Checked
Child Care Businesses in Missouri
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 1,463
- Child care workers
- 18,768
- Average yearly pay
- $27,910
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 8,001
- 15.3 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adair County | 3 | 29 | 51 | 21.3 |
| Andrew County | 3 | 11 | 21 | 13.3 |
| Atchison County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 21.2 |
| Audrain County | 4 | 32 | 51 | 22.4 |
| Barry County | 4 | 36 | 60 | 18.3 |
| Barton County | 3 | 13 | 23 | 22.2 |
| Bates County | 4 | 19 | 18 | 13.6 |
| Benton County | 3 | 35 | 18 | 10.4 |
| Bollinger County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 21.8 |
| Boone County | 77 | 1,082 | 258 | 17.8 |
| Buchanan County | 17 | 212 | 103 | 14.4 |
| Butler County | 15 | 186 | 46 | 14.5 |
| Caldwell County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 15.7 |
| Callaway County | 13 | 132 | 62 | 16.8 |
| Camden County | 8 | 35 | 26 | 7.8 |
| Cape Girardeau County | 20 | 196 | 142 | 19.6 |
| Carroll County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 21.4 |
| Carter County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 9.4 |
| Cass County | 18 | 304 | 115 | 12.0 |
| Cedar County | 8 | 22 | 21 | 19.8 |
| Chariton County | 3 | 18 | 18 | 28.4 |
| Christian County | 15 | 167 | 114 | 13.9 |
| Clark County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 25.5 |
| Clay County | 48 | 861 | 260 | 11.9 |
| Clinton County | 4 | 24 | 32 | 16.8 |
| Cole County | 26 | 387 | 144 | 22.1 |
| Cooper County | None reported | Not reported | 30 | 17.8 |
| Crawford County | 9 | 66 | 41 | 21.9 |
| Dade County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 9.2 |
| Dallas County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 9.7 |
| Daviess County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 9.4 |
| DeKalb County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 13.8 |
| Dent County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 11.7 |
| Douglas County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 9.2 |
| Dunklin County | 9 | 99 | 79 | 32.0 |
| Franklin County | 23 | 215 | 123 | 13.8 |
| Gasconade County | 5 | 33 | 18 | 15.6 |
| Gentry County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 24.0 |
| Greene County | 60 | 980 | 338 | 13.1 |
| Grundy County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 14.3 |
| Harrison County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 18.3 |
| Henry County | 7 | 78 | 30 | 16.6 |
| Hickory County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 8.2 |
| Holt County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 30.7 |
| Howard County | None reported | Not reported | 26 | 25.6 |
| Howell County | 11 | 107 | 54 | 16.1 |
| Iron County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 3.2 |
| Jackson County | 190 | 2,774 | 964 | 16.0 |
| Jasper County | 25 | 249 | 182 | 16.6 |
| Jefferson County | 37 | 503 | 183 | 9.6 |
| Johnson County | 15 | 134 | 58 | 13.3 |
| Knox County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 24.0 |
| Laclede County | 3 | 46 | 67 | 19.2 |
| Lafayette County | 9 | 67 | 47 | 16.9 |
| Lawrence County | 6 | 43 | 55 | 15.8 |
| Lewis County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 19.1 |
| Lincoln County | 7 | 122 | 73 | 12.7 |
| Linn County | None reported | Not reported | 24 | 20.2 |
| Livingston County | None reported | Not reported | 27 | 18.8 |
| Macon County | 3 | 25 | 24 | 17.8 |
| Madison County | 4 | 25 | 10 | 11.0 |
| Maries County | None reported | Not reported | 29 | 34.3 |
| Marion County | 5 | 61 | 39 | 15.5 |
| McDonald County | 3 | 32 | 19 | 9.3 |
| Mercer County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 17.2 |
| Miller County | 8 | 43 | 49 | 22.6 |
| Mississippi County | 3 | 28 | 14 | 14.3 |
| Moniteau County | 8 | 35 | 26 | 22.3 |
| Monroe County | 4 | 14 | 15 | 21.8 |
| Montgomery County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 10.5 |
| Morgan County | 3 | 24 | 32 | 16.1 |
| New Madrid County | 4 | 32 | 35 | 24.8 |
| Newton County | 14 | 117 | 54 | 11.3 |
| Nodaway County | None reported | Not reported | 77 | 37.1 |
| Oregon County | 4 | 25 | 11 | 17.3 |
| Osage County | 8 | 83 | 38 | 34.3 |
| Ozark County | 3 | 9 | 13 | 18.0 |
| Pemiscot County | 7 | 79 | 54 | 40.8 |
| Perry County | 12 | 67 | 32 | 23.2 |
| Pettis County | 10 | 103 | 81 | 21.0 |
| Phelps County | 7 | 72 | 39 | 10.2 |
| Pike County | None reported | Not reported | 34 | 19.2 |
| Platte County | 21 | 415 | 99 | 10.9 |
| Polk County | 5 | 63 | 43 | 14.8 |
| Pulaski County | 10 | 90 | 43 | 9.8 |
| Putnam County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 21.5 |
| Ralls County | 4 | 10 | 12 | 15.3 |
| Randolph County | 7 | 50 | 40 | 19.3 |
| Ray County | None reported | Not reported | 35 | 15.1 |
| Reynolds County | 3 | 13 | 10 | 21.6 |
| Ripley County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 14.0 |
| Saline County | None reported | Not reported | 38 | 16.4 |
| Schuyler County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 39.6 |
| Scotland County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 17.1 |
| Scott County | 11 | 99 | 75 | 22.7 |
| Shannon County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 9.8 |
| Shelby County | 3 | 4 | 18 | 35.1 |
| St. Charles County | 90 | 1,748 | 357 | 10.8 |
| St. Clair County | 3 | 19 | 18 | 21.9 |
| St. Francois County | 28 | 230 | 44 | 10.7 |
| St. Louis city | 106 | 1,411 | 481 | 20.3 |
| St. Louis County | 249 | 3,639 | 1,217 | 14.7 |
| Ste. Genevieve County | 5 | 39 | 20 | 13.5 |
| Stoddard County | 8 | 65 | 42 | 17.6 |
| Stone County | 3 | 30 | 31 | 10.6 |
| Sullivan County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 25.6 |
| Taney County | 6 | 53 | 76 | 14.5 |
| Texas County | 6 | 22 | 21 | 10.7 |
| Vernon County | 3 | 30 | 39 | 21.3 |
| Warren County | 4 | 58 | 46 | 13.4 |
| Washington County | 6 | 41 | 24 | 12.8 |
| Wayne County | 4 | 34 | 11 | 13.8 |
| Webster County | 9 | 90 | 53 | 15.3 |
| Worth County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 31.0 |
| Wright County | 6 | 32 | 28 | 17.9 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Missouri?
- Missouri had 1,463 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 18,768 people. Another 8,001 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Missouri counties have the most child care centers?
- St. Louis County (249), Jackson County (190), St. Louis city (106) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Missouri?
- Missouri licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) ยท 2023 and 2024 data