Something wrong? Let us know
Checked
Child Care Businesses in Ohio
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 2,813
- Child care workers
- 37,950
- Average yearly pay
- $25,970
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 16,060
- 16.0 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adams County | None reported | Not reported | 35 | 12.7 |
| Allen County | 23 | 254 | 196 | 21.6 |
| Ashland County | 8 | 79 | 43 | 9.8 |
| Ashtabula County | 15 | 314 | 100 | 11.8 |
| Athens County | 9 | 105 | 60 | 11.2 |
| Auglaize County | 8 | 66 | 53 | 13.2 |
| Belmont County | 11 | 105 | 50 | 9.3 |
| Brown County | None reported | Not reported | 54 | 12.3 |
| Butler County | 69 | 938 | 475 | 13.8 |
| Carroll County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 3.8 |
| Champaign County | 6 | 63 | 51 | 14.7 |
| Clark County | 21 | 242 | 202 | 16.5 |
| Clermont County | 43 | 561 | 200 | 11.5 |
| Clinton County | 5 | 32 | 44 | 11.7 |
| Columbiana County | 17 | 217 | 82 | 9.8 |
| Coshocton County | 5 | 105 | 22 | 7.3 |
| Crawford County | 3 | 25 | 43 | 11.0 |
| Cuyahoga County | 393 | 4,164 | 1,759 | 17.3 |
| Darke County | 6 | 67 | 60 | 12.8 |
| Defiance County | 8 | 104 | 47 | 14.3 |
| Delaware County | 59 | 1,220 | 271 | 14.5 |
| Erie County | 9 | 105 | 128 | 18.4 |
| Fairfield County | 31 | 371 | 206 | 14.5 |
| Fayette County | None reported | Not reported | 46 | 15.9 |
| Franklin County | 546 | 7,478 | 3,374 | 29.4 |
| Fulton County | 6 | 58 | 57 | 14.9 |
| Gallia County | 3 | 46 | 24 | 9.3 |
| Geauga County | 15 | 200 | 50 | 6.8 |
| Greene County | 27 | 466 | 156 | 10.8 |
| Guernsey County | 9 | 125 | 36 | 11.8 |
| Hamilton County | 311 | 3,714 | 1,587 | 22.8 |
| Hancock County | 10 | 181 | 79 | 11.9 |
| Hardin County | 3 | 28 | 36 | 12.8 |
| Harrison County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 9.1 |
| Henry County | 6 | 68 | 34 | 14.5 |
| Highland County | 4 | 112 | 48 | 11.9 |
| Hocking County | None reported | Not reported | 38 | 13.7 |
| Holmes County | None reported | Not reported | 25 | 5.6 |
| Huron County | 10 | 116 | 79 | 15.3 |
| Jackson County | 4 | 74 | 29 | 10.1 |
| Jefferson County | 10 | 73 | 69 | 12.2 |
| Knox County | 11 | 118 | 75 | 13.6 |
| Lake County | 47 | 799 | 142 | 8.1 |
| Lawrence County | 7 | 95 | 40 | 8.3 |
| Licking County | 35 | 647 | 219 | 14.0 |
| Logan County | None reported | Not reported | 43 | 9.3 |
| Lorain County | 75 | 1,484 | 333 | 12.9 |
| Lucas County | 143 | 1,485 | 684 | 19.3 |
| Madison County | 9 | 56 | 64 | 16.4 |
| Mahoning County | 46 | 639 | 289 | 14.8 |
| Marion County | 4 | 4 | 104 | 16.6 |
| Medina County | 39 | 580 | 134 | 9.4 |
| Meigs County | None reported | Not reported | 27 | 12.3 |
| Mercer County | 6 | 167 | 39 | 10.6 |
| Miami County | 15 | 162 | 136 | 13.7 |
| Monroe County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 5.3 |
| Montgomery County | 154 | 2,092 | 713 | 16.2 |
| Morgan County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 11.0 |
| Morrow County | None reported | Not reported | 41 | 11.6 |
| Muskingum County | 17 | 331 | 103 | 13.9 |
| Noble County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 2.8 |
| Ottawa County | 5 | 49 | 27 | 8.0 |
| Paulding County | None reported | Not reported | 27 | 14.4 |
| Perry County | 3 | 23 | 37 | 11.3 |
| Pickaway County | 6 | 62 | 74 | 13.3 |
| Pike County | 4 | 21 | 34 | 14.1 |
| Portage County | 26 | 381 | 116 | 8.8 |
| Preble County | 11 | 85 | 31 | 10.3 |
| Putnam County | 6 | 76 | 32 | 11.1 |
| Richland County | 20 | 219 | 138 | 12.6 |
| Ross County | 6 | 87 | 62 | 8.9 |
| Sandusky County | 7 | 70 | 91 | 16.7 |
| Scioto County | 13 | 277 | 73 | 11.8 |
| Seneca County | 4 | 47 | 38 | 7.7 |
| Shelby County | 6 | 67 | 66 | 15.0 |
| Stark County | 57 | 977 | 453 | 13.6 |
| Summit County | 149 | 2,719 | 629 | 14.5 |
| Trumbull County | 33 | 353 | 161 | 9.7 |
| Tuscarawas County | 12 | 102 | 75 | 9.4 |
| Union County | 8 | 161 | 84 | 13.7 |
| Van Wert County | None reported | Not reported | 35 | 12.1 |
| Vinton County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 13.5 |
| Warren County | 48 | 781 | 252 | 12.0 |
| Washington County | 6 | 60 | 34 | 6.8 |
| Wayne County | 16 | 155 | 133 | 12.8 |
| Williams County | 3 | 54 | 49 | 14.2 |
| Wood County | 21 | 331 | 85 | 8.0 |
| Wyandot County | None reported | Not reported | 24 | 11.1 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Ohio?
- Ohio had 2,813 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 37,950 people. Another 16,060 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Ohio counties have the most child care centers?
- Franklin County (546), Cuyahoga County (393), Hamilton County (311) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Ohio?
- Ohio licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: