Skip to content

Checked

Maryland School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
25
Students
891,525
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$20,258
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Montgomery County Public Schools
159,181 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Districts by enrollment

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Montgomery County Public Schools159,181211$20,1078.4%
Prince George's County Public Schools132,123199$21,59211.9%
Baltimore County Public Schools110,024178$19,35610.3%
Anne Arundel County Public Schools85,029128$19,1247.2%
Baltimore City Public Schools76,807151$24,05322.2%
Howard County Public Schools57,56578$20,2965.4%
Frederick County Public Schools48,05469$17,1724.7%
Harford County Public Schools37,77155$17,4797.2%
Charles County Public Schools28,16240$18,5987.3%
Carroll County Public Schools26,14144$16,7734.4%
Washington County Public Schools22,77243$17,51613.3%
St. Mary's County Public Schools16,90527$18,2159.3%
Wicomico County Public Schools15,58225$19,18319.3%
Cecil County Public Schools14,85329$18,30610.8%
Calvert County Public Schools14,84925$20,9205.6%
Allegany County Public Schools8,11322$19,32920.1%
Queen Anne's County Public Schools7,47814$31,7126.4%
Worcester County Public Schools7,00214$24,22113.8%
Caroline County Public Schools5,64810$20,20215.9%
Dorchester County Public Schools4,58613$26,31721.3%
Talbot County Public Schools4,4858$17,38412.7%
Garrett County Public Schools3,40511$28,99113.7%
Somerset County Public Schools2,9018$28,10826.7%
Kent County Public Schools1,6945$54,57618.3%
SEED School of Maryland3951Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in Maryland?
Montgomery County Public Schools (159,181 students), Prince George's County Public Schools (132,123 students), Baltimore County Public Schools (110,024 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does Maryland spend per student?
Districts in Maryland that report finance data spent an average of $20,258 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: