Skip to content

Checked

South Carolina School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
94
Students
796,780
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$15,090
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Greenville 01
77,774 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Districts by enrollment

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Greenville 0177,77492$13,37612.0%
Charleston 0150,85683$18,19913.8%
Horry 0148,66257$14,34021.6%
Berkeley 0139,42346$13,37111.9%
Richland 0228,84132$14,93515.0%
Lexington 0127,07432$15,08510.6%
Charter Institute at Erskine26,01426Not reportedNot reported
Dorchester 0225,92825$12,54711.1%
Aiken 0122,91641$13,24122.4%
Richland 0121,81448$20,01224.2%
SC Public Charter School District21,38344Not reportedNot reported
Beaufort 0121,05032$17,35712.1%
York 0418,44520$13,6984.5%
Lexington 0517,05323$16,03610.4%
Pickens 0116,31324$12,47614.2%
York 0316,03425$15,60513.3%
Florence 0115,86124$14,21618.6%
Lancaster 0115,41723$13,29912.8%
Sumter 0113,87125$14,53121.8%
Anderson 0512,13119$14,62619.3%
Spartanburg 0211,80614$11,53314.7%
Spartanburg 0611,71414$15,36916.6%
Kershaw 0111,13517$12,80915.7%
Spartanburg 0511,06614$13,33111.5%
Anderson 0110,88614$11,92211.1%
Orangeburg10,08927$18,00926.4%
Oconee 019,97817$15,32031.6%
York 029,03810$14,7727.2%
Darlington 018,79319$17,95426.5%
Greenwood 508,47713$14,57821.4%
Lexington 028,46513$15,71321.2%
Georgetown 018,20819$16,91327.6%
Cherokee 017,52515$14,75720.4%
Limestone Charters Association7,38713Not reportedNot reported
Spartanburg 077,2559$19,71421.0%
Chesterfield 016,87216$14,09924.9%
Newberry 015,71414$15,69726.8%
Spartanburg 015,36410$13,21215.5%
Laurens 554,9849$15,53126.5%
York 014,9469$15,66814.1%
Colleton 014,5399$15,67026.2%
Chester 014,52312$16,61819.6%
Clarendon 064,21610Not reported23.7%
Dillon 043,6596$13,30532.1%
Marion 103,63310$17,66942.5%
Union 013,5427$13,93824.6%
Lexington 043,4747$15,02624.8%
Anderson 023,4047$14,23817.8%
Marlboro 013,3807$17,05332.1%
Barnwell3,12310$16,344Not reported
Anderson 043,0766$15,65414.5%
Edgefield 013,0698$17,01018.8%
Spartanburg 042,9614$12,85115.1%
Jasper 012,9014Not reported28.1%
Anderson 032,7725$14,22620.6%
Florence 032,7678$16,19325.9%
Spartanburg 032,7485$15,56017.2%
Abbeville 602,7469$14,90019.9%
Williamsburg 012,71610$20,57030.0%
Laurens 562,7076$16,37031.3%
Saluda 012,5255$12,94020.9%
Hampton2,2729$18,34227.9%
Dorchester 042,1105$19,42117.0%
Fairfield 012,1038$24,51324.5%
Lexington 031,9614$17,73219.2%
Bamberg 031,8176$19,37930.0%
Dillon 031,4923$11,28824.2%
Calhoun 011,4653$17,73720.7%
Greenwood 521,3594$14,63618.6%
Lee 011,2755$19,48031.4%
Florence 051,1433$15,17820.6%
Florence 021,1142$14,97418.9%
Greenwood 518883$15,50724.0%
Allendale 018553$22,42043.6%
McCormick 015233$28,61128.9%
Dept of Juvenile Justice4173Not reportedNot reported
Governor's School for Science and Mathematics2961Not reportedNot reported
Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities2351Not reportedNot reported
Dept Of Correction N0417212Not reportedNot reported
Deaf & Blind School1595Not reportedNot reported
SC Governor's School for Agriculture at John de la Howe Scho811Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in South Carolina?
Greenville 01 (77,774 students), Charleston 01 (50,856 students), Horry 01 (48,662 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does South Carolina spend per student?
Districts in South Carolina that report finance data spent an average of $15,090 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: