Checked
Child Care Businesses in North Dakota
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 374
- Child care workers
- 3,915
- Average yearly pay
- $23,280
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 1,841
- 28.2 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barnes County | 4 | 95 | 24 | 26.0 |
| Benson County | 3 | 10 | 6 | 15.5 |
| Bottineau County | 5 | 31 | 20 | 39.2 |
| Bowman County | 3 | 17 | 5 | 27.5 |
| Burke County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 23.2 |
| Burleigh County | 35 | 513 | 278 | 31.1 |
| Cass County | 97 | 1,430 | 384 | 24.9 |
| Cavalier County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 22.0 |
| Dickey County | 7 | 12 | 15 | 44.6 |
| Divide County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 13.8 |
| Dunn County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 17.3 |
| Eddy County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 21.7 |
| Emmons County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 30.7 |
| Foster County | 5 | 19 | 5 | 29.8 |
| Golden Valley County | 4 | 6 | 4 | 48.4 |
| Grand Forks County | 22 | 415 | 171 | 26.5 |
| Grant County | 4 | 7 | 6 | 44.1 |
| Griggs County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 49.0 |
| Hettinger County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 12.3 |
| Kidder County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 21.0 |
| LaMoure County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 26.7 |
| Logan County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 38.5 |
| McHenry County | 3 | 16 | 10 | 25.0 |
| McIntosh County | 3 | 11 | 4 | 28.0 |
| McKenzie County | 3 | 96 | 16 | 13.3 |
| McLean County | 3 | 14 | 27 | 30.5 |
| Mercer County | 5 | 39 | 23 | 33.6 |
| Morton County | 9 | 99 | 104 | 33.5 |
| Mountrail County | 3 | 13 | 13 | 16.8 |
| Nelson County | 4 | 24 | Not reported | 13.3 |
| Pembina County | 4 | 26 | 13 | 25.3 |
| Pierce County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 20.4 |
| Ramsey County | 6 | 64 | 20 | 22.5 |
| Ransom County | 8 | 37 | 12 | 35.4 |
| Renville County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 17.4 |
| Richland County | 10 | 73 | 46 | 33.8 |
| Rolette County | 8 | 25 | 57 | 54.5 |
| Sargent County | 3 | 15 | 11 | 36.8 |
| Sioux County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 32.1 |
| Stark County | 17 | 72 | 100 | 35.1 |
| Steele County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 22.2 |
| Stutsman County | 13 | 62 | 55 | 31.6 |
| Towner County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 19.2 |
| Traill County | 5 | 31 | 13 | 22.6 |
| Walsh County | 8 | 31 | 30 | 36.6 |
| Ward County | 27 | 313 | 173 | 29.0 |
| Wells County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 25.7 |
| Williams County | 18 | 132 | 73 | 23.0 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in North Dakota?
- North Dakota had 374 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 3,915 people. Another 1,841 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which North Dakota counties have the most child care centers?
- Cass County (97), Burleigh County (35), Ward County (27) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in North Dakota?
- North Dakota licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: