Something wrong? Let us know
Checked
Rhode Island School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 67
- Students
- 133,879
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $23,945
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Providence
- 19,816 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Districts by enrollment
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Providence | 19,816 | 37 | $27,473 | 26.2% |
| Cranston | 9,861 | 23 | $19,030 | 11.9% |
| Pawtucket | 7,708 | 16 | $18,860 | 19.3% |
| Warwick | 7,688 | 19 | $23,605 | 8.0% |
| Woonsocket | 5,325 | 10 | $20,060 | 26.6% |
| East Providence | 5,136 | 12 | $19,621 | 12.1% |
| Cumberland | 4,845 | 9 | $16,007 | 5.6% |
| Coventry | 4,010 | 8 | $20,535 | 7.3% |
| North Kingstown | 3,748 | 8 | $20,981 | 6.1% |
| West Warwick | 3,423 | 6 | $21,258 | 14.0% |
| North Providence | 3,401 | 8 | $19,364 | 12.2% |
| Barrington | 3,267 | 6 | $19,531 | 3.4% |
| Lincoln | 3,255 | 6 | $19,441 | 8.5% |
| Achievement First Rhode Island | 3,200 | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Johnston | 3,136 | 8 | $20,838 | 12.2% |
| Chariho | 2,951 | 9 | $22,432 | 6.8% |
| Bristol Warren | 2,627 | 6 | $20,479 | 7.2% |
| Central Falls | 2,515 | 7 | $24,569 | 26.2% |
| East Greenwich | 2,476 | 6 | $19,522 | 3.0% |
| Smithfield | 2,348 | 5 | $19,498 | 5.3% |
| Blackstone Valley Prep A RI Mayoral Academy | 2,236 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| South Kingstown | 2,213 | 5 | $25,196 | 6.3% |
| Portsmouth | 2,114 | 4 | $21,031 | 4.2% |
| Westerly | 2,095 | 6 | $27,086 | 9.2% |
| Burrillville | 1,935 | 5 | $19,478 | 8.9% |
| Middletown | 1,819 | 5 | $21,127 | 7.1% |
| Newport | 1,755 | 4 | $28,912 | 16.7% |
| North Smithfield | 1,617 | 3 | $18,305 | 6.0% |
| Exeter-West Greenwich | 1,529 | 5 | $22,575 | 5.5% |
| Tiverton | 1,484 | 5 | $22,762 | 5.8% |
| Foster-Glocester | 1,265 | 2 | $21,493 | 6.3% |
| Scituate | 1,188 | 5 | $24,780 | 5.7% |
| Narragansett | 966 | 3 | $30,963 | 6.6% |
| Davies Career and Tech | 898 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| MET Career and Tech | 817 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Paul Cuffee Charter Sch | 790 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| RISE Prep Academies | 635 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Highlander | 609 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Learning Community | 569 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Glocester | 561 | 2 | $21,924 | 7.2% |
| Rhode Island Nurses Institute Middle College | 462 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Segue Institute for Learning | 414 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Jamestown | 396 | 2 | $25,995 | 3.1% |
| International Charter | 377 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Beacon Charter School | 361 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Blackstone Academy | 357 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| The Hope Academy | 320 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Excel Academy Rhode Island | 312 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Nuestro Mundo Public Charter | 292 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Kingston Hill Academy | 260 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Providence Preparatory Charter | 244 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foster | 241 | 1 | $27,580 | 9.6% |
| Trinity Academy for the Performing Arts | 234 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| The Compass School | 217 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Little Compton | 216 | 1 | $35,521 | 5.2% |
| Village Green Virtual | 203 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| The Greene School | 189 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sheila Skip Nowell Leadership Academy | 187 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Charette Charter | 168 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Urban Collaborative | 145 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| SouthSide Charter School | 135 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Shoreham | 126 | 1 | $46,714 | 3.0% |
| YouthBuild Preparatory Academy | 115 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| R.I. Sch for the Deaf | 77 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in Rhode Island?
- Providence (19,816 students), Cranston (9,861 students), Pawtucket (7,708 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does Rhode Island spend per student?
- Districts in Rhode Island that report finance data spent an average of $23,945 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: