Checked
North Dakota School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 220
- Students
- 119,656
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $16,610
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Bismarck 1
- 14,086 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Districts by enrollment
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bismarck 1 | 14,086 | 29 | $15,100 | 6.8% |
| West Fargo 6 | 13,175 | 26 | $14,624 | 10.1% |
| Fargo 1 | 11,443 | 26 | $18,846 | 11.9% |
| Grand Forks 1 | 7,811 | 18 | $16,878 | 10.6% |
| Minot 1 | 7,668 | 21 | $15,808 | 10.5% |
| Williston Basin 7 | 5,413 | 11 | $14,990 | 10.0% |
| Mandan 1 | 4,451 | 12 | $14,589 | 10.7% |
| Dickinson 1 | 4,177 | 12 | $15,709 | 10.5% |
| McKenzie Co 1 | 2,349 | 7 | $15,581 | 7.2% |
| Jamestown 1 | 2,032 | 7 | $15,470 | 10.2% |
| Devils Lake 1 | 1,786 | 5 | $15,334 | 15.4% |
| Belcourt 7 | 1,518 | 4 | $29,052 | 27.0% |
| Wahpeton 37 | 1,221 | 4 | $14,328 | 11.2% |
| Central Cass 17 | 1,026 | 3 | $12,630 | 3.9% |
| Grafton 18 | 953 | 3 | $12,077 | 15.5% |
| Valley City 2 | 943 | 4 | $14,816 | 8.4% |
| New Town 1 | 931 | 3 | $19,534 | 18.2% |
| Kindred 2 | 874 | 3 | $12,272 | 3.7% |
| Stanley 2 | 783 | 2 | $14,010 | 10.7% |
| Beulah 27 | 748 | 3 | $13,632 | 7.5% |
| Northern Cass 97 | 724 | 3 | $13,838 | 2.0% |
| United 7 | 709 | 2 | $13,556 | 6.7% |
| Thompson 61 | 679 | 2 | $10,539 | 2.1% |
| Bottineau 1 | 671 | 2 | $14,802 | 10.0% |
| Killdeer 16 | 607 | 2 | $17,558 | 10.2% |
| Carrington 49 | 601 | 2 | $13,250 | 9.1% |
| Lisbon 19 | 601 | 3 | $14,845 | 9.1% |
| Rugby 5 | 589 | 2 | $15,799 | 12.4% |
| Hazen 3 | 582 | 3 | $12,937 | 6.6% |
| South Prairie 70 | 566 | 2 | $12,708 | 4.5% |
| Nedrose 4 | 562 | 2 | $13,675 | 10.6% |
| Tioga 15 | 544 | 2 | $17,689 | 5.0% |
| May-Port CG 14 | 517 | 3 | $13,734 | 4.6% |
| Dunseith 1 | 514 | 2 | $26,681 | 29.2% |
| Bowman Co 1 | 508 | 4 | $15,953 | 12.0% |
| Hillsboro 9 | 494 | 3 | $15,120 | 8.5% |
| Oakes 41 | 475 | 2 | $12,585 | 11.5% |
| Park River Area 8 | 470 | 2 | $12,372 | 11.0% |
| St John 3 | 458 | 2 | $22,530 | 26.6% |
| Nesson 2 | 443 | 2 | $15,942 | 4.4% |
| Langdon Area 23 | 440 | 2 | $17,126 | 11.0% |
| Velva 1 | 439 | 2 | $14,854 | 11.3% |
| South Heart 9 | 437 | 2 | $14,432 | 5.0% |
| Surrey 41 | 436 | 2 | $13,900 | 6.8% |
| Larimore 44 | 416 | 2 | $14,150 | 8.1% |
| Lewis and Clark 161 | 410 | 6 | $18,955 | 5.5% |
| Garrison 51 | 396 | 2 | $15,852 | 6.5% |
| Kidder County 1 | 387 | 2 | $15,580 | 14.6% |
| Cavalier 6 | 385 | 4 | $13,662 | 7.2% |
| Divide County 1 | 382 | 2 | $19,986 | 14.5% |
| Harvey 38 | 381 | 2 | $17,038 | 15.9% |
| New Salem-Almont 49 | 377 | 2 | $16,317 | 10.2% |
| Washburn 4 | 376 | 2 | $15,027 | 6.3% |
| Tgu 60 | 353 | 6 | $19,369 | 13.9% |
| New Rockford-Sheyenne 2 | 349 | 2 | $13,402 | 15.4% |
| Northwood 129 | 337 | 2 | $15,519 | 5.9% |
| Richardton-Taylor 34 | 337 | 3 | $16,544 | 12.6% |
| North Border 100 | 332 | 4 | $19,855 | 11.2% |
| Eight Mile 6 | 319 | 2 | $17,659 | 6.5% |
| Richland 44 | 310 | 2 | $14,526 | 4.5% |
| Alexander 2 | 309 | 2 | $16,213 | 11.3% |
| Ellendale 40 | 305 | 5 | $15,191 | 17.7% |
| Mohall-Lansford-Sherwood 1 | 304 | 2 | $16,832 | 9.4% |
| Enderlin Area 24 | 302 | 3 | $16,139 | 14.1% |
| Minto 20 | 296 | 2 | $13,090 | 5.4% |
| Lamoure 8 | 295 | 3 | $17,747 | 11.7% |
| Hettinger 13 | 294 | 2 | $16,824 | 13.3% |
| Kenmare 28 | 291 | 2 | $18,025 | 5.8% |
| Dakota Prairie 1 | 288 | 2 | $20,837 | 16.2% |
| Griggs County Central 18 | 288 | 2 | $14,759 | 11.9% |
| North Star 10 | 284 | 2 | $14,077 | 9.4% |
| Wilton 1 | 283 | 2 | $14,447 | 6.4% |
| New England 9 | 280 | 4 | $15,583 | 13.7% |
| Parshall 3 | 280 | 2 | $20,511 | 8.9% |
| Beach 3 | 266 | 4 | $19,801 | 9.9% |
| Flasher 39 | 266 | 2 | $14,695 | 12.7% |
| Center-Stanton 1 | 265 | 2 | $15,885 | 13.4% |
| Edgeley 3 | 255 | 3 | $16,115 | 12.1% |
| Belfield 13 | 253 | 2 | $16,915 | 11.9% |
| Minnewaukan 5 | 253 | 2 | $35,617 | 40.0% |
| Glenburn 26 | 249 | 2 | $18,917 | 10.3% |
| Maple Valley 4 | 248 | 3 | $16,230 | 9.8% |
| Wishek 19 | 247 | 2 | $16,675 | 13.5% |
| Napoleon 2 | 246 | 2 | $16,403 | 14.8% |
| Linton 36 | 245 | 2 | $18,756 | 15.5% |
| Wyndmere 42 | 245 | 2 | $15,557 | 4.9% |
| Hankinson 8 | 244 | 2 | $16,193 | 8.9% |
| Mt Pleasant 4 | 244 | 2 | $20,226 | 21.5% |
| Mapleton 7 | 239 | 1 | $16,311 | 3.6% |
| Barnes County North 7 | 235 | 2 | $15,888 | 12.9% |
| Mott-Regent 1 | 225 | 2 | $17,152 | 16.3% |
| Powers Lake 27 | 221 | 2 | $18,022 | 5.6% |
| Valley-Edinburg 118 | 221 | 3 | $18,038 | 9.6% |
| Milnor 2 | 214 | 4 | $20,907 | 8.7% |
| Solen 3 | 214 | 2 | $24,393 | 44.5% |
| Central Valley 3 | 210 | 2 | $15,559 | 5.9% |
| Medina 3 | 206 | 2 | $17,653 | 14.3% |
| Lakota 66 | 205 | 2 | $17,663 | 8.0% |
| Mandaree 36 | 203 | 2 | $36,197 | 24.9% |
| Warwick 29 | 199 | 3 | $28,214 | 35.5% |
| Fessenden-Bowdon 25 | 196 | 2 | $16,533 | 7.7% |
| Midway 128 | 195 | 2 | $18,348 | 7.3% |
| North Sargent 3 | 195 | 2 | $18,824 | 10.2% |
| Manvel 125 | 192 | 1 | $13,459 | 6.1% |
| Underwood 8 | 189 | 2 | $18,259 | 16.1% |
| Sargent Central 6 | 188 | 2 | $22,328 | 10.8% |
| Drayton 19 | 182 | 2 | $22,994 | 3.3% |
| Turtle Lake-Mercer 72 | 182 | 2 | $17,125 | 13.2% |
| Yellowstone 14 | 181 | 2 | $18,290 | 10.3% |
| Midkota 7 | 177 | 2 | $20,215 | 9.1% |
| Lidgerwood 28 | 176 | 2 | $17,650 | 14.1% |
| Ft Totten 30 | 175 | 2 | $25,724 | 38.6% |
| White Shield 85 | 174 | 2 | $17,234 | 18.9% |
| Elgin-New Leipzig 49 | 168 | 2 | $19,637 | 33.9% |
| Grenora 99 | 166 | 2 | $24,411 | 8.6% |
| Hope-Page 85 | 162 | 2 | $23,228 | 5.3% |
| Pingree-Buchanan 10 | 160 | 2 | $17,831 | 9.3% |
| Westhope 17 | 160 | 2 | $21,031 | 9.8% |
| Hatton Eielson 7 | 157 | 2 | $19,952 | 7.8% |
| Hebron 13 | 153 | 2 | $18,643 | 8.1% |
| Litchville-Marion 46 | 149 | 2 | $23,475 | 7.4% |
| Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock 6 | 144 | 2 | $21,097 | 14.8% |
| Max 50 | 135 | 2 | $21,042 | 14.9% |
| Scranton 33 | 135 | 2 | $19,671 | 9.4% |
| Glen Ullin 48 | 134 | 2 | $21,743 | 7.7% |
| Maddock 9 | 134 | 2 | $20,326 | 16.8% |
| Rolette 29 | 129 | 2 | $21,225 | 19.1% |
| Leeds 6 | 126 | 2 | $19,504 | 21.9% |
| Kulm 7 | 123 | 2 | $22,346 | 16.1% |
| Ashley 9 | 121 | 2 | $19,956 | 27.7% |
| McClusky-Goodrich 29 | 114 | 2 | $22,025 | 25.4% |
| Strasburg 15 | 107 | 2 | $22,652 | 12.2% |
| Montpelier 14 | 105 | 2 | $18,500 | 11.3% |
| Billings Co 1 | 101 | 2 | $27,819 | 8.1% |
| Emerado 127 | 101 | 1 | $17,037 | 10.3% |
| Finley-Sharon 19 | 101 | 2 | $28,259 | 6.6% |
| Gackle-Streeter 56 | 100 | 2 | $24,455 | 20.5% |
| Fairmount 18 | 99 | 2 | $22,167 | 12.0% |
| Burke Central 36 | 95 | 2 | $27,112 | 10.6% |
| Sawyer 16 | 94 | 2 | $30,329 | 1.6% |
| Munich 19 | 93 | 2 | $26,903 | 15.1% |
| Bowbells 14 | 92 | 2 | $23,856 | 11.6% |
| Newburg-United 54 | 81 | 2 | $28,648 | 9.5% |
| Apple Creek 39 | 78 | 1 | $13,077 | 0.4% |
| Drake 57 | 75 | 1 | $25,753 | 17.2% |
| Selfridge 8 | 75 | 2 | $61,345 | 43.1% |
| Anamoose 14 | 73 | 1 | $25,014 | 16.4% |
| Roosevelt 18 | 62 | 1 | $25,193 | 20.0% |
| Wing 28 | 62 | 2 | $27,254 | 6.5% |
| Ft Yates 4 | 56 | 2 | $79,548 | 31.9% |
| Twin Buttes 37 | 55 | 1 | $37,600 | 23.5% |
| Starkweather 44 | 54 | 2 | Not reported | 16.0% |
| Oberon 16 | 52 | 1 | $39,625 | 15.2% |
| Fordville-Lankin 5 | 50 | 2 | $25,964 | 3.3% |
| Menoken 33 | 50 | 1 | $15,327 | 8.2% |
| Lone Tree 6 | 36 | 1 | Not reported | 6.4% |
| Kensal 19 | 28 | 2 | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Sweet Briar 17 | 28 | 1 | Not reported | 11.8% |
| Zeeland 4 | 27 | 2 | Not reported | 16.2% |
| Little Heart 4 | 25 | 1 | Not reported | 11.5% |
| Sterling 35 | 21 | 1 | Not reported | 14.4% |
| Marmot Schools | 20 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Naughton 25 | 16 | 1 | Not reported | 0.0% |
| ND School for the Deaf | 16 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ft Ransom 6 | 12 | 1 | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Manning 45 | 12 | 1 | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Horse Creek 32 | 11 | 1 | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Marmarth 12 | 3 | 1 | Not reported | 36.4% |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in North Dakota?
- Bismarck 1 (14,086 students), West Fargo 6 (13,175 students), Fargo 1 (11,443 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does North Dakota spend per student?
- Districts in North Dakota that report finance data spent an average of $16,610 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: