Checked
Ohio School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 1,137
- Students
- 1,659,790
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $16,609
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Columbus City Schools District
- 46,249 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Largest 200 districts
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbus City Schools District | 46,249 | 116 | $22,456 | 25.4% |
| Cincinnati Public Schools | 33,797 | 66 | $20,236 | 27.1% |
| Cleveland Municipal | 33,065 | 93 | $24,642 | 37.9% |
| Olentangy Local | 24,133 | 29 | $15,172 | 2.6% |
| South-Western City | 21,873 | 34 | $15,011 | 16.8% |
| Toledo City | 21,181 | 57 | $21,943 | 30.4% |
| Akron City | 19,873 | 45 | $22,438 | 30.8% |
| Lakota Local | 17,853 | 22 | $12,774 | 8.2% |
| Dublin City | 16,967 | 23 | $17,452 | 6.1% |
| Hilliard City | 16,298 | 24 | $15,449 | 8.5% |
| Ohio Virtual Academy | 15,339 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Westerville City | 14,589 | 24 | $15,685 | 10.3% |
| Dayton City | 12,118 | 28 | $20,963 | 32.9% |
| Pickerington Local | 11,729 | 16 | $13,832 | 7.2% |
| Worthington City | 10,874 | 19 | $15,951 | 6.3% |
| Mason City | 10,155 | 4 | $14,082 | 5.3% |
| Fairfield City | 9,591 | 10 | $12,264 | 13.3% |
| Hamilton City | 9,014 | 12 | $14,199 | 24.0% |
| Parma City | 8,703 | 13 | $17,856 | 15.6% |
| Gahanna-Jefferson City | 8,290 | 13 | $14,910 | 7.7% |
| Northwest Local | 8,260 | 12 | $13,806 | 13.7% |
| Centerville City | 8,250 | 12 | $15,512 | 6.3% |
| Beavercreek City | 8,099 | 11 | $13,621 | 4.7% |
| Sylvania Schools | 7,699 | 13 | $14,069 | 8.0% |
| West Clermont Local | 7,641 | 9 | $13,304 | 8.5% |
| Kettering City School District | 7,635 | 13 | $16,522 | 11.8% |
| Canton City | 7,478 | 17 | $20,727 | 38.4% |
| Oak Hills Local | 7,381 | 10 | $13,105 | 8.1% |
| Springfield City School District | 7,288 | 17 | $16,946 | 26.6% |
| Reynoldsburg City | 7,130 | 10 | $14,322 | 15.2% |
| Mentor Exempted Village | 6,896 | 13 | $16,813 | 5.4% |
| Willoughby-Eastlake City | 6,861 | 13 | $15,733 | 10.0% |
| Forest Hills Local | 6,827 | 9 | $13,957 | 4.2% |
| Upper Arlington City | 6,669 | 10 | $17,952 | 2.2% |
| Washington Local | 6,661 | 11 | $14,912 | 17.5% |
| Groveport Madison Local | 6,295 | 11 | $15,553 | 18.9% |
| Alternative Education Academy | 6,276 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Springboro Community City | 6,194 | 6 | $10,643 | 3.0% |
| Lorain City | 6,150 | 16 | $23,327 | 30.5% |
| Sycamore Community City | 6,051 | 7 | $16,282 | 5.3% |
| Lancaster City | 6,036 | 10 | $15,066 | 13.2% |
| Milford Exempted Village | 5,961 | 10 | $13,986 | 5.0% |
| Middletown City | 5,946 | 10 | $15,222 | 29.1% |
| Brunswick City | 5,931 | 8 | $14,127 | 6.4% |
| Princeton City | 5,927 | 11 | $17,393 | 17.7% |
| Plain Local | 5,874 | 9 | $13,074 | 14.2% |
| Medina City SD | 5,867 | 10 | $15,291 | 5.0% |
| Huber Heights City | 5,815 | 9 | $13,943 | 16.0% |
| Newark City Schools | 5,789 | 13 | $15,691 | 16.5% |
| Marysville Exempted Village | 5,781 | 9 | $12,779 | 4.8% |
| Strongsville City | 5,757 | 9 | $15,774 | 6.7% |
| Jackson Local | 5,741 | 6 | $12,792 | 6.4% |
| Elyria City Schools | 5,702 | 10 | $16,756 | 22.7% |
| Findlay City | 5,694 | 11 | $13,631 | 13.4% |
| Little Miami Local | 5,672 | 5 | $12,371 | 5.2% |
| Delaware City | 5,650 | 7 | $14,070 | 7.1% |
| Perrysburg Exempted Village | 5,584 | 8 | $13,728 | 4.5% |
| Berea City | 5,331 | 5 | $15,792 | 11.7% |
| Licking Heights Local | 5,232 | 7 | $11,780 | 10.6% |
| Lebanon City | 5,202 | 5 | $13,415 | 8.0% |
| Ohio Connections Academy Inc | 5,191 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kings Local | 5,073 | 7 | $13,934 | 7.5% |
| Southwest Licking Local | 5,039 | 8 | $11,684 | 7.2% |
| Cleveland Heights-University Heights City | 5,019 | 10 | $25,025 | 18.9% |
| New Albany-Plain Local | 4,991 | 5 | $15,453 | 4.3% |
| Stow-Munroe Falls City School District | 4,926 | 9 | $14,744 | 6.5% |
| Miamisburg City | 4,865 | 11 | $14,121 | 12.8% |
| Warren City | 4,717 | 6 | $18,581 | 33.0% |
| Northmont City | 4,676 | 8 | $15,644 | 9.3% |
| Solon City | 4,594 | 7 | $18,361 | 5.2% |
| Teays Valley Local | 4,538 | 8 | $13,116 | 7.0% |
| North Ridgeville City | 4,486 | 5 | $12,360 | 5.1% |
| Hudson City | 4,468 | 5 | $18,359 | 2.3% |
| Euclid City | 4,464 | 8 | $21,285 | 27.3% |
| Lakewood City | 4,369 | 13 | $20,147 | 11.6% |
| Southwest Local | 4,340 | 6 | $12,512 | 9.5% |
| North Canton City | 4,334 | 4 | $13,549 | 7.0% |
| Avon Local | 4,303 | 5 | $12,272 | 4.3% |
| Big Walnut Local | 4,298 | 8 | $12,906 | 3.4% |
| Wadsworth City | 4,275 | 10 | $14,072 | 5.8% |
| Fairborn City | 4,265 | 5 | $14,324 | 16.9% |
| Mayfield City | 4,208 | 7 | $19,584 | 7.6% |
| Anthony Wayne Local | 4,135 | 6 | $13,122 | 3.9% |
| North Royalton City | 4,125 | 3 | $14,771 | 8.3% |
| Austintown Local Schools | 4,112 | 4 | $13,208 | 18.2% |
| Riverside Local | 4,112 | 6 | $13,728 | 5.5% |
| Massillon City | 4,077 | 7 | $14,483 | 23.7% |
| Perry Local | 4,062 | 7 | $13,144 | 11.7% |
| Loveland City | 4,041 | 6 | $14,425 | 5.8% |
| Marion City | 4,040 | 8 | $16,637 | 29.4% |
| Shaker Heights City | 4,008 | 7 | $26,296 | 10.0% |
| Youngstown City | 4,004 | 15 | $23,425 | 50.0% |
| Winton Woods City | 3,985 | 6 | $15,946 | 18.1% |
| Troy City | 3,929 | 9 | $14,086 | 10.5% |
| Green Local | 3,921 | 5 | $13,401 | 7.2% |
| Twinsburg City | 3,854 | 5 | $15,744 | 6.1% |
| Cuyahoga Falls City School District | 3,848 | 9 | $16,165 | 11.1% |
| Mad River Local | 3,756 | 9 | $14,782 | 17.0% |
| Canal Winchester Local | 3,706 | 4 | $15,101 | 10.9% |
| Brecksville-Broadview Heights City | 3,686 | 3 | $15,602 | 5.0% |
| Xenia Community City | 3,611 | 8 | $16,810 | 14.8% |
| North Olmsted City | 3,539 | 6 | $17,021 | 14.2% |
| Amherst Exempted Village | 3,533 | 4 | $12,704 | 6.9% |
| Boardman Local | 3,515 | 7 | $15,399 | 18.7% |
| Olmsted Falls City | 3,507 | 5 | $15,117 | 6.3% |
| Whitehall City | 3,472 | 5 | $14,862 | 23.8% |
| Barberton City | 3,448 | 6 | $16,425 | 23.0% |
| Adams County Ohio Valley Local | 3,435 | 7 | $16,313 | 20.1% |
| Avon Lake City | 3,434 | 7 | $15,340 | 3.1% |
| Nordonia Hills City | 3,405 | 7 | $18,039 | 5.1% |
| Mount Vernon City | 3,374 | 8 | $14,257 | 13.8% |
| Lima City | 3,370 | 9 | $19,189 | 32.9% |
| Logan-Hocking Local | 3,364 | 7 | $17,141 | 16.7% |
| Highland Local | 3,336 | 5 | $12,550 | 2.6% |
| Edgewood City School District | 3,332 | 5 | $12,647 | 12.0% |
| Oregon City | 3,318 | 6 | $16,471 | 9.8% |
| Lake Local | 3,301 | 3 | $13,144 | 6.5% |
| Hamilton Local | 3,268 | 5 | $12,863 | 15.7% |
| Fremont City | 3,247 | 6 | $14,795 | 21.6% |
| Kent City | 3,233 | 6 | $17,697 | 14.1% |
| Wooster City | 3,222 | 7 | $17,396 | 15.7% |
| Springfield Local | 3,214 | 7 | $15,459 | 13.1% |
| South Euclid-Lyndhurst City | 3,202 | 6 | $21,287 | 15.0% |
| Westlake City | 3,176 | 4 | $18,479 | 7.1% |
| West Carrollton City | 3,170 | 6 | $16,489 | 18.3% |
| Sidney City | 3,149 | 7 | $13,861 | 15.1% |
| Sandusky City | 3,105 | 5 | $18,284 | 34.4% |
| Piqua City | 3,069 | 5 | $15,648 | 16.6% |
| Zanesville City | 3,061 | 6 | $17,299 | 24.7% |
| Aurora City | 3,049 | 5 | $16,360 | 2.8% |
| Maple Heights City | 3,024 | 5 | $18,350 | 31.0% |
| Alliance City | 3,019 | 6 | $15,965 | 25.7% |
| Ashland City | 3,007 | 5 | $12,847 | 16.1% |
| Great Oaks Career Campuses | 2,999 | 5 | $24,157 | Not reported |
| Northeastern Local | 2,961 | 4 | $13,536 | 8.1% |
| Mansfield City | 2,953 | 6 | $22,303 | 29.3% |
| Monroe Local | 2,925 | 4 | $12,438 | 8.2% |
| Revere Local | 2,898 | 4 | $15,316 | 3.6% |
| Bedford City | 2,887 | 7 | $24,790 | 22.7% |
| Vandalia-Butler City | 2,880 | 6 | $14,360 | 9.3% |
| Talawanda City | 2,875 | 5 | $13,741 | 10.1% |
| Steubenville City | 2,841 | 6 | $11,806 | 35.4% |
| New Philadelphia City | 2,826 | 9 | $13,266 | 15.8% |
| Celina City | 2,815 | 6 | $13,185 | 11.7% |
| Wapakoneta City | 2,786 | 5 | $13,251 | 10.3% |
| Tri-Valley Local | 2,785 | 6 | $12,728 | 11.1% |
| Louisville City | 2,768 | 4 | $13,028 | 10.0% |
| Painesville City Local | 2,735 | 6 | $16,172 | 21.8% |
| Copley-Fairlawn City | 2,726 | 5 | $16,161 | 6.6% |
| Bellbrook-Sugarcreek Local | 2,725 | 4 | $12,756 | 5.2% |
| Mt Healthy City | 2,704 | 5 | $21,501 | 28.0% |
| Goshen Local | 2,695 | 4 | $15,427 | 9.4% |
| Dover City | 2,658 | 5 | $11,536 | 12.4% |
| Ashtabula Area City | 2,635 | 7 | $15,984 | 28.7% |
| Madison Local | 2,630 | 5 | $12,341 | 10.5% |
| Madison Local | 2,626 | 6 | $15,831 | 17.3% |
| Ross Local | 2,607 | 5 | $12,170 | 6.9% |
| Rocky River City | 2,606 | 5 | $17,955 | 5.2% |
| Western Brown Local | 2,604 | 4 | $14,720 | 20.3% |
| Franklin City | 2,602 | 6 | $17,008 | 14.9% |
| Chillicothe City | 2,589 | 5 | $15,085 | 19.6% |
| Garfield Heights City Schools | 2,581 | 5 | $20,492 | 28.0% |
| Midview Local | 2,574 | 7 | $15,465 | 11.7% |
| Tecumseh Local | 2,555 | 5 | $15,274 | 13.1% |
| Bowling Green City School District | 2,537 | 6 | $16,220 | 12.0% |
| Trotwood-Madison City | 2,529 | 6 | $20,178 | 31.8% |
| Kenston Local | 2,524 | 3 | $17,025 | 3.8% |
| Granville Exempted Village | 2,517 | 4 | $15,429 | 2.3% |
| Tallmadge City | 2,507 | 3 | $15,321 | 8.1% |
| Batavia Local | 2,505 | 3 | $12,826 | 11.5% |
| Miami Trace Local | 2,497 | 3 | $14,154 | 11.9% |
| Bexley City | 2,496 | 6 | $19,416 | 2.9% |
| Canfield Local | 2,453 | 4 | $12,852 | 5.4% |
| Norwalk City | 2,453 | 6 | $15,177 | 13.8% |
| Chardon Local | 2,451 | 5 | $17,317 | 5.6% |
| Tiffin City Schools | 2,420 | 6 | $14,244 | 15.0% |
| Jonathan Alder Local | 2,412 | 5 | $13,344 | 6.0% |
| Defiance City | 2,344 | 3 | $14,573 | 14.6% |
| Bay Village City | 2,331 | 5 | $17,697 | 2.6% |
| Cloverleaf Local | 2,330 | 3 | $16,476 | 7.8% |
| Tipp City Exempted Village | 2,323 | 4 | $14,048 | 4.8% |
| Buckeye Valley Local Schools | 2,298 | 4 | $17,078 | 4.1% |
| Bloom-Carroll Local | 2,294 | 4 | $12,317 | 4.4% |
| Howland Local | 2,283 | 5 | $14,936 | 11.9% |
| Athens City School District | 2,267 | 5 | $17,117 | 16.0% |
| Greenville City | 2,249 | 4 | $14,439 | 15.0% |
| Shawnee Local | 2,239 | 4 | $13,758 | 8.8% |
| Jackson City | 2,236 | 5 | $14,469 | 17.9% |
| Bellefontaine City | 2,229 | 4 | $14,078 | 15.6% |
| Indian Hill Exempted Village | 2,222 | 4 | $20,311 | 3.6% |
| Hillsboro City | 2,218 | 5 | $15,101 | 16.9% |
| Lexington Local | 2,210 | 6 | $13,319 | 8.3% |
| Norton City | 2,185 | 4 | $13,005 | 8.4% |
| TRECA Digital Academy | 2,165 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Northern Local | 2,162 | 5 | $12,291 | 10.8% |
| London City | 2,139 | 3 | $12,416 | 12.6% |
| Circleville City | 2,114 | 3 | $15,062 | 15.9% |
| Buckeye Local | 2,110 | 4 | $12,447 | 5.4% |
| Gallia County Local | 2,103 | 9 | $15,531 | 26.1% |
| Maumee City | 2,099 | 5 | $17,352 | 10.4% |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in Ohio?
- Columbus City Schools District (46,249 students), Cincinnati Public Schools (33,797 students), Cleveland Municipal (33,065 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does Ohio spend per student?
- Districts in Ohio that report finance data spent an average of $16,609 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: