Checked
Texas School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 1,227
- Students
- 5,543,005
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $12,815
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Houston ISD
- 176,727 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Largest 200 districts
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Houston ISD | 176,727 | 274 | $13,950 | 27.0% |
| Dallas ISD | 139,802 | 239 | $15,160 | 18.8% |
| Cypress-Fairbanks ISD | 117,927 | 94 | $11,072 | 16.5% |
| Northside ISD | 100,208 | 128 | $12,126 | 13.1% |
| Katy ISD | 96,111 | 79 | $11,756 | 10.8% |
| Fort Bend ISD | 79,663 | 83 | $11,182 | 10.4% |
| Idea Public Schools | 79,430 | 125 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Conroe ISD | 72,914 | 67 | $10,753 | 8.6% |
| Austin ISD | 72,272 | 123 | $14,133 | 14.4% |
| Fort Worth ISD | 70,405 | 137 | $13,777 | 21.1% |
| Frisco ISD | 65,289 | 77 | $10,604 | 3.6% |
| North East ISD | 56,420 | 75 | $13,459 | 13.2% |
| Aldine ISD | 56,419 | 80 | $14,243 | 31.2% |
| Arlington ISD | 53,339 | 74 | $12,690 | 18.2% |
| Klein ISD | 52,437 | 53 | $11,512 | 15.6% |
| Garland ISD | 51,021 | 69 | $13,440 | 14.2% |
| Humble ISD | 48,502 | 51 | $11,419 | 12.8% |
| El Paso ISD | 48,118 | 77 | $13,564 | 24.3% |
| Lewisville ISD | 47,876 | 62 | $13,147 | 6.3% |
| Round Rock ISD | 46,954 | 59 | $11,944 | 5.4% |
| Lamar CISD | 46,786 | 50 | $11,147 | 9.1% |
| Socorro ISD | 46,668 | 52 | $11,771 | 18.5% |
| Plano ISD | 46,612 | 77 | $12,149 | 6.7% |
| Pasadena ISD | 46,491 | 67 | $13,798 | 25.6% |
| San Antonio ISD | 44,047 | 86 | $15,140 | 28.2% |
| Killeen ISD | 42,883 | 57 | $12,573 | 19.1% |
| Leander ISD | 42,608 | 50 | $10,850 | 3.9% |
| United ISD | 40,742 | 51 | $12,334 | 23.4% |
| Clear Creek ISD | 39,684 | 46 | $10,905 | 10.5% |
| Alief ISD | 38,610 | 46 | $13,820 | 33.9% |
| Mesquite ISD | 37,930 | 51 | $13,064 | 18.2% |
| Richardson ISD | 36,971 | 51 | $12,395 | 12.8% |
| Brownsville ISD | 36,140 | 52 | $14,406 | 34.2% |
| Mansfield ISD | 35,354 | 47 | $12,023 | 11.3% |
| Ysleta ISD | 34,062 | 50 | $13,992 | 28.0% |
| Ector County ISD | 33,663 | 44 | $10,921 | 16.4% |
| Spring ISD | 33,590 | 41 | $12,803 | 26.4% |
| Edinburg CISD | 33,343 | 46 | $12,925 | 28.3% |
| Denton ISD | 33,329 | 46 | $11,854 | 8.0% |
| Corpus Christi ISD | 33,103 | 54 | $12,440 | 21.0% |
| Kipp Texas Public Schools | 32,771 | 54 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Spring Branch ISD | 32,668 | 46 | $12,654 | 16.9% |
| Northwest ISD | 32,098 | 37 | $10,825 | 5.9% |
| Keller ISD | 32,042 | 42 | $11,042 | 7.4% |
| Prosper ISD | 31,651 | 30 | $11,249 | 2.5% |
| Irving ISD | 30,767 | 36 | $12,400 | 16.5% |
| Alvin ISD | 30,038 | 37 | $11,435 | 9.6% |
| Comal ISD | 29,839 | 37 | $10,374 | 7.5% |
| Midland ISD | 29,651 | 40 | $12,465 | 13.5% |
| Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD | 29,613 | 43 | $15,679 | 34.2% |
| Amarillo ISD | 29,321 | 55 | $12,005 | 25.3% |
| Grand Prairie ISD | 26,129 | 37 | $11,877 | 15.5% |
| International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas) | 25,497 | 44 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Pflugerville ISD | 25,477 | 35 | $12,360 | 13.4% |
| Hallsville ISD | 24,602 | 8 | $11,529 | 15.2% |
| Hays CISD | 24,330 | 27 | $11,392 | 7.7% |
| Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD | 24,165 | 39 | $13,198 | 11.1% |
| Lubbock ISD | 24,133 | 48 | $13,031 | 19.3% |
| Goose Creek CISD | 24,032 | 34 | $12,516 | 20.9% |
| Eagle Mt-Saginaw ISD | 23,982 | 32 | $11,120 | 10.4% |
| Judson ISD | 23,539 | 36 | $13,460 | 15.6% |
| Uplift Education | 23,384 | 45 | Not reported | Not reported |
| McKinney ISD | 23,296 | 33 | $11,965 | 6.6% |
| Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD | 23,262 | 33 | $11,179 | 13.4% |
| La Joya ISD | 22,942 | 36 | $13,608 | 36.5% |
| Tomball ISD | 22,913 | 24 | $10,434 | 7.6% |
| Birdville ISD | 22,267 | 30 | $11,631 | 13.3% |
| Galena Park ISD | 20,862 | 26 | $13,712 | 27.9% |
| Pearland ISD | 20,862 | 24 | $10,257 | 6.8% |
| Allen ISD | 20,838 | 24 | $11,509 | 5.0% |
| Laredo ISD | 20,271 | 30 | $13,574 | 38.6% |
| McAllen ISD | 19,890 | 31 | $13,936 | 31.0% |
| Yes Prep Public Schools Inc | 19,573 | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
| New Caney ISD | 19,420 | 21 | $12,293 | 12.8% |
| Wylie ISD | 19,401 | 21 | $11,094 | 5.8% |
| Rockwall ISD | 19,235 | 22 | $10,301 | 6.3% |
| Tyler ISD | 18,708 | 26 | $11,967 | 19.9% |
| Forney ISD | 18,565 | 24 | $11,593 | 11.4% |
| Crowley ISD | 17,011 | 25 | $13,006 | 16.4% |
| Texas College Preparatory Academies | 16,602 | 40 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Harlingen CISD | 16,471 | 30 | $13,843 | 28.2% |
| Beaumont ISD | 16,336 | 27 | $13,166 | 25.7% |
| Weslaco ISD | 16,300 | 21 | $12,596 | 28.1% |
| Bryan ISD | 16,044 | 26 | $13,305 | 19.9% |
| Schertz-Cibolo-U City ISD | 14,947 | 16 | $11,053 | 7.2% |
| Magnolia ISD | 14,916 | 18 | $10,705 | 8.8% |
| Southwest ISD | 14,833 | 18 | $13,629 | 20.3% |
| Abilene ISD | 14,536 | 27 | $11,566 | 22.9% |
| College Station ISD | 14,314 | 21 | $11,729 | 11.0% |
| Georgetown ISD | 13,881 | 22 | $11,747 | 5.7% |
| Eagle Pass ISD | 13,820 | 24 | $12,407 | 33.5% |
| Mission CISD | 13,765 | 22 | $15,264 | 33.7% |
| Belton ISD | 13,697 | 20 | $11,938 | 10.2% |
| Grapevine-Colleyville ISD | 13,541 | 20 | $11,404 | 6.0% |
| Fort Stockton ISD | 13,480 | 8 | $12,977 | 21.6% |
| Waco ISD | 13,376 | 23 | $14,400 | 27.0% |
| Bastrop ISD | 13,370 | 16 | $11,405 | 13.5% |
| Coppell ISD | 13,233 | 16 | $11,345 | 2.9% |
| San Angelo ISD | 13,004 | 21 | $11,296 | 15.5% |
| Donna ISD | 12,937 | 21 | $15,042 | 41.6% |
