Checked
Child Care Businesses in Montana
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 488
- Child care workers
- 3,364
- Average yearly pay
- $24,650
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 1,159
- 14.7 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beaverhead County | 7 | 51 | 6 | 13.4 |
| Big Horn County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 11.6 |
| Blaine County | 4 | 9 | 15 | 27.3 |
| Broadwater County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 13.0 |
| Carbon County | 4 | 24 | 9 | 11.7 |
| Cascade County | 37 | 392 | 72 | 12.9 |
| Chouteau County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 13.5 |
| Custer County | 10 | 33 | 24 | 28.4 |
| Daniels County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 20.1 |
| Dawson County | 4 | 27 | 11 | 17.0 |
| Deer Lodge County | 4 | 14 | 8 | 12.5 |
| Fergus County | 8 | 73 | 12 | 17.1 |
| Flathead County | 47 | 300 | 97 | 13.0 |
| Gallatin County | 60 | 602 | 93 | 12.3 |
| Glacier County | None reported | Not reported | 29 | 21.3 |
| Granite County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 11.6 |
| Hill County | 8 | 70 | 22 | 18.6 |
| Jefferson County | 5 | 30 | 10 | 11.7 |
| Judith Basin County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 19.3 |
| Lake County | 11 | 46 | 23 | 10.4 |
| Lewis and Clark County | 25 | 147 | 91 | 15.8 |
| Lincoln County | 10 | 46 | 15 | 11.8 |
| Madison County | 4 | 21 | 7 | 11.9 |
| McCone County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 24.0 |
| Meagher County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 29.9 |
| Mineral County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 6.0 |
| Missoula County | 71 | 411 | 98 | 14.0 |
| Musselshell County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 13.6 |
| Park County | 3 | 32 | 16 | 10.7 |
| Phillips County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 28.4 |
| Pondera County | 4 | 14 | 10 | 23.2 |
| Powell County | 3 | 5 | 8 | 15.6 |
| Ravalli County | 13 | 135 | 27 | 8.6 |
| Richland County | 4 | 17 | 15 | 16.9 |
| Roosevelt County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 12.4 |
| Rosebud County | 4 | 13 | 34 | 46.5 |
| Sanders County | 4 | 4 | 14 | 13.5 |
| Sheridan County | 3 | 5 | 4 | 19.1 |
| Silver Bow County | 25 | 145 | 38 | 17.6 |
| Stillwater County | 3 | 23 | 3 | 6.5 |
| Sweet Grass County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 18.8 |
| Teton County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 17.3 |
| Toole County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 11.9 |
| Valley County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 19.9 |
| Yellowstone County | 77 | 568 | 210 | 17.0 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Montana?
- Montana had 488 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 3,364 people. Another 1,159 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Montana counties have the most child care centers?
- Yellowstone County (77), Missoula County (71), Gallatin County (60) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Montana?
- Montana licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: