Skip to content

Checked

Delaware School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
46
Students
142,156
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$22,312
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Red Clay Consolidated School District
14,444 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Districts by enrollment

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Red Clay Consolidated School District14,44428$23,29412.5%
Christina School District12,95429$34,49114.9%
Appoquinimink School District12,89721$18,4565.5%
Indian River School District10,75316$20,51614.9%
Brandywine School District10,34917$22,83910.6%
Colonial School District8,57515$23,84014.5%
Caesar Rodney School District8,34315$18,90212.4%
Cape Henlopen School District6,65410$21,81210.0%
Capital School District6,49114$23,52118.4%
Smyrna School District5,8878$16,1508.7%
New Castle County Vocational-Technical School District4,8124$24,889Not reported
Milford School District4,5236$15,79514.8%
Lake Forest School District3,7277$18,51912.5%
Seaford School District3,5807$19,68118.8%
Newark Charter School3,1091Not reportedNot reported
Woodbridge School District2,5776$20,31019.1%
Laurel School District2,5444$16,66118.4%
Odyssey Charter School2,2861Not reportedNot reported
ASPIRA Delaware1,4711Not reportedNot reported
Delmar School District1,4453$12,54114.0%
MOT Charter School1,4071Not reportedNot reported
Sussex Technical School District1,3411$21,953Not reported
POLYTECH School District1,2281$20,953Not reported
Sussex Academy1,1821Not reportedNot reported
Charter School of Wilmington9771Not reportedNot reported
Academia Antonia Alonso9101Not reportedNot reported
Charter School of New Castle7881Not reportedNot reported
Providence Creek Academy Charter School7691Not reportedNot reported
First State Montessori Academy6571Not reportedNot reported
Kuumba Academy Charter School5941Not reportedNot reported
Early College High School at Del State5831Not reportedNot reported
Edison (Thomas A.) Charter School5571Not reportedNot reported
Delaware Military Academy5471Not reportedNot reported
Academy of Dover Charter School4431Not reportedNot reported
East Side Charter School4341Not reportedNot reported
First State Military Academy4331Not reportedNot reported
Campus Community School4091Not reportedNot reported
Freire Charter School Wilmington4061Not reportedNot reported
Sussex Montessori School3831Not reportedNot reported
Gateway Charter School2111Not reportedNot reported
Bryan Allen Stevenson School of Excellence2081Not reportedNot reported
Great Oaks Charter School1491Not reportedNot reported
Positive Outcomes Charter School1191Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in Delaware?
Red Clay Consolidated School District (14,444 students), Christina School District (12,954 students), Appoquinimink School District (12,897 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does Delaware spend per student?
Districts in Delaware that report finance data spent an average of $22,312 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: