Skip to content

Checked

Alaska School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
53
Students
127,890
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$21,052
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Anchorage School District
40,587 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Districts by enrollment

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Anchorage School District40,58794$17,2469.6%
Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District19,49549$17,2387.8%
Fairbanks North Star Borough School District11,85733$18,3377.7%
Kenai Peninsula Borough School District8,51042$20,25511.4%
Galena City School District8,1684$7,18716.7%
Juneau Borough School District4,08513$20,5956.9%
Yukon-Koyukuk School District4,02411$13,07221.6%
Lower Kuskokwim School District3,82327$45,37131.5%
Nenana City School District2,2792$8,08117.8%
Kodiak Island Borough School District2,12212$27,4437.2%
Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District2,0439$25,1319.0%
Lower Yukon School District2,02711$43,10538.6%
Northwest Arctic Borough School District1,94513$44,06331.8%
North Slope Borough School District1,85311$46,45614.9%
Bering Strait School District1,74515$50,45532.8%
Sitka School District1,0806$23,8598.0%
Denali Borough School District1,0734$11,7619.8%
Delta/Greely School District9715$14,45614.7%
Nome Public Schools6724$27,12418.4%
Chugach School District6174$13,84414.9%
Craig City School District6154$13,55513.5%
Southwest Region School District6158$41,60348.2%
Valdez City School District6053$30,3286.0%
Yupiit School District5223$39,66843.1%
Petersburg Borough School District4643$24,8368.8%
Mount Edgecumbe4221$33,968Not reported
Dillingham City School District4032$37,50420.9%
Copper River School District3935$22,59319.8%
Alaska Gateway School District3817$46,59316.7%
Cordova City School District3613$22,0868.4%
Unalaska City School District3372$27,1903.4%
Kashunamiut School District3201$38,79638.6%
Lake and Peninsula Borough School District32011$60,41630.4%
Kuspuk School District3099$59,34532.1%
Annette Island School District3013$36,70421.3%
Wrangell Public School District2643$22,96318.5%
Iditarod Area School District2638$31,74437.5%
Haines Borough School District2553$25,62513.2%
Aleutians East Borough School District1784$54,41013.4%
Saint Mary's School District1781$47,88539.6%
Yukon Flats School District1756$73,73217.2%
Southeast Island School District1648$45,15524.7%
Chatham School District1614$45,30730.9%
Skagway School District1381$31,7862.4%
Klawock City School District1272$40,00827.9%
Hydaburg City School District1172$39,19832.3%
Kake City School District1171$42,03724.3%
Hoonah City School District1101$49,48715.1%
Bristol Bay Borough School District1063$61,54221.0%
Yakutat School District952$25,85828.6%
Pribilof School District652$43,67210.8%
Aleutian Region School District212Not reported10.0%
Pelican City School District121Not reported18.2%

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in Alaska?
Anchorage School District (40,587 students), Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District (19,495 students), Fairbanks North Star Borough School District (11,857 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does Alaska spend per student?
Districts in Alaska that report finance data spent an average of $21,052 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: