Checked
Child Care Businesses in Utah
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 745
- Child care workers
- 7,760
- Average yearly pay
- $24,550
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 3,717
- 13.2 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beaver County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 8.2 |
| Box Elder County | 12 | 104 | 87 | 16.2 |
| Cache County | 46 | 471 | 190 | 16.9 |
| Carbon County | 7 | 69 | 6 | 6.3 |
| Davis County | 67 | 773 | 359 | 11.5 |
| Duchesne County | None reported | Not reported | 24 | 11.9 |
| Emery County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 9.0 |
| Garfield County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| Grand County | 6 | 28 | 7 | 13.3 |
| Iron County | 23 | 170 | 60 | 13.3 |
| Juab County | 3 | 24 | 16 | 15.1 |
| Kane County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 6.1 |
| Millard County | 5 | 40 | 6 | 8.3 |
| Morgan County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 8.6 |
| Rich County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 11.4 |
| Salt Lake County | 332 | 3,320 | 1,354 | 14.1 |
| San Juan County | None reported | Not reported | 25 | 17.3 |
| Sanpete County | 4 | 39 | 35 | 13.1 |
| Sevier County | 11 | 59 | 37 | 21.7 |
| Summit County | 14 | 178 | 40 | 12.6 |
| Tooele County | 15 | 206 | 93 | 13.6 |
| Uintah County | 6 | 69 | 21 | 7.3 |
| Utah County | 111 | 1,199 | 909 | 14.5 |
| Wasatch County | 8 | 52 | 38 | 12.6 |
| Washington County | 20 | 224 | 140 | 8.1 |
| Wayne County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 15.5 |
| Weber County | 48 | 672 | 227 | 10.2 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Utah?
- Utah had 745 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 7,760 people. Another 3,717 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Utah counties have the most child care centers?
- Salt Lake County (332), Utah County (111), Davis County (67) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Utah?
- Utah licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: