Checked
Missouri School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 567
- Students
- 885,243
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $13,963
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Springfield R-XII
- 24,285 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Largest 200 districts
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Springfield R-XII | 24,285 | 56 | $14,340 | 12.4% |
| North Kansas City 74 | 21,252 | 34 | $14,811 | 11.2% |
| Rockwood R-VI | 19,597 | 31 | $13,268 | 3.0% |
| Columbia 93 | 18,640 | 36 | $14,650 | 11.9% |
| Wentzville R-IV | 17,973 | 21 | $13,482 | 5.6% |
| St. Louis City | 17,933 | 68 | $23,121 | 31.3% |
| Lee's Summit R-VII | 17,695 | 30 | $15,082 | 5.1% |
| Francis Howell R-III | 17,047 | 23 | $12,458 | 5.1% |
| Parkway C-2 | 16,759 | 29 | $14,660 | 4.3% |
| Fort Zumwalt School District | 16,698 | 27 | $14,783 | 5.9% |
| Hazelwood | 16,321 | 32 | $14,941 | 21.1% |
| Kansas City 33 | 15,079 | 33 | $19,265 | 25.5% |
| Blue Springs R-IV | 14,657 | 21 | $13,612 | 7.3% |
| Independence 30 | 14,272 | 31 | $12,949 | 18.0% |
| Park Hill | 11,937 | 20 | $15,605 | 5.9% |
| Liberty 53 | 11,826 | 20 | $14,835 | 4.7% |
| St. Joseph | 10,430 | 25 | $13,605 | 16.2% |
| Fox C-6 | 10,258 | 18 | $12,434 | 9.1% |
| Mehlville R-IX | 10,018 | 18 | $13,308 | 7.5% |
| Ferguson-Florissant R-II | 8,809 | 23 | $15,294 | 24.6% |
| Jefferson City | 8,491 | 18 | $13,313 | 12.5% |
| Joplin Schools | 7,873 | 16 | $11,195 | 17.3% |
| Raytown C-2 | 7,676 | 20 | $14,574 | 17.3% |
| Lindbergh Schools | 7,602 | 10 | $12,030 | 4.0% |
| Nixa Public Schools | 6,792 | 11 | $11,343 | 7.2% |
| Ritenour | 6,579 | 10 | $13,034 | 21.5% |
| Troy R-III | 6,510 | 12 | $13,000 | 7.8% |
| Raymore-Peculiar R-II | 6,332 | 12 | $12,941 | 6.0% |
| Pattonville R-III | 6,201 | 11 | $16,881 | 11.5% |
| Waynesville R-VI | 6,190 | 11 | $12,673 | 12.6% |
| Kirkwood R-VII | 5,982 | 9 | $15,021 | 2.7% |
| Ozark R-VI | 5,959 | 8 | $11,695 | 8.5% |
| Northwest R-I | 5,815 | 10 | $12,165 | 11.5% |
| Jackson R-II | 5,748 | 8 | $10,350 | 7.3% |
| Republic R-III | 5,318 | 8 | $11,161 | 6.8% |
| Sedalia 200 | 5,209 | 9 | $12,113 | 22.7% |
| Riverview Gardens | 5,116 | 13 | $15,972 | 36.0% |
| Carthage R-IX | 5,070 | 11 | $11,767 | 14.9% |
| Neosho School District | 4,998 | 10 | $10,881 | 16.9% |
| Poplar Bluff R-I | 4,899 | 10 | $11,725 | 26.0% |
| St. Charles R-VI | 4,732 | 12 | $19,064 | 10.8% |
| Fort Osage R-I | 4,718 | 11 | $13,905 | 12.9% |
| Branson R-IV | 4,653 | 7 | $12,157 | 19.7% |
| Ladue | 4,624 | 8 | $15,693 | 3.5% |
| Webb City R-VII | 4,623 | 11 | $10,561 | 12.1% |
| Willard R-II | 4,578 | 9 | $11,298 | 7.5% |
| Grain Valley R-V | 4,546 | 8 | $12,329 | 5.1% |
| Grandview R-II | 4,501 | 4 | $2,833 | 12.1% |
| Hickman Mills C-1 | 4,472 | 14 | $18,664 | 24.0% |
| Lebanon R-III | 4,410 | 8 | $12,450 | 16.5% |
| Platte Co. R-III | 4,374 | 8 | $13,848 | 5.8% |
| Webster Groves | 4,312 | 9 | $14,635 | 2.9% |
| Cape Girardeau 63 | 4,310 | 9 | $12,839 | 16.4% |
| Belton 124 | 4,230 | 8 | $14,795 | 10.7% |
| Rolla 31 | 4,161 | 8 | $12,238 | 14.6% |
| Farmington R-VII | 3,937 | 8 | $11,200 | 12.5% |
| Camdenton R-III | 3,835 | 9 | $13,406 | 13.2% |
| Grandview C-4 | 3,665 | 9 | $16,510 | 16.1% |
| McDonald Co. R-I | 3,595 | 10 | $11,514 | 20.6% |
| Specl. SCH. DST. St. Louis Co. | 3,576 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Warrensburg R-VI | 3,558 | 8 | $12,105 | 11.6% |
| Washington | 3,543 | 11 | $15,106 | 5.2% |
| Festus R-VI | 3,495 | 5 | $10,685 | 11.4% |
| Kearney R-I | 3,424 | 9 | $13,307 | 3.7% |
| Hannibal 60 | 3,366 | 9 | $13,236 | 15.2% |
| Carl Junction R-I | 3,331 | 6 | $10,275 | 10.1% |
| Sikeston R-6 | 3,277 | 8 | $12,599 | 19.3% |
| Union R-XI | 3,120 | 5 | $11,953 | 9.7% |
| Hillsboro R-III | 3,117 | 6 | $11,309 | 10.2% |
| Marshfield R-I | 3,045 | 6 | $10,495 | 15.2% |
| Warren Co. R-III | 2,981 | 6 | $11,995 | 10.6% |
| Meramec Valley R-III | 2,930 | 8 | $13,052 | 10.2% |
| Windsor C-1 | 2,894 | 5 | $10,901 | 8.7% |
| University City | 2,853 | 7 | $19,322 | 13.8% |
| Sturgeon R-V | 2,773 | 4 | $2,504 | 22.4% |
| Bolivar R-I | 2,725 | 5 | $12,658 | 14.3% |
| Excelsior Springs 40 | 2,661 | 8 | $13,277 | 10.4% |
| West Plains R-VII | 2,626 | 5 | $11,111 | 22.9% |
| Affton 101 | 2,619 | 4 | $13,406 | 9.0% |
| North St. Francois Co. R-I | 2,581 | 6 | $11,288 | 15.7% |
| Smithville R-II | 2,514 | 5 | $13,410 | 4.1% |
| Marshall | 2,498 | 8 | $11,994 | 19.3% |
| Desoto 73 | 2,464 | 5 | $13,053 | 14.2% |
| Confluence Academies | 2,460 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Normandy Schools Collaborative | 2,440 | 7 | $16,947 | 33.7% |
| Logan-Rogersville R-VIII | 2,402 | 5 | $12,301 | 9.7% |
| Savannah R-III | 2,390 | 7 | $11,634 | 8.2% |
| Kirksville R-III | 2,374 | 5 | $12,724 | 16.7% |
| Mexico 59 | 2,374 | 6 | $11,925 | 14.1% |
| Monett R-I | 2,374 | 6 | $13,877 | 14.0% |
| Clayton | 2,367 | 6 | $24,787 | 3.6% |
| Center 58 | 2,339 | 8 | $17,930 | 16.8% |
| Fulton 58 | 2,281 | 6 | $11,313 | 17.1% |
| Jennings | 2,269 | 7 | $13,239 | 35.1% |
| Orchard Farm R-V | 2,241 | 6 | $14,227 | 8.6% |
| Harrisonville R-IX | 2,187 | 7 | $13,100 | 8.8% |
| Potosi R-III | 2,110 | 4 | $11,396 | 22.3% |
| Perry Co. 32 | 2,103 | 5 | $12,165 | 12.8% |
| Moberly | 2,102 | 8 | $13,820 | 17.8% |
| Pleasant Hill R-III | 2,080 | 5 | $11,785 | 5.3% |
| Kipp St Louis Public Schools | 2,069 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| St. Clair R-Xiii | 2,062 | 5 | $13,967 | 13.7% |
| Central R-III | 2,041 | 4 | $11,550 | 15.6% |
