Checked
District of Columbia School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 69
- Students
- 93,707
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $33,023
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- District of Columbia Public Schools
- 52,030 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Districts by enrollment
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| District of Columbia Public Schools | 52,030 | 117 | $31,529 | 24.6% |
| Kipp DC PCS | 7,372 | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Friendship PCS | 4,378 | 15 | Not reported | Not reported |
| DC Prep PCS | 2,181 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| District of Columbia International School | 1,654 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Center City PCS | 1,446 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rocketship Education DC PCS | 1,197 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| E.L. Haynes PCS | 1,184 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington Latin PCS | 1,130 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mundo Verde Bilingual PCS | 1,067 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two Rivers PCS | 1,022 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Capital City PCS | 1,015 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ingenuity Prep PCS | 797 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Paul PCS | 767 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS | 707 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington Yu Ying PCS | 701 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Basis DC PCS | 692 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Digital Pioneers Academy PCS | 684 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| AppleTree Early Learning PCS | 658 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| DC Bilingual PCS | 622 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Meridian PCS | 578 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Latin American Montessori Bilingual PCS | 572 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lee Montessori PCS | 544 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Creative Minds International PCS | 530 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Inspired Teaching Demonstration PCS | 522 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| DC Scholars PCS | 478 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Goodwill Excel Center PCS | 440 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Perry Street Preparatory PCS | 437 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS | 409 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cedar Tree Academy PCS | 399 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington Leadership Academy PCS | 386 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Breakthrough Montessori PCS | 383 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Thurgood Marshall Academy PCS | 373 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cesar Chavez PCS for Public Policy | 367 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bridges PCS | 365 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Idea PCS | 350 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kingsman Academy PCS | 346 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Statesmen College Preparatory Academy for Boys PCS | 311 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS | 310 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sela PCS | 302 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Richard Wright PCS for Journalism and Media Arts | 300 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| The Sojourner Truth School PCS | 292 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Learn DC PCS | 290 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Early Childhood Academy PCS | 281 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Howard University Middle School of Mathematics and Science P | 271 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| St. Coletta Special Education PCS | 250 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| The Children's Guild DC PCS | 246 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Seed PCS | 245 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Washington Global PCS | 227 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maya Angelou PCS | 218 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS | 199 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Global Citizens PCS | 198 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Girls Global Academy PCS | 183 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Harmony DC PCS | 182 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Monument Academy PCS | 131 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dyrs | 130 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social Justice PCS | 97 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Capital Village PCS | 91 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Roots PCS | 80 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| DC Department of Corrections as the State Public Agency (SPA | 45 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| DC Wildflower PCS | 45 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in District of Columbia?
- District of Columbia Public Schools (52,030 students), Kipp DC PCS (7,372 students), Friendship PCS (4,378 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does District of Columbia spend per student?
- Districts in District of Columbia that report finance data spent an average of $33,023 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: