Checked
Child Care Businesses in Illinois
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 3,138
- Child care workers
- 42,273
- Average yearly pay
- $33,360
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 27,243
- 23.9 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adams County | 7 | 113 | 233 | 37.1 |
| Alexander County | None reported | Not reported | 25 | 51.3 |
| Bond County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 9.6 |
| Boone County | 6 | 79 | 92 | 18.4 |
| Brown County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 19.0 |
| Bureau County | None reported | Not reported | 32 | 9.7 |
| Calhoun County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| Carroll County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 12.2 |
| Cass County | None reported | Not reported | 42 | 32.9 |
| Champaign County | 44 | 737 | 528 | 27.4 |
| Christian County | 5 | 46 | 69 | 22.1 |
| Clark County | 6 | 27 | 27 | 21.6 |
| Clay County | None reported | Not reported | 27 | 20.7 |
| Clinton County | 14 | 186 | 65 | 21.4 |
| Coles County | 12 | 194 | 69 | 17.3 |
| Cook County | 1,633 | 22,134 | 13,294 | 28.8 |
| Crawford County | 3 | 41 | 20 | 12.4 |
| Cumberland County | 3 | 30 | 35 | 36.8 |
| De Witt County | None reported | Not reported | 31 | 20.2 |
| DeKalb County | 14 | 201 | 221 | 23.3 |
| Douglas County | 4 | 17 | 54 | 29.4 |
| DuPage County | 233 | 2,815 | 1,105 | 14.4 |
| Edgar County | 3 | 17 | 32 | 21.2 |
| Edwards County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 14.8 |
| Effingham County | 9 | 156 | 93 | 29.5 |
| Fayette County | 7 | 70 | 24 | 14.5 |
| Ford County | 5 | 25 | 28 | 24.6 |
| Franklin County | 7 | 76 | 55 | 16.6 |
| Fulton County | 7 | 70 | 36 | 13.0 |
| Gallatin County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 12.5 |
| Greene County | None reported | Not reported | 33 | 28.2 |
| Grundy County | 7 | 88 | 57 | 12.0 |
| Hamilton County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 17.7 |
| Hancock County | 4 | 8 | 47 | 29.5 |
| Hardin County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 27.7 |
| Henderson County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 19.4 |
| Henry County | 12 | 108 | 88 | 20.6 |
| Iroquois County | None reported | Not reported | 59 | 22.3 |
| Jackson County | 4 | 31 | 123 | 23.9 |
| Jasper County | 4 | 31 | 26 | 32.7 |
| Jefferson County | None reported | Not reported | 69 | 18.9 |
| Jersey County | 4 | 12 | 25 | 13.6 |
| Jo Daviess County | 3 | 60 | 32 | 16.0 |
| Johnson County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 9.0 |
| Kane County | 87 | 1,318 | 739 | 16.0 |
| Kankakee County | 16 | 299 | 297 | 29.4 |
| Kendall County | 25 | 272 | 170 | 14.2 |
| Knox County | 11 | 75 | 102 | 23.0 |
| Lake County | 242 | 2,472 | 1,316 | 21.8 |
| LaSalle County | 8 | 65 | 119 | 11.7 |
| Lawrence County | 4 | 19 | 19 | 15.3 |
| Lee County | 7 | 73 | 61 | 20.1 |
| Livingston County | 3 | 37 | 67 | 19.7 |
| Logan County | 8 | 40 | 50 | 20.9 |
| Macon County | 10 | 272 | 314 | 31.8 |
| Macoupin County | 8 | 106 | 76 | 18.9 |
| Madison County | 49 | 940 | 391 | 16.7 |
| Marion County | 10 | 107 | 55 | 17.6 |
| Marshall County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 13.7 |
| Mason County | 4 | 18 | 22 | 20.4 |
| Massac County | None reported | Not reported | 25 | 18.0 |
| McDonough County | 4 | 107 | 51 | 20.4 |
| McHenry County | 67 | 1,003 | 296 | 11.6 |
| McLean County | 32 | 733 | 310 | 19.9 |
| Menard County | 3 | 47 | 32 | 28.9 |
| Mercer County | 3 | 19 | 21 | 15.5 |
| Monroe County | 12 | 220 | 20 | 9.1 |
| Montgomery County | 3 | 45 | 46 | 17.5 |
| Morgan County | 7 | 128 | 78 | 25.7 |
| Moultrie County | None reported | Not reported | 25 | 17.3 |
| Ogle County | 6 | 40 | 84 | 17.5 |
| Peoria County | 27 | 566 | 383 | 22.8 |
| Perry County | 5 | 49 | 29 | 16.5 |
| Piatt County | None reported | Not reported | 30 | 18.0 |
| Pike County | None reported | Not reported | 43 | 29.7 |
| Pulaski County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 29.9 |
| Putnam County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 12.5 |
| Randolph County | 7 | 78 | 30 | 12.3 |
| Richland County | 5 | 45 | 28 | 21.2 |
| Rock Island County | 36 | 526 | 285 | 22.5 |
| Saline County | 9 | 84 | 45 | 23.3 |
| Sangamon County | 43 | 731 | 578 | 31.9 |
| Schuyler County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 19.2 |
| Scott County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 32.4 |
| Shelby County | None reported | Not reported | 57 | 27.5 |
| St. Clair County | 55 | 695 | 705 | 30.0 |
| Stark County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 17.0 |
| Stephenson County | None reported | Not reported | 126 | 28.8 |
| Tazewell County | 20 | 401 | 147 | 12.8 |
| Union County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 9.4 |
| Vermilion County | 13 | 143 | 300 | 43.2 |
| Wabash County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 13.5 |
| Warren County | 4 | 37 | 40 | 26.8 |
| Washington County | 3 | 7 | 23 | 19.1 |
| Wayne County | 3 | 42 | 26 | 18.2 |
| White County | 3 | 34 | 20 | 16.9 |
| Whiteside County | 11 | 90 | 80 | 16.6 |
| Will County | 127 | 1,833 | 1,123 | 17.8 |
| Williamson County | 10 | 302 | 113 | 18.4 |
| Winnebago County | 30 | 431 | 1,165 | 42.2 |
| Woodford County | 8 | 81 | 63 | 18.5 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Illinois?
- Illinois had 3,138 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 42,273 people. Another 27,243 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Illinois counties have the most child care centers?
- Cook County (1,633), Lake County (242), DuPage County (233) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Illinois?
- Illinois licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: