |
| Victoria County | 18 | 236 | 158 | 19.3 |
| Walker County | 11 | 229 | 130 | 17.6 |
| Waller County | 4 | 70 | 80 | 13.6 |
| Ward County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 5.4 |
| Washington County | 5 | 46 | 41 | 12.6 |
| Webb County | 68 | 784 | 714 | 29.0 |
| Wharton County | 8 | 57 | 139 | 35.2 |
| Wichita County | 30 | 429 | 210 | 18.5 |
| Wilbarger County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 18.2 |
| Willacy County | 10 | 76 | 35 | 22.3 |
| Williamson County | 189 | 3,396 | 790 | 14.6 |
| Wilson County | 9 | 107 | 38 | 8.9 |
| Winkler County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 6.7 |
| Wise County | 12 | 111 | 66 | 10.4 |
| Wood County | 11 | 93 | 35 | 9.8 |
| Yoakum County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 4.0 |
| Young County | 4 | 61 | 12 | 8.9 |
| Zapata County | None reported | Not reported | 85 | 61.4 |
| Zavala County | 5 | 34 | 40 | 47.8 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Texas?
- Texas had 6,242 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 91,240 people. Another 50,778 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Texas counties have the most child care centers?
- Harris County (1,028), Dallas County (509), Tarrant County (427) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Texas?
- Texas licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: