Checked
Child Care Businesses in South Dakota
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 280
- Child care workers
- 4,004
- Average yearly pay
- $22,220
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 1,938
- 24.4 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aurora County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 22.7 |
| Beadle County | 4 | 15 | 51 | 28.5 |
| Bennett County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 23.9 |
| Bon Homme County | 3 | 10 | 13 | 22.7 |
| Brookings County | 15 | 98 | 89 | 29.4 |
| Brown County | 6 | 140 | 87 | 24.6 |
| Brule County | 4 | 19 | 15 | 36.0 |
| Butte County | 7 | 23 | 21 | 26.2 |
| Campbell County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 18.8 |
| Charles Mix County | 4 | 39 | 25 | 31.2 |
| Clark County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 23.0 |
| Clay County | 3 | 65 | 20 | 15.1 |
| Codington County | 3 | 24 | 92 | 33.0 |
| Corson County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 18.4 |
| Custer County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 7.9 |
| Davison County | 10 | 55 | 66 | 38.1 |
| Day County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 22.1 |
| Deuel County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 39.3 |
| Dewey County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 15.4 |
| Douglas County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 35.4 |
| Edmunds County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 19.8 |
| Fall River County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 12.4 |
| Faulk County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 18.8 |
| Grant County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 15.9 |
| Gregory County | 3 | 23 | 8 | 27.4 |
| Haakon County | 3 | 5 | 6 | 52.3 |
| Hamlin County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 25.1 |
| Hand County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 22.3 |
| Hanson County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 17.3 |
| Harding County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 26.1 |
| Hughes County | 5 | 41 | 55 | 34.0 |
| Hutchinson County | 3 | 26 | 18 | 28.4 |
| Hyde County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 42.0 |
| Jackson County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 17.8 |
| Jerauld County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 39.5 |
| Jones County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 29.9 |
| Kingsbury County | None reported | Not reported | 20 | 38.1 |
| Lake County | None reported | Not reported | 37 | 33.7 |
| Lawrence County | 9 | 88 | 34 | 15.8 |
| Lincoln County | 24 | 755 | 152 | 24.9 |
| Lyman County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 16.1 |
| Marshall County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 18.4 |
| McCook County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 20.9 |
| McPherson County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 32.6 |
| Meade County | 9 | 115 | 52 | 20.0 |
| Mellette County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 15.4 |
| Minnehaha County | 69 | 1,564 | 384 | 22.3 |
| Moody County | 5 | 21 | 13 | 28.1 |
| Oglala Lakota County | None reported | Not reported | 50 | 37.1 |
| Pennington County | 32 | 514 | 179 | 18.6 |
| Perkins County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 36.7 |
| Potter County | 3 | 2 | 5 | 33.5 |
| Roberts County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 18.6 |
| Sanborn County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 29.4 |
| Spink County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 27.3 |
| Stanley County | 3 | 15 | 9 | 39.8 |
| Sully County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 19.7 |
| Todd County | None reported | Not reported | 24 | 26.0 |
| Tripp County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 37.4 |
| Turner County | 4 | 24 | 14 | 20.3 |
| Union County | 6 | 89 | 30 | 21.1 |
| Walworth County | 4 | 15 | 14 | 34.1 |
| Yankton County | None reported | Not reported | 64 | 27.3 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in South Dakota?
- South Dakota had 280 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 4,004 people. Another 1,938 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which South Dakota counties have the most child care centers?
- Minnehaha County (69), Pennington County (32), Lincoln County (24) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in South Dakota?
- South Dakota licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: