Checked
Child Care Businesses in Nebraska
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 739
- Child care workers
- 9,534
- Average yearly pay
- $23,350
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 4,100
- 24.5 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adams County | 11 | 208 | 67 | 25.1 |
| Antelope County | 6 | 15 | 26 | 50.8 |
| Boone County | 3 | 33 | 20 | 42.9 |
| Box Butte County | 4 | 25 | 18 | 20.5 |
| Boyd County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 41.5 |
| Brown County | 3 | 9 | 9 | 41.8 |
| Buffalo County | 22 | 243 | 136 | 31.2 |
| Burt County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 23.7 |
| Butler County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 27.3 |
| Cass County | 7 | 58 | 46 | 19.5 |
| Cedar County | 4 | 32 | 30 | 40.9 |
| Chase County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 35.4 |
| Cherry County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 38.2 |
| Cheyenne County | 3 | 47 | 9 | 12.6 |
| Clay County | 6 | 15 | 17 | 37.7 |
| Colfax County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 16.0 |
| Cuming County | 5 | 11 | 28 | 36.8 |
| Custer County | 8 | 46 | 41 | 46.6 |
| Dakota County | 5 | 48 | 57 | 29.0 |
| Dawes County | 4 | 11 | 13 | 20.9 |
| Dawson County | 4 | 63 | 67 | 29.3 |
| Dixon County | None reported | Not reported | 27 | 48.7 |
| Dodge County | 11 | 156 | 61 | 19.3 |
| Douglas County | 249 | 3,747 | 953 | 20.3 |
| Dundy County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 17.3 |
| Fillmore County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 18.0 |
| Franklin County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 42.2 |
| Furnas County | 4 | 14 | 17 | 46.0 |
| Gage County | 4 | 42 | 56 | 27.7 |
| Garfield County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 46.6 |
| Gosper County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 29.4 |
| Greeley County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 63.6 |
| Hall County | 9 | 214 | 178 | 29.9 |
| Hamilton County | None reported | Not reported | 23 | 24.3 |
| Harlan County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 28.1 |
| Hitchcock County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 19.5 |
| Holt County | None reported | Not reported | 49 | 48.5 |
| Howard County | 3 | 32 | 12 | 23.0 |
| Jefferson County | 5 | 37 | 18 | 32.1 |
| Johnson County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 20.9 |
| Kearney County | None reported | Not reported | 32 | 47.7 |
| Keith County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 18.3 |
| Keya Paha County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 36.5 |
| Kimball County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 18.5 |
| Knox County | None reported | Not reported | 35 | 41.9 |
| Lancaster County | 102 | 1,710 | 642 | 22.8 |
| Lincoln County | 8 | 47 | 68 | 22.5 |
| Loup County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 69.2 |
| Madison County | 21 | 167 | 97 | 33.2 |
| Merrick County | 4 | 42 | 20 | 31.1 |
| Morrill County | 4 | 19 | Not reported | 8.8 |
| Nance County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 54.2 |
| Nemaha County | 6 | 46 | 18 | 34.1 |
| Nuckolls County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 34.3 |
| Otoe County | 3 | 39 | 42 | 27.7 |
| Pawnee County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 15.8 |
| Perkins County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 21.3 |
| Phelps County | 4 | 46 | 30 | 37.7 |
| Pierce County | 5 | 13 | 25 | 41.0 |
| Platte County | 8 | 70 | 99 | 30.8 |
| Polk County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 36.4 |
| Red Willow County | 3 | 20 | 38 | 38.8 |
| Richardson County | None reported | Not reported | 30 | 38.7 |
| Rock County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 53.1 |
| Saline County | 7 | 82 | 27 | 23.2 |
| Sarpy County | 87 | 1,364 | 297 | 19.5 |
| Saunders County | 8 | 85 | 57 | 28.2 |
| Scotts Bluff County | 10 | 88 | 58 | 19.0 |
| Seward County | 8 | 69 | 51 | 33.4 |
| Sheridan County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 21.9 |
| Sherman County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 23.6 |
| Stanton County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 20.7 |
| Thayer County | 4 | 20 | 14 | 36.7 |
| Thomas County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 53.2 |
| Thurston County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 15.1 |
| Valley County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 32.0 |
| Washington County | 5 | 82 | 36 | 19.4 |
| Wayne County | 3 | 48 | 24 | 27.4 |
| Webster County | 3 | 27 | 10 | 38.7 |
| Wheeler County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 35.4 |
| York County | 9 | 76 | 27 | 25.2 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Nebraska?
- Nebraska had 739 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 9,534 people. Another 4,100 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Nebraska counties have the most child care centers?
- Douglas County (249), Lancaster County (102), Sarpy County (87) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Nebraska?
- Nebraska licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) ยท 2023 and 2024 data