Checked
California School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 2,090
- Students
- 5,785,159
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $20,318
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Los Angeles Unified
- 406,717 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Largest 200 districts
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles Unified | 406,717 | 784 | $25,643 | 18.9% |
| San Diego Unified | 94,828 | 175 | $21,281 | 11.7% |
| Fresno Unified | 67,873 | 101 | $23,556 | 32.9% |
| Elk Grove Unified | 63,232 | 67 | $17,434 | 12.7% |
| Long Beach Unified | 62,255 | 82 | $21,042 | 14.5% |
| Corona-Norco Unified | 49,370 | 53 | $18,317 | 7.5% |
| San Francisco Unified | 48,706 | 113 | $25,173 | 9.8% |
| San Bernardino City Unified | 44,080 | 76 | $23,886 | 21.5% |
| Clovis Unified | 43,611 | 51 | $16,075 | 12.6% |
| Kern High | 42,814 | 25 | $19,073 | 22.1% |
| Capistrano Unified | 40,251 | 59 | $17,395 | 6.2% |
| San Juan Unified | 39,171 | 68 | $17,376 | 16.5% |
| Riverside Unified | 38,002 | 49 | $18,390 | 9.8% |
| Irvine Unified | 37,948 | 45 | $17,163 | 8.3% |
| Sacramento City Unified | 37,657 | 73 | $22,776 | 16.4% |
| Garden Grove Unified | 36,994 | 66 | $21,521 | 17.2% |
| Santa Ana Unified | 35,993 | 52 | $24,720 | 15.9% |
| Poway Unified | 34,259 | 39 | $16,156 | 4.3% |
| Oakland Unified | 33,736 | 84 | $25,692 | 13.1% |
| Stockton Unified | 33,590 | 54 | $22,774 | 23.4% |
| Sweetwater Union High | 33,517 | 29 | $16,482 | 12.6% |
| Fremont Unified | 33,073 | 44 | $16,281 | 3.9% |
| Fontana Unified | 32,735 | 44 | $20,036 | 16.2% |
| Moreno Valley Unified | 30,906 | 38 | $20,508 | 12.9% |
| Mt. Diablo Unified | 29,210 | 51 | $16,629 | 9.8% |
| Visalia Unified | 28,725 | 41 | $18,939 | 21.7% |
| San Ramon Valley Unified | 28,554 | 37 | $17,073 | 2.5% |
| Bakersfield City | 28,365 | 45 | $20,798 | 33.7% |
| Lodi Unified | 27,047 | 49 | $18,435 | 15.3% |
| Temecula Valley Unified | 26,274 | 30 | $15,693 | 5.5% |
| Anaheim Union High | 26,076 | 21 | $20,079 | 14.4% |
| Desert Sands Unified | 25,613 | 35 | $19,599 | 10.6% |
| Chino Valley Unified | 25,548 | 35 | $15,509 | 10.2% |
| Glendale Unified | 25,294 | 34 | $16,351 | 16.3% |
| Manteca Unified | 25,225 | 29 | $15,599 | 12.9% |
| West Contra Costa Unified | 25,133 | 54 | $21,597 | 13.2% |
| Twin Rivers Unified | 24,770 | 44 | $20,757 | 21.8% |
| San Jose Unified | 24,322 | 41 | $19,727 | 7.4% |
| Orange Unified | 23,790 | 41 | $16,406 | 9.7% |
| Hesperia Unified | 23,188 | 25 | $16,011 | 19.9% |
| Rialto Unified | 23,067 | 30 | $20,433 | 17.0% |
| Hemet Unified | 22,778 | 27 | $21,582 | 13.8% |
| Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified | 22,665 | 34 | $17,021 | 7.8% |
| Saddleback Valley Unified | 22,646 | 34 | $17,411 | 6.4% |
| Downey Unified | 22,405 | 21 | $19,524 | 13.8% |
| Chula Vista Elementary | 22,235 | 44 | $18,192 | 11.2% |
| Chaffey Joint Union High | 22,040 | 11 | $18,582 | 12.1% |
| Torrance Unified | 21,890 | 32 | $16,113 | 7.2% |
| Folsom-Cordova Unified | 21,699 | 37 | $16,066 | 9.1% |
| Murrieta Valley Unified | 21,621 | 21 | $16,115 | 6.6% |
| Tustin Unified | 21,220 | 28 | $16,217 | 9.5% |
| Antelope Valley Union High | 21,202 | 13 | $17,509 | 16.4% |
| Lake Elsinore Unified | 20,539 | 25 | $17,548 | 10.0% |
| William S. Hart Union High | 20,465 | 16 | $16,293 | 7.2% |
| Pomona Unified | 20,422 | 37 | $23,577 | 17.4% |
| Fairfield-Suisun Unified | 20,304 | 31 | $15,709 | 11.4% |
| Palm Springs Unified | 20,007 | 28 | $22,793 | 13.8% |
| Madera Unified | 19,922 | 28 | $19,767 | 28.5% |
| East Side Union High | 19,736 | 16 | $18,147 | 9.1% |
| Panama-Buena Vista Union | 19,366 | 25 | $17,448 | 18.1% |
| Montebello Unified | 19,149 | 29 | $24,212 | 17.9% |
| Redlands Unified | 19,105 | 25 | $18,357 | 10.8% |
| Val Verde Unified | 19,065 | 23 | $20,692 | 12.6% |
| San Marcos Unified | 18,837 | 19 | $16,525 | 7.1% |
| Colton Joint Unified | 18,397 | 28 | $21,436 | 16.5% |
| Vista Unified | 18,096 | 26 | $19,399 | 10.8% |
| Palmdale Elementary | 17,941 | 29 | $19,891 | 21.1% |
| Jurupa Unified | 17,739 | 25 | $21,605 | 11.5% |
| Ontario-Montclair | 17,640 | 33 | $24,222 | 17.5% |
| ABC Unified | 17,570 | 31 | $19,156 | 11.0% |
| Newport-Mesa Unified | 17,540 | 32 | $25,216 | 9.6% |
| Santa Maria-Bonita | 17,408 | 21 | $19,642 | 27.7% |
| Hayward Unified | 17,273 | 28 | $22,288 | 8.8% |
| Pajaro Valley Unified | 16,482 | 34 | $22,477 | 18.4% |
| Alvord Unified | 16,432 | 26 | $20,674 | 11.3% |
| Grossmont Union High | 16,401 | 15 | $20,908 | 13.3% |
| Compton Unified | 16,304 | 37 | $22,872 | 22.0% |
| Napa Valley Unified | 16,077 | 26 | $16,443 | 7.6% |
| Oxnard Union High | 16,014 | 12 | $19,657 | 14.3% |
| Cajon Valley Union | 15,974 | 26 | $19,663 | 21.6% |
| Central Unified | 15,956 | 25 | $17,761 | 22.6% |
| Coachella Valley Unified | 15,817 | 22 | $24,120 | 14.7% |
| Conejo Valley Unified | 15,713 | 27 | $17,067 | 7.5% |
| Salinas Union High | 15,703 | 12 | $19,699 | 18.3% |
| Hacienda la Puente Unified | 15,464 | 30 | $19,841 | 14.1% |
| Simi Valley Unified | 15,418 | 27 | $16,610 | 8.7% |
| Modesto City High | 15,334 | 8 | Not reported | 18.4% |
| Antioch Unified | 15,111 | 25 | $20,655 | 15.8% |
| Natomas Unified | 14,902 | 20 | $16,036 | 13.3% |
| Oceanside Unified | 14,866 | 23 | $18,666 | 9.7% |
| Norwalk-La Mirada Unified | 14,560 | 26 | $20,749 | 11.7% |
| Alhambra Unified | 14,548 | 16 | $21,297 | 14.3% |
| Modesto City Elementary | 14,444 | 26 | Not reported | 25.9% |
| Santa Clara Unified | 14,411 | 30 | $29,282 | 5.7% |
| Ventura Unified | 14,346 | 27 | $18,861 | 10.7% |
| Burbank Unified | 14,143 | 20 | $16,471 | 10.0% |
| Walnut Valley Unified | 13,992 | 15 | $16,053 | 10.1% |
| Huntington Beach Union High | 13,967 | 8 | $18,463 | 10.4% |
| Escondido Union | 13,920 | 24 | $20,257 | 12.8% |
| Porterville Unified | 13,893 | 22 | $19,860 | 32.0% |
| Anaheim Elementary | 13,822 | 23 | $22,479 | 16.8% |
| Tracy Joint Unified | 13,770 | 19 | $18,044 | 12.6% |
| Lancaster Elementary | 13,765 | 24 | $21,234 | 19.2% |
| Etiwanda Elementary | 13,666 | 18 | $15,674 | 9.1% |
| Ceres Unified | 13,665 | 24 | $19,511 | 20.3% |
| Pasadena Unified | 13,639 | 23 | $24,911 | 10.7% |
| Apple Valley Unified | 13,613 | 15 | $13,653 | 19.4% |
| Cupertino Union | 13,526 | 23 | $18,329 | 2.8% |
| Turlock Unified | 13,478 | 14 | $18,145 | 17.4% |
| Sanger Unified | 13,313 | 20 | $17,516 | 17.1% |
| Pleasanton Unified | 13,302 | 17 | $17,483 | 2.2% |
| Oxnard | 13,003 | 21 | $23,624 | 18.4% |
| Livermore Valley Joint Unified | 12,945 | 18 | $16,319 | 3.5% |
| Dublin Unified | 12,750 | 16 | $15,743 | 2.6% |
| Vacaville Unified | 12,690 | 18 | $15,806 | 9.1% |
| Fullerton Joint Union High | 12,597 | 8 | $17,606 | 10.5% |
| Beaumont Unified | 12,430 | 15 | $18,040 | 7.1% |
| Roseville City | 12,306 | 21 | $15,231 | 6.4% |
| Victor Elementary | 12,303 | 19 | $19,626 | 23.7% |
| Chico Unified | 12,260 | 22 | $17,329 | 15.6% |
| Menifee Union | 12,247 | 18 | $16,069 | 7.2% |
| Santa Barbara Unified | 12,247 | 21 | $18,639 | 11.1% |
| San Dieguito Union High | 12,026 | 10 | $15,720 | 3.9% |
| Perris Union High | 11,810 | 9 | $19,039 | 10.1% |
| Highlands Community Charter District | 11,713 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Paramount Unified | 11,623 | 20 | $23,527 | 18.2% |
| Rocklin Unified | 11,579 | 18 | $15,417 | 4.4% |
| Rowland Unified | 11,541 | 23 | $22,683 | 16.0% |
| Victor Valley Union High | 11,532 | 11 | $20,445 | 21.4% |
| Yuba City Unified | 11,388 | 17 | $19,224 | 16.0% |
| Fullerton Elementary | 11,247 | 20 | $17,732 | 11.2% |
| Merced City Elementary | 11,108 | 19 | $17,666 | 28.2% |
| Merced Union High | 11,061 | 9 | $18,331 | 23.1% |
| Covina-Valley Unified | 11,028 | 18 | $19,765 | 11.8% |
| Los Banos Unified | 11,020 | 17 | $17,734 | 20.2% |
| Roseville Joint Union High | 10,989 | 8 | $17,164 | 6.6% |
| Lynwood Unified | 10,851 | 17 | $21,319 | 20.3% |
| Carlsbad Unified | 10,678 | 16 | $15,702 | 5.4% |
| Pittsburg Unified | 10,633 | 13 | $19,492 | 16.8% |
| La Mesa-Spring Valley | 10,439 | 21 | $18,879 | 11.7% |
| Marysville Joint Unified | 10,418 | 23 | $17,312 | 20.4% |
| San Jacinto Unified | 10,273 | 16 | $20,783 | 13.9% |
| Palo Alto Unified | 10,187 | 20 | $31,362 | 2.9% |
| Gilroy Unified | 10,176 | 15 | $17,442 | 8.9% |
| Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified | 10,131 | 18 | $16,812 | 4.2% |
| Milpitas Unified | 10,076 | 15 | $16,716 | 5.6% |
| New Haven Unified | 10,056 | 13 | $16,667 | 6.2% |
| Brentwood Union | 9,932 | 12 | $14,727 | 6.7% |
| San Mateo-Foster City | 9,906 | 22 | $21,975 | 7.2% |
| Bonita Unified | 9,905 | 15 | $15,684 | 7.3% |
| Whittier Union High | 9,798 | 7 | $23,421 | 10.3% |
| Las Virgenes Unified | 9,754 | 17 | $16,857 | 6.0% |
| Kings Canyon Joint Unified | 9,696 | 23 | $20,776 | 24.9% |
| Vallejo City Unified | 9,638 | 20 | $23,824 | 15.6% |
| Lucia Mar Unified | 9,590 | 19 | $17,507 | 11.4% |
| Bellflower Unified | 9,573 | 15 | $21,569 | 13.6% |
| Castro Valley Unified | 9,548 | 16 | $15,828 | 4.6% |
| Upland Unified | 9,461 | 14 | $19,336 | 11.3% |
| Redondo Beach Unified | 9,454 | 14 | $15,714 | 4.4% |
| Fremont Union High | 9,422 | 6 | $24,927 | 3.4% |
| Santa Rosa High | 9,410 | 12 | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Monterey Peninsula Unified | 9,308 | 20 | $20,712 | 10.2% |
| Woodland Joint Unified | 9,304 | 17 | $17,145 | 11.5% |
| Tulare City | 9,289 | 18 | $17,502 | 25.6% |
| Baldwin Park Unified | 9,272 | 15 | $22,933 | 17.2% |
| Alameda Unified | 9,260 | 16 | $18,149 | 5.7% |
| Saugus Union | 9,189 | 15 | $14,926 | 5.6% |
| Berkeley Unified | 9,116 | 18 | $24,977 | 5.0% |
| Westside Union Elementary | 9,078 | 12 | $14,593 | 9.6% |
| Arcadia Unified | 9,061 | 11 | $17,761 | 9.4% |
| Santa Maria Joint Union High | 8,930 | 4 | $19,746 | 21.6% |
| Lompoc Unified | 8,896 | 16 | $16,502 | 17.3% |
| Greenfield Union | 8,860 | 13 | $18,621 | 26.4% |
| San Leandro Unified | 8,834 | 13 | $19,628 | 9.2% |
| San Mateo Union High | 8,736 | 8 | $26,598 | 6.0% |
| Lincoln Unified | 8,721 | 14 | $16,379 | 15.4% |
| Los Alamitos Unified | 8,702 | 9 | $16,169 | 4.5% |
| Santa Monica-Malibu Unified | 8,616 | 17 | $22,837 | 8.4% |
| Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified | 8,519 | 14 | $17,058 | 10.4% |
| Oak Grove Elementary | 8,515 | 18 | $16,745 | 7.9% |
| Evergreen Elementary | 8,464 | 16 | $16,650 | 7.5% |
| Sequoia Union High | 8,419 | 6 | $27,344 | 5.8% |
| Campbell Union High | 8,359 | 6 | $19,636 | 5.1% |
| Davis Joint Unified | 8,241 | 17 | $17,421 | 7.2% |
| Salinas City Elementary | 8,236 | 15 | $21,480 | 19.0% |
| Liberty Union High | 8,203 | 5 | $17,861 | 6.5% |
| Snowline Joint Unified | 8,074 | 12 | $16,959 | 14.7% |
| Western Placer Unified | 8,030 | 14 | $15,431 | 5.1% |
| Calexico Unified | 8,022 | 12 | $21,985 | 23.5% |
| Sylvan Union Elementary | 7,974 | 13 | $16,474 | 14.7% |
| Lammersville Joint Unified | 7,945 | 9 | $13,047 | 3.8% |
| San Lorenzo Unified | 7,936 | 17 | $20,380 | 9.7% |
| Westminster | 7,864 | 17 | $20,581 | 17.7% |
| Morgan Hill Unified | 7,810 | 13 | $17,801 | 5.8% |
| River Springs Charter District | 7,703 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| West Covina Unified | 7,703 | 15 | $21,270 | 13.2% |
| Adelanto Elementary | 7,660 | 15 | $19,425 | 23.5% |
| Blue Ridge Academy District | 7,657 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| San Luis Coastal Unified | 7,653 | 16 | $19,917 | 8.7% |
| South San Francisco Unified | 7,644 | 17 | $21,381 | 7.5% |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in California?
- Los Angeles Unified (406,717 students), San Diego Unified (94,828 students), Fresno Unified (67,873 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does California spend per student?
- Districts in California that report finance data spent an average of $20,318 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026