| Odessa R-VII | 2,039 | 4 | $11,645 | 10.8% |
| Eldon R-I | 2,038 | 5 | $11,077 | 15.0% |
| Dexter R-XI | 2,008 | 5 | $10,264 | 18.2% |
| Knob Noster R-VIII | 2,007 | 4 | $12,235 | 11.3% |
| School of the Osage | 2,006 | 5 | $12,679 | 15.1% |
| Southern Boone Co. R-I | 1,971 | 4 | $11,087 | 4.1% |
| Sullivan | 1,941 | 4 | $11,821 | 16.0% |
| Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II | 1,926 | 4 | $14,793 | 9.9% |
| Clinton | 1,885 | 6 | $12,205 | 17.7% |
| Fredericktown R-I | 1,883 | 4 | $12,127 | 14.9% |
| Wright City R-II of Warren Co. | 1,875 | 5 | $13,404 | 8.6% |
| Oak Grove R-VI | 1,853 | 4 | $11,473 | 8.8% |
| Aurora R-VIII | 1,843 | 4 | $11,327 | 15.4% |
| Cassville R-IV | 1,821 | 4 | $11,103 | 21.5% |
| Laquey R-V | 1,818 | 4 | $5,626 | 18.7% |
| Kennett 39 | 1,807 | 7 | $11,622 | 39.2% |
| Bayless | 1,805 | 3 | $11,914 | 16.8% |
| Nevada R-V | 1,777 | 6 | $11,509 | 18.7% |
| Gasconade Co. R-II | 1,771 | 4 | $10,380 | 13.8% |
| Reeds Spring R-IV | 1,718 | 7 | $15,807 | 22.6% |
| Dunklin R-V | 1,697 | 4 | $14,464 | 12.8% |
| Gateway Science Acad/St Louis | 1,666 | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Boonville R-I | 1,662 | 6 | $11,639 | 13.7% |
| Guadalupe Centers Schools | 1,614 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cameron R-I | 1,601 | 4 | $12,890 | 13.4% |
| Frontier Schools | 1,587 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Winfield R-IV | 1,577 | 4 | $12,166 | 10.6% |
| Dallas Co. R-I | 1,576 | 5 | $13,073 | 19.3% |
| St. James R-I | 1,559 | 3 | $12,764 | 12.6% |
| Hallsville R-IV | 1,552 | 4 | $10,359 | 8.7% |
| Mountain Grove R-III | 1,543 | 5 | $10,607 | 19.7% |
| Richmond R-Xvi | 1,543 | 4 | $11,844 | 13.5% |
| Mt. Vernon R-V | 1,542 | 5 | $10,969 | 13.2% |
| Maplewood-Richmond Heights | 1,523 | 4 | $17,256 | 8.6% |
| Doniphan R-I | 1,499 | 5 | $11,637 | 30.7% |
| Seneca R-VII | 1,487 | 5 | $10,854 | 14.9% |
| East Newton Co. R-VI | 1,459 | 3 | $9,905 | 21.5% |
| Salem R-80 | 1,452 | 4 | $9,875 | 19.8% |
| Academie Lafayette | 1,425 | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Maryville R-II | 1,408 | 5 | $13,750 | 8.4% |
| Strafford R-VI | 1,408 | 4 | $16,574 | 8.2% |
| Hollister R-V | 1,369 | 4 | $14,137 | 15.8% |
| Centralia R-VI | 1,343 | 4 | $11,154 | 9.9% |
| Moniteau Co. R-I | 1,337 | 3 | $10,987 | 13.6% |
| Ava R-I | 1,330 | 3 | $11,001 | 22.0% |
| Fair Grove R-X | 1,296 | 3 | $9,406 | 5.7% |
| Forsyth R-III | 1,295 | 4 | $13,277 | 19.6% |
| Hancock Place | 1,282 | 3 | $16,326 | 22.8% |
| Clever R-V | 1,268 | 2 | $10,846 | 6.9% |
| Morgan Co. R-II | 1,263 | 4 | $11,872 | 19.7% |
| New Madrid Co. R-I | 1,259 | 6 | $16,596 | 22.4% |
| Bowling Green R-I | 1,243 | 5 | $13,020 | 20.2% |
| Warsaw R-IX | 1,241 | 4 | $11,771 | 21.2% |
| Holden R-III | 1,232 | 3 | $12,709 | 13.3% |
| Mountain View-Birch Tree R-III | 1,184 | 4 | $11,604 | 27.7% |
| Crawford Co. R-II | 1,180 | 3 | $11,140 | 20.6% |
| Macon Co. R-I | 1,174 | 5 | $12,487 | 14.2% |
| Willow Springs R-IV | 1,171 | 3 | $12,655 | 20.1% |
| Blair Oaks R-II | 1,163 | 4 | $11,600 | 2.6% |
| Lamar R-I | 1,158 | 6 | $13,256 | 16.6% |
| El Dorado Springs R-II | 1,151 | 3 | $12,748 | 24.3% |
| Lawson R-Xiv | 1,143 | 3 | $11,632 | 6.9% |
| Palmyra R-I | 1,126 | 3 | $11,067 | 8.3% |
| University Academy | 1,111 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Montgomery Co. R-II | 1,075 | 4 | $12,908 | 13.6% |
| Clark Co. R-I | 1,074 | 5 | $12,108 | 19.8% |
| Kipp: Endeavor Academy | 1,047 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Houston R-I | 1,040 | 4 | $12,981 | 20.3% |
| Jefferson Co. R-VII | 1,036 | 5 | $12,978 | 7.2% |
| Crossroads Charter Schools | 1,003 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| East Prairie R-II | 1,003 | 3 | $10,738 | 21.5% |
| Arcadia Valley R-II | 974 | 4 | $14,093 | 25.5% |
| Premier Charter School | 974 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| North Callaway Co. R-I | 972 | 4 | $12,239 | 12.7% |
| Butler R-V | 971 | 3 | $10,929 | 18.7% |
| Trenton R-IX | 967 | 3 | $12,697 | 23.8% |
| Ewing Marion Kauffman School | 961 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lafayette Co. C-1 | 961 | 3 | $14,408 | 11.9% |
| West St. Francois Co. R-IV | 935 | 3 | $12,073 | 16.5% |
| Stockton R-I | 929 | 4 | $11,503 | 22.1% |
| Brookfield R-III | 923 | 4 | $13,114 | 19.4% |
| Caruthersville 18 | 918 | 3 | $12,310 | 35.7% |
| Chillicothe R-II | 917 | 4 | $12,595 | 15.9% |
| Lewis Co. C-1 | 908 | 2 | $12,542 | 13.3% |
| Steelville R-III | 908 | 3 | $11,687 | 17.1% |
| Scott Co. R-IV | 902 | 3 | $11,980 | 11.1% |
| Lexington R-V | 893 | 4 | $13,861 | 16.6% |
| Mid-Buchanan Co. R-V | 891 | 2 | $11,261 | 4.4% |
| Lathrop R-II | 871 | 3 | $12,696 | 10.0% |
| Woodland R-IV | 871 | 3 | $11,509 | 22.6% |
| Lift for Life Academy | 865 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Clearwater R-I | 858 | 3 | $11,790 | 28.4% |
| Dixon R-I | 851 | 3 | $10,885 | 21.8% |
| Brentwood | 847 | 5 | $22,085 | 3.5% |
| Hogan Preparatory Academy | 843 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Carrollton R-VII | 839 | 4 | $13,523 | 15.9% |
| Kingston K-14 | 831 | 4 | $12,695 | 20.6% |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in Missouri?
- Springfield R-XII (24,285 students), North Kansas City 74 (21,252 students), Rockwood R-VI (19,597 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does Missouri spend per student?
- Districts in Missouri that report finance data spent an average of $13,963 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026