Something wrong? Let us know
Checked
Child Care Businesses in Virginia
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 1,977
- Child care workers
- 27,909
- Average yearly pay
- $28,460
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 12,539
- 16.7 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accomack County | 9 | 112 | 36 | 13.5 |
| Albemarle County | 29 | 391 | 111 | 12.2 |
| Alexandria city | 52 | 921 | 322 | 23.8 |
| Alleghany County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 5.4 |
| Amelia County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 8.2 |
| Amherst County | 5 | 86 | 19 | 7.6 |
| Appomattox County | 4 | 68 | 12 | 9.6 |
| Arlington County | 73 | 908 | 338 | 17.4 |
| Augusta County | 8 | 164 | 52 | 7.7 |
| Bedford County | 9 | 140 | 55 | 7.9 |
| Bland County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 4.8 |
| Botetourt County | 5 | 73 | 28 | 9.7 |
| Bristol city | 5 | 88 | 16 | 12.5 |
| Brunswick County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 3.8 |
| Buchanan County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 4.1 |
| Buckingham County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| Buena Vista city | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 12.1 |
| Campbell County | 17 | 304 | 58 | 13.6 |
| Caroline County | 4 | 72 | 50 | 16.8 |
| Carroll County | 8 | 62 | 11 | 6.5 |
| Charles City County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 9.1 |
| Charlotte County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 12.3 |
| Charlottesville city | 15 | 281 | 38 | 11.7 |
| Chesapeake city | 49 | 787 | 338 | 15.3 |
| Chesterfield County | 77 | 1,483 | 426 | 13.3 |
| Clarke County | None reported | Not reported | 15 | 9.9 |
| Colonial Heights city | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 9.8 |
| Covington city | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 10.6 |
| Culpeper County | 4 | 81 | 74 | 14.3 |
| Cumberland County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 12.2 |
| Danville city | 5 | 81 | 131 | 32.2 |
| Dickenson County | 3 | 20 | 5 | 5.8 |
| Dinwiddie County | 6 | 66 | 27 | 11.7 |
| Emporia city | 3 | 13 | 10 | 23.4 |
| Essex County | 3 | 25 | 14 | 16.0 |
| Fairfax city | 15 | 184 | 49 | 25.6 |
| Fairfax County | 362 | 5,141 | 2,552 | 25.4 |
| Falls Church city | 10 | 149 | 18 | 19.0 |
| Fauquier County | 13 | 148 | 88 | 13.5 |
| Floyd County | 4 | 30 | 13 | 10.9 |
| Fluvanna County | 4 | 67 | 31 | 12.5 |
| Franklin city | 4 | 75 | 21 | 30.3 |
| Franklin County | 7 | 38 | 53 | 10.9 |
| Frederick County | 7 | 41 | 73 | 8.4 |
| Fredericksburg city | 4 | 45 | 40 | 15.2 |
| Galax city | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 5.9 |
| Giles County | 3 | 15 | 11 | 8.5 |
| Gloucester County | 3 | 35 | 26 | 7.3 |
| Goochland County | 5 | 71 | 21 | 9.8 |
| Grayson County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 7.8 |
| Greene County | 3 | 35 | 30 | 15.6 |
| Greensville County | None reported | Not reported | 17 | 15.1 |
| Halifax County | None reported | Not reported | 50 | 14.9 |
| Hampton city | 26 | 360 | 222 | 18.0 |
| Hanover County | 31 | 612 | 74 | 9.3 |
| Harrisonburg city | 9 | 117 | 53 | 12.1 |
| Henrico County | 104 | 1,739 | 466 | 17.0 |
| Henry County | 3 | 10 | 61 | 12.8 |
| Hopewell city | 7 | 51 | 45 | 22.6 |
| Isle of Wight County | 8 | 90 | 36 | 11.0 |
| James City County | 18 | 316 | 67 | 10.5 |
| King George County | 6 | 69 | 40 | 16.5 |
| King William County | 5 | 93 | 22 | 14.5 |
| Lancaster County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 10.1 |
| Lee County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 7.3 |
| Lexington city | 3 | 39 | 6 | 12.0 |
| Loudoun County | 142 | 2,073 | 843 | 22.7 |
| Louisa County | 6 | 60 | 39 | 11.3 |
| Lunenburg County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 7.5 |
| Lynchburg city | 15 | 261 | 90 | 13.2 |
| Madison County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 11.4 |
| Manassas city | 17 | 261 | 77 | 21.9 |
| Manassas Park city | 3 | 39 | 36 | 23.2 |
| Martinsville city | 7 | 40 | 16 | 16.8 |
| Mathews County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 8.2 |
| Mecklenburg County | 5 | 66 | 26 | 10.2 |
| Middlesex County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 10.1 |
| Montgomery County | 22 | 406 | 58 | 8.1 |
| Nelson County | 3 | 10 | 11 | 9.5 |
| New Kent County | 6 | 63 | 19 | 10.0 |
| Newport News city | 37 | 387 | 308 | 18.7 |
| Norfolk city | 56 | 571 | 424 | 20.5 |
| Northampton County | 4 | 54 | 18 | 18.2 |
| Northumberland County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 11.5 |
| Norton city | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 8.4 |
| Nottoway County | None reported | Not reported | 20 | 12.8 |
| Orange County | 4 | 90 | 54 | 15.3 |
| Page County | 6 | 22 | 19 | 10.5 |
| Patrick County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 6.9 |
| Petersburg city | 8 | 62 | 81 | 26.5 |
| Pittsylvania County | 10 | 81 | 84 | 15.7 |
| Poquoson city | 3 | 36 | 9 | 9.5 |
| Portsmouth city | 25 | 197 | 218 | 25.0 |
| Powhatan County | 6 | 82 | 25 | 9.8 |
| Prince Edward County | 4 | 46 | 15 | 8.6 |
| Prince George County | 9 | 21 | 29 | 8.8 |
| Prince William County | 101 | 1,554 | 1,032 | 23.2 |
| Pulaski County | 5 | 61 | 27 | 9.5 |
| Radford city | 4 | 56 | 14 | 10.8 |
| Rappahannock County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 4.0 |
| Richmond city | 30 | 403 | 361 | 17.0 |
| Richmond County | 3 | 28 | 10 | 14.3 |
| Roanoke city | 30 | 397 | 156 | 18.9 |
| Roanoke County | 17 | 205 | 87 | 10.7 |
| Rockbridge County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 4.9 |
| Rockingham County | 14 | 196 | 101 | 13.4 |
| Russell County | 3 | 16 | 9 | 4.7 |
| Salem city | 6 | 133 | 31 | 14.4 |
| Scott County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 4.7 |
| Shenandoah County | 8 | 54 | 52 | 13.4 |
| Smyth County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 6.1 |
| Southampton County | None reported | Not reported | 22 | 12.2 |
| Spotsylvania County | 46 | 491 | 172 | 14.9 |
| Stafford County | 31 | 429 | 232 | 16.1 |
| Staunton city | 3 | 43 | 16 | 7.3 |
| Suffolk city | 14 | 288 | 198 | 21.5 |
| Surry County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 10.7 |
| Sussex County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 9.3 |
| Tazewell County | 3 | 18 | 28 | 7.8 |
| Virginia Beach city | 103 | 1,690 | 576 | 14.9 |
| Warren County | 5 | 95 | 43 | 11.6 |
| Washington County | 10 | 102 | 22 | 5.9 |
| Waynesboro city | 3 | 25 | 22 | 10.9 |
| Westmoreland County | 5 | 24 | 22 | 14.3 |
| Williamsburg city | 3 | 31 | 13 | 10.1 |
| Winchester city | 9 | 116 | 28 | 13.3 |
| Wise County | 11 | 72 | 22 | 9.3 |
| Wythe County | 6 | 51 | 12 | 6.4 |
| York County | 14 | 207 | 50 | 9.0 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Virginia?
- Virginia had 1,977 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 27,909 people. Another 12,539 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Virginia counties have the most child care centers?
- Fairfax County (362), Loudoun County (142), Henrico County (104) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Virginia?
- Virginia licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: