Skip to content

Checked

North Carolina School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
358
Students
1,548,672
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$13,045
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Wake County Schools
163,176 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Largest 200 districts

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Wake County Schools163,176198$12,2799.5%
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools145,014186$13,06513.9%
Guilford County Schools67,620120$14,30717.7%
Winston Salem / Forsyth County Schools51,74581$13,47715.4%
Cumberland County Schools49,00286$12,14521.5%
Union County Public Schools41,27252$11,3388.6%
Johnston County Public Schools37,32048$12,42012.5%
Cabarrus County Schools35,26443$11,0268.4%
Durham Public Schools31,79757$15,85114.7%
Gaston County Schools30,99556$11,84814.1%
Onslow County Schools27,39739$12,02915.0%
New Hanover County Schools24,79142$14,04212.9%
Pitt County Schools24,47040$12,82618.4%
Alamance-Burlington Schools22,66138$11,81818.4%
Buncombe County Schools22,45245$13,82814.1%
Iredell-Statesville Schools21,01738$12,07011.3%
Public Schools of Robeson County20,85637$13,04329.0%
Harnett County Schools20,09529$10,91613.4%
Davidson County Schools17,93635$11,05011.2%
Rowan-Salisbury Schools17,68332$13,42718.6%
Wayne County Public Schools17,15033$11,93328.3%
Catawba County Schools16,00328$11,77715.6%
Randolph County School System14,99432$11,76714.1%
Cleveland County Schools14,50428$12,56518.7%
Brunswick County Schools13,56120$13,56315.1%
Nash County Public Schools13,17823$12,33918.3%
Moore County Schools13,08523$11,76312.6%
Henderson County Schools12,61923$12,05113.6%
Craven County Board of Education12,15226$12,67216.1%
Lincoln County Schools11,71023$11,39211.7%
Burke County Schools11,66727$12,53923.0%
Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools11,35320$17,8806.9%
Rockingham County Schools11,11423$12,85421.1%
Pender County Schools11,07319$12,36011.7%
Caldwell County Schools10,66725$12,42516.6%
Wilson County Schools10,45125$14,28827.2%
Duplin County Schools9,82213$11,80727.9%
Lee County Schools9,16816$13,00318.2%
Chatham County Schools8,98721$14,1879.9%
Stanly County Schools8,74323$11,48115.4%
Hoke County Schools8,73214$11,68522.4%
Wilkes County Schools8,54722$12,81120.3%
Lenoir County Public Schools8,33117$13,05526.1%
Sampson County Schools7,98618$12,79224.9%
Franklin County Schools7,97816$12,78514.9%
Carteret County Public Schools7,84717$13,75110.8%
Rutherford County Schools7,39418$13,85919.0%
Surry County Schools7,31820$12,46324.2%
Orange County Schools6,98213$14,8298.9%
Richmond County Schools6,50415$13,22127.2%
Haywood County Schools6,47615$13,05317.9%
Granville County Schools6,40216$14,02516.7%
Edgecombe County Public Schools6,31019$15,14528.3%
Davie County Schools6,11613$12,27610.4%
Mooresville Graded School District5,9179$13,52210.3%
McDowell County Schools5,61315$13,41218.6%
Beaufort County Schools5,60113$13,41624.4%
Stokes County Schools5,55317$13,75214.1%
Columbus County Schools5,44012$13,51624.1%
Scotland County Schools5,41610$14,92833.1%
Kannapolis City Schools5,3779$12,56517.7%
Vance County Schools5,20516$14,62326.1%
Yadkin County Schools5,17414$12,53019.0%
Dare County Schools4,96811$15,07210.7%
Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools4,76012$15,87820.6%
Watauga County Schools4,65811$13,32211.1%
Currituck County Schools4,60110$12,6109.7%
Macon County Schools4,46912$13,32417.8%
Asheboro City Schools4,4058$13,67619.3%
Person County Schools4,36111$14,56318.2%
Alexander County Schools4,34411$13,66114.8%
Asheville City Schools3,9608$17,95813.8%
Bladen County Schools3,92812$16,46027.5%
Pine Springs Preparatory Academy3,8102Not reportedNot reported
Hickory City Schools3,7359$12,09319.8%
Montgomery County Schools3,58711$14,28622.1%
NC Virtual Academy3,4821Not reportedNot reported
Jackson County Public Schools3,4449$14,41116.9%
Transylvania County Schools3,2059$15,29115.5%
Clinton City Schools3,0155$12,68225.5%
Cherokee County Schools2,99213$14,34724.1%
Lexington City Schools2,9537$13,42823.8%
Anson County Schools2,9249$16,83827.5%
Roanoke Rapids City Schools2,7445$12,96722.0%
Greene County Schools2,6996$16,98823.4%
Ashe County Schools2,6766$15,47124.9%
Newton Conover City Schools2,6547$13,21719.4%
Martin County Schools2,6478$16,33527.6%
Wake Preparatory Academy2,6171Not reportedNot reported
North Carolina Cyber Academy2,4611Not reportedNot reported
Hertford County Schools2,3677$16,12227.4%
Lincoln Charter School2,3161Not reportedNot reported
Uwharrie Charter Academy2,2572Not reportedNot reported
Lake Norman Charter2,2221Not reportedNot reported
Union Academy Charter School2,1861Not reportedNot reported
Halifax County Schools2,15011$18,30324.9%
Thomasville City Schools2,1494$14,29625.4%
Polk County Schools2,1107$16,03317.3%
Caswell County Schools2,0986$14,04023.6%
American Leadership Academy - Johnston2,0821Not reportedNot reported
Madison County Schools2,0637$14,81517.8%
Whiteville City Schools2,0425$14,70226.8%
Piedmont Community Charter1,9631Not reportedNot reported
Yancey County Schools1,9506$14,13819.0%
Camden County Schools1,9185$12,9356.7%
Triangle Math and Science Academy1,9041Not reportedNot reported
Pine Lake Preparatory1,8881Not reportedNot reported
Swain County Schools1,8726$14,84014.5%
Mount Airy City Schools1,7864$14,01028.0%
Perquimans County Schools1,7864$14,41021.6%
Avery County Schools1,7828$15,85518.2%
Mountain Island Charter1,7821Not reportedNot reported
Edenton-Chowan Schools1,7674$14,38523.4%
Mitchell County Schools1,7386$15,35518.1%
Bertie County Schools1,7086$18,25722.2%
Franklin Academy1,6601Not reportedNot reported
Community School of Davidson1,6311Not reportedNot reported
Sugar Creek Charter1,5911Not reportedNot reported
Phoenix Academy Inc1,5831Not reportedNot reported
Bradford Preparatory School1,5661Not reportedNot reported
Warren County Schools1,5476$19,49728.1%
Gates County Schools1,4105$15,76816.1%
Corvian Community School1,3761Not reportedNot reported
Langtree Charter Academy1,3761Not reportedNot reported
Triad Math and Science Academy1,3741Not reportedNot reported
Voyager Academy1,3601Not reportedNot reported
Alleghany County Schools1,3524$15,55422.9%
Cornerstone Charter Academy1,3431Not reportedNot reported
Queen's Grant Community School1,3351Not reportedNot reported
Henderson Collegiate1,3341Not reportedNot reported
Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy1,3301Not reportedNot reported
Clay County Schools1,3224$14,90717.4%
Bonnie Cone Leadership Academy1,2691Not reportedNot reported
Union Preparatory Academy at Indian Trai1,2681Not reportedNot reported
Elkin City Schools1,2673$13,49221.5%
East Wake Academy1,2651Not reportedNot reported
Northampton County Schools1,2516$20,23033.1%
Invest Collegiate - Imagine1,2391Not reportedNot reported
Sallie B Howard School1,2281Not reportedNot reported
NC Leadership Charter Academy1,2091Not reportedNot reported
Pinnacle Classical Academy1,1781Not reportedNot reported
KIPP Pride College Preparatory1,1431Not reportedNot reported
Pamlico County Schools1,1304$18,23523.5%
North East Carolina Preparatory School1,1072Not reportedNot reported
Falls Lake Academy1,1051Not reportedNot reported
Graham County Schools1,0963$17,27822.6%
The Math and Science Academy of Apex1,0801Not reportedNot reported
Socrates Academy1,0391Not reportedNot reported
Excelsior Classical Academy1,0321Not reportedNot reported
Washington County Schools1,0243$18,42331.6%
Jones County Schools1,0165$17,54826.8%
Durham Charter School1,0101Not reportedNot reported
American Leadership Academy-Coastal1,0021Not reportedNot reported
Clover Garden9631Not reportedNot reported
Mallard Creek STEM Academy9611Not reportedNot reported
Alpha Academy9601Not reportedNot reported
Vance Charter School9561Not reportedNot reported
Faith Academy9381Not reportedNot reported
Classical Charter Schools of Leland9351Not reportedNot reported
Unity Classical Charter School9281Not reportedNot reported
Neuse Charter School9251Not reportedNot reported
The College Preparatory and Leadership A8901Not reportedNot reported
Revolution Academy8861Not reportedNot reported
Sandhills Theatre Arts Renaiss8851Not reportedNot reported
Southwest Charlotte STEM Academy8841Not reportedNot reported
Jackson Day School8821Not reportedNot reported
Oxford Preparatory School8691Not reportedNot reported
Community Charter School8581Not reportedNot reported
Concord Lake STEAM Academy8561Not reportedNot reported
Rocky Mount Preparatory8541Not reportedNot reported
The Capitol Encore Academy8531Not reportedNot reported
Classical Charter Schools of Whiteville8421Not reportedNot reported
Eno River Academy8281Not reportedNot reported
American Renaissance School8231Not reportedNot reported
KIPP: Charlotte8131Not reportedNot reported
Charlotte Lab School8071Not reportedNot reported
Endeavor Charter7991Not reportedNot reported
Iredell Charter Academy of Arts & Scienc7951Not reportedNot reported
Carolina Charter Academy7821Not reportedNot reported
River Mill Academy7801Not reportedNot reported
Greensboro Academy7771Not reportedNot reported
Quality Education Academy7761Not reportedNot reported
Summerfield Charter Academy7741Not reportedNot reported
Matthews Charter Academy7711Not reportedNot reported
Wayne Preparatory7651Not reportedNot reported
FernLeaf Community Charter School7631Not reportedNot reported
NE Academy for Aerospace & AdvTech7601Not reportedNot reported
The Math and Science Academy of Charlott7601Not reportedNot reported
Envision Science Academy7591Not reportedNot reported
Casa Esperanza Montessori7521Not reportedNot reported
Summit Creek Academy7491Not reportedNot reported
Carolina International School7441Not reportedNot reported
Alamance Community School7361Not reportedNot reported
Forsyth Academy7291Not reportedNot reported
Gray Stone Day School7281Not reportedNot reported
Roxboro Community School7271Not reportedNot reported
Wilson Preparatory Academy7251Not reportedNot reported
The Franklin School of Innovation7171Not reportedNot reported
Rolesville Charter Academy7161Not reportedNot reported
Gate City Charter Academy7151Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in North Carolina?
Wake County Schools (163,176 students), Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (145,014 students), Guilford County Schools (67,620 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does North Carolina spend per student?
Districts in North Carolina that report finance data spent an average of $13,045 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: