Skip to content

Checked

Massachusetts School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
420
Students
915,854
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$26,530
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Boston
46,094 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Largest 200 districts

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Boston46,094108$39,92921.6%
Worcester24,77847$24,49217.0%
Springfield23,67066$28,02630.2%
Lynn16,36427$24,97018.3%
Brockton15,28024$22,25814.4%
Lowell14,45727$23,88118.6%
Lawrence13,31326$25,80222.4%
New Bedford12,50524$25,30718.3%
Newton11,63222$28,2193.9%
Fall River11,08919$25,56018.8%
Quincy9,76919$22,31710.5%
Framingham9,12414$26,32913.4%
Taunton8,31113$20,12812.5%
Haverhill7,94016$21,04813.6%
Everett7,30710$22,17717.1%
Revere7,26111$22,47616.8%
Cambridge7,02717$40,78911.2%
Brookline7,02312$29,1704.4%
Plymouth6,95613$24,1636.3%
Chicopee6,75515$23,54220.2%
Lexington6,74810$29,1483.7%
Wachusett6,55713$18,5402.4%
Methuen6,4646$19,71111.5%
Malden6,3547$21,07314.8%
Attleboro6,23912$19,2987.6%
Leominster6,19313$19,57910.1%
Arlington6,11311$22,2823.1%
Chelsea6,09411$24,06222.2%
Shrewsbury5,9569$20,1323.5%
Waltham5,77711$28,35212.2%
Peabody5,77411$21,33410.0%
Bridgewater-Raynham5,6828$18,0065.1%
Weymouth5,63011$20,7107.6%
Needham5,4938$25,2071.9%
Andover5,41410$26,1022.8%
Natick5,2977$22,2293.6%
Fitchburg5,2348$22,46115.6%
Braintree5,2099$21,3695.9%
Chelmsford5,0688$18,8055.0%
Acton-Boxborough5,0559$22,1143.7%
Billerica4,9728$22,6355.3%
Somerville4,95211$30,51211.4%
Pittsfield4,87314$24,84117.7%
Holyoke4,79510$25,61129.3%
Westfield4,77212$20,10414.4%
Marlborough4,7287$22,23613.8%
Barnstable4,6809$24,99414.0%
Franklin4,61110$20,3363.6%
Westford4,5759$20,8182.2%
Woburn4,52010$24,69510.1%
Milford4,5126$22,91410.7%
Beverly4,5038$20,3256.6%
Belmont4,4487$20,0513.9%
North Andover4,4168$20,2354.4%
Winchester4,3917$20,7082.7%
Milton4,3676$21,6112.6%
Hopkinton4,2276$18,6912.5%
Medford4,1708$24,7499.0%
West Springfield3,9988$20,66517.6%
Wellesley3,9869$31,1942.2%
North Attleborough3,8778$17,8765.1%
Reading3,8369$21,1372.5%
Salem3,83111$27,23214.2%
Westborough3,8316$22,8323.6%
Melrose3,8158$17,6273.7%
Stoughton3,7598$21,6229.2%
Marshfield3,6378$21,3643.3%
Hingham3,6166$22,3691.8%
Norwood3,5759$23,7067.9%
Walpole3,5657$21,0833.1%
Burlington3,5106$27,5084.9%
Dracut3,4916$17,1507.6%
Dudley-Charlton Reg3,4767$18,8936.0%
Sharon3,4686$22,6093.5%
Agawam3,4618$22,43313.1%
Whitman-Hanson3,4577$19,3825.3%
Wakefield3,3827$22,5293.1%
Easton3,3604$19,0733.0%
Canton3,3146$22,8834.8%
Dartmouth3,2976$20,5896.1%
Mansfield3,2835$23,8324.3%
Danvers3,2387$22,1916.8%
Tewksbury3,2196$23,1555.4%
Grafton3,0896$17,9812.6%
Dennis-Yarmouth3,0546$26,50414.3%
Nashoba2,9906$22,6482.4%
TEC Connections Academy Commonwealth Virtual School District2,9691Not reportedNot reported
North Middlesex2,9147$21,0016.4%
Ashland2,9095$18,9025.0%
Hampden-Wilbraham2,8816$19,6565.2%
Randolph2,8756$27,04811.8%
Middleborough2,8705$21,0217.0%
Falmouth2,8667$27,7239.9%
Watertown2,8445$28,2479.2%
Westwood2,8427$26,8421.8%
Gloucester2,8387$25,39210.2%
Longmeadow2,7646$19,3603.8%
Wilmington2,7567$26,1354.0%
Scituate2,7446$22,2662.1%
Wayland2,7016$24,6582.2%
Duxbury2,6944$21,8842.6%
Holliston2,6894$19,1552.4%
Saugus2,6754$19,8718.2%
Dedham2,6687$27,4716.4%
Freetown-Lakeville2,6035$17,7324.1%
Marblehead2,5645$23,2122.8%
Hanover2,5504$18,7422.1%
Dighton-Rehoboth2,5415$20,0344.6%
Gardner2,5324$18,85712.8%
Sudbury2,5295$24,2632.2%
Bedford2,5134$25,4444.2%
Auburn2,5065$18,8204.6%
Foxborough2,5045$23,5425.8%
Northampton2,4966$23,7119.8%
Medfield2,4785$22,0241.6%
East Longmeadow2,4425$20,7275.6%
Pembroke2,3675$20,8192.8%
Norton2,3465$20,5735.5%
Stoneham2,3386$22,6116.4%
North Reading2,3275$21,9652.4%
Hudson2,3225$25,5507.7%
Greater Lowell Regional Vocational Technical2,3141$27,628Not reported
Groton-Dunstable2,3005$23,0022.1%
Ashburnham-Westminster2,2555$16,9063.5%
Pentucket2,2386$21,2323.6%
Brooke Charter School (District)2,2161Not reportedNot reported
Ludlow2,2104$22,3159.6%
Norwell2,1944$20,5431.8%
Lynnfield2,1785$20,4582.8%
Medway2,1584$19,8513.1%
Rockland2,1584$23,89310.1%
Greater New Bedford Regional Vocational Technical2,1511$28,155Not reported
Abington2,1435$18,9555.4%
Sandwich2,1183$28,3264.2%
Quabbin2,1117$20,6604.8%
Newburyport2,1074$23,9033.5%
Swampscott2,0943$22,3704.6%
Triton2,0745$25,7486.2%
Mendon-Upton2,0724$22,7102.5%
Weston2,0635$32,2263.6%
Belchertown2,0435$18,8757.4%
Seekonk2,0325$20,5604.7%
Clinton2,0253$20,3219.4%
Bellingham2,0205$23,8405.2%
East Bridgewater2,0133$19,4555.1%
Swansea1,9916$19,1305.4%
Winthrop1,9614$19,9188.7%
Wareham1,9164$26,18711.7%
Concord1,9144$29,7093.7%
Northbridge1,8383$20,7496.2%
Greater Lawrence Regional Vocational Technical1,8371$31,091Not reported
Essex North Shore Agricultural and Technical School District1,8301$23,661Not reported
Southbridge1,8286$25,72915.1%
King Philip1,8202$23,0683.5%
Amesbury1,7935$24,7396.4%
Tantasqua1,7503$18,9515.4%
Monomoy Regional School District1,7284$27,5367.5%
Fairhaven1,7274$19,1037.7%
Ayer Shirley School District1,7234$20,1436.7%
Nantucket1,7194$31,0756.1%
Webster1,7123$24,85513.4%
Mystic Valley Regional Charter (District)1,6981Not reportedNot reported
Hamilton-Wenham1,6695$24,4722.9%
Silver Lake1,6613$25,0424.7%
Littleton1,6554$20,6272.5%
KIPP Academy Lynn Charter (District)1,6371Not reportedNot reported
Millbury1,6313$21,8566.1%
Uxbridge1,6234$21,9554.1%
Somerset1,6204$21,6415.6%
South Hadley1,6204$21,1199.7%
Southeastern Regional Vocational Technical1,6181$25,974Not reported
Athol-Royalston1,6044$21,04912.1%
Northborough1,5675$22,5893.0%
Ipswich1,5634$27,2164.2%
Lunenburg1,5635$18,8214.4%
Central Berkshire1,5375$21,9468.6%
Bourne1,5194$25,9426.5%
Tyngsborough1,5153$20,8484.8%
Westport1,5153$19,9836.4%
Springfield International Charter (District)1,5111Not reportedNot reported
Blackstone-Millville1,4805$20,0117.3%
Masconomet1,4772$26,8032.2%
Carver1,4762$21,5626.4%
Greater Fall River Regional Vocational Technical1,4631$25,675Not reported
Foxborough Regional Charter (District)1,4591Not reportedNot reported
Oxford1,4584$19,2537.6%
Lincoln-Sudbury1,4451$26,3882.1%
Narragansett1,4393$18,1877.8%
Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public (District)1,4261Not reportedNot reported
Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical1,4171$24,702Not reported
Spencer-E Brookfield1,3984$20,5628.6%
Cohasset1,3974$24,3971.7%
Mashpee1,3863$26,93811.6%
Northeast Metropolitan Regional Vocational Technical1,3811$27,246Not reported
Excel Academy Charter (District)1,3791Not reportedNot reported
Greenfield1,3706$25,34216.1%
Easthampton1,3682$18,81010.9%
West Bridgewater1,3574$17,0155.9%
Holbrook1,3502$18,7146.8%
Bristol-Plymouth Regional Vocational Technical1,3351$26,098Not reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in Massachusetts?
Boston (46,094 students), Worcester (24,778 students), Springfield (23,670 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does Massachusetts spend per student?
Districts in Massachusetts that report finance data spent an average of $26,530 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: