Checked
Death Rates in Hamlin County, SD
Heart disease, stroke and drug overdose deaths compared with the state and the nation
- Heart disease deaths
- 257.1
- Per 100,000 adults 35+
- Stroke deaths
- 65.3
- Per 100,000 adults 35+
- Overdose deaths, 12 months
- 1 to 9 (suppressed)
- Through March 2026
Heart disease and stroke death rates
Age-adjusted deaths per 100,000 adults ages 35 and older, 2022 to 2024 average. County rates are spatially smoothed by CDC.
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Hamlin County | South Dakota | U.S. | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heart disease | 257.1 | 293.6 | 315.3 |
| Heart disease, men | 334.5 | 393.6 | 398.8 |
| Heart disease, women | 194.8 | 212.1 | 246.1 |
| Stroke | 65.3 | 64.8 | 75.9 |
Drug overdose deaths
Provisional counts of deaths among residents in each 12-month period. NCHS suppresses counts from 1 to 9.
- April 2025 to March 20261 to 9 (suppressed)
- April 2024 to March 20250
If you or someone you know is in crisis, call or text 988 (Suicide & Crisis Lifeline). For treatment referrals, call SAMHSA's National Helpline at 1-800-662-4357. In an emergency, call 911.
- Primary care shortage areas
- 3
- HRSA designations covering the county or part of it
- Mental health shortage areas
- 3
- HRSA designations covering the county or part of it
- Dental shortage areas
- 2
- HRSA designations covering the county or part of it
Health professional shortage areas in Hamlin County
HRSA designations, highest need first within each type
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Designation | Type | Score | Population | Providers needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanford Clinic EstellineRural Health Clinic | Facility | 15 of 26 | 25,627 | Not reported |
| Sanford Clinic Lake NordenRural Health Clinic | Facility | 15 of 26 | 17,581 | Not reported |
| Human Services Agency - MHCA 5A | Geographic area | 19 of 25 | 59,573 | 4.0 |
| Sanford Clinic EstellineRural Health Clinic | Facility | 17 of 25 | 25,627 | Not reported |
| Sanford Clinic Lake NordenRural Health Clinic | Facility | 17 of 25 | 17,581 | Not reported |
| Sanford Clinic EstellineRural Health Clinic | Facility | 15 of 25 | 18,332 | Not reported |
| Sanford Clinic Lake NordenRural Health Clinic | Facility | 15 of 25 | 12,359 | Not reported |
| LI-Hamlin CountyProposed for withdrawal | Population group | 11 of 25 | 1,782 | 0.6 |
All shortage areas in South Dakota
Frequently asked questions
- What is the heart disease death rate in Hamlin County?
- CDC estimates 257.1 heart disease deaths per 100,000 adults ages 35 and older in Hamlin County (age-adjusted, 2022 to 2024), compared with 293.6 for South Dakota and 315.3 nationally.
- How many overdose deaths were there in Hamlin County?
- NCHS reports between 1 and 9 drug overdose deaths in Hamlin County for April 2025 to March 2026. Counts this small are suppressed to protect privacy.
- What do the heart disease and stroke death rates measure?
- They are age-adjusted deaths per 100,000 adults ages 35 and older, averaged over three years, from CDC's Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke. County rates are spatially smoothed by CDC to make small-county estimates more stable.
- Are the drug overdose death counts final?
- No. They are provisional 12-month counts from the National Center for Health Statistics. Recent months are often undercounted because some death investigations take months to complete. County counts from 1 to 9 deaths are suppressed by NCHS to protect privacy.
- Where does life expectancy by state come from?
- Life expectancy at birth comes from NCHS U.S. State Life Tables, based on death certificates and population estimates. It describes the average for everyone born in a state in that year, not the outlook for any one person.
Source: CDC Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke; NCHS Vital Statistics Rapid Release · Last updated 10/23/2026