| Great Hearts Texas | 12,926 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Victoria ISD | 12,919 | 25 | $11,753 | 21.0% |
| Burleson ISD | 12,759 | 18 | $11,085 | 7.3% |
| Wichita Falls ISD | 12,644 | 24 | $11,162 | 15.8% |
| Dickinson ISD | 12,554 | 19 | $12,563 | 17.4% |
| Cleveland ISD | 12,513 | 11 | $12,616 | 37.4% |
| Roscoe Collegiate ISD | 12,256 | 4 | $11,578 | 13.2% |
| Deer Park ISD | 12,165 | 15 | $13,440 | 14.7% |
| Frenship ISD | 11,770 | 15 | $10,289 | 10.0% |
| Del Valle ISD | 11,715 | 15 | $13,965 | 22.6% |
| Canyon ISD | 11,565 | 21 | $10,016 | 9.4% |
| Duncanville ISD | 11,562 | 18 | $12,376 | 15.6% |
| Harlandale ISD | 11,546 | 20 | $13,161 | 26.9% |
| East Central ISD | 11,497 | 16 | $11,611 | 15.0% |
| Midlothian ISD | 11,356 | 14 | $11,748 | 5.0% |
| Waxahachie ISD | 11,196 | 18 | $11,710 | 9.1% |
| Brazosport ISD | 11,169 | 18 | $13,423 | 12.1% |
| Boerne ISD | 11,101 | 14 | $10,315 | 6.0% |
| Harmony Public Schools - North Texas | 11,042 | 16 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lake Travis ISD | 11,008 | 11 | $11,870 | 4.6% |
| Huntsville ISD | 10,960 | 9 | $10,208 | 22.2% |
| Sheldon ISD | 10,946 | 14 | $12,986 | 22.7% |
| Hutto ISD | 10,688 | 15 | $12,023 | 5.5% |
| Los Fresnos CISD | 10,357 | 14 | $12,905 | 22.6% |
| Clint ISD | 10,077 | 14 | $14,018 | 25.3% |
| Royse City ISD | 10,034 | 11 | $11,448 | 8.3% |
| Manor ISD | 9,961 | 16 | $13,305 | 17.1% |
| Princeton ISD | 9,956 | 15 | $11,375 | 8.6% |
| Waller ISD | 9,905 | 11 | $11,491 | 15.5% |
| New Braunfels ISD | 9,893 | 16 | $10,505 | 8.7% |
| Montgomery ISD | 9,889 | 12 | $10,230 | 6.2% |
| Sharyland ISD | 9,844 | 13 | $11,833 | 22.7% |
| Liberty Hill ISD | 9,836 | 11 | $10,705 | 3.2% |
| San Felipe-Del Rio CISD | 9,767 | 14 | $12,683 | 21.8% |
| Medina Valley ISD | 9,638 | 9 | $10,857 | 10.3% |
| Channelview ISD | 9,335 | 12 | $14,132 | 22.9% |
| Rio Grande City Grulla ISD | 9,316 | 15 | $13,711 | 47.7% |
| Willis ISD | 9,313 | 12 | $10,425 | 11.0% |
| San Benito CISD | 9,073 | 23 | $13,967 | 35.4% |
| Midway ISD | 8,824 | 12 | $10,856 | 7.9% |
| Temple ISD | 8,764 | 16 | $12,407 | 20.2% |
| Dripping Springs ISD | 8,712 | 8 | $11,156 | 2.4% |
| Aledo ISD | 8,430 | 12 | $11,056 | 3.5% |
| San Marcos CISD | 8,222 | 12 | $12,914 | 12.9% |
| Longview ISD | 8,138 | 14 | $14,518 | 26.9% |
| Carroll ISD | 8,105 | 11 | $11,551 | 2.6% |
| Port Arthur ISD | 8,041 | 15 | $15,260 | 26.9% |
| Little Elm ISD | 8,036 | 10 | $11,953 | 7.3% |
| Lubbock-Cooper ISD | 8,030 | 10 | $11,210 | 7.8% |
| Weatherford ISD | 8,023 | 12 | $12,057 | 9.8% |
| Granbury ISD | 7,962 | 10 | $12,227 | 11.6% |
| Premier High Schools | 7,948 | 48 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Barbers Hill ISD | 7,875 | 9 | $14,489 | 7.1% |
| Edgewood ISD | 7,849 | 23 | $16,418 | 31.1% |
| Sherman ISD | 7,788 | 16 | $14,566 | 16.8% |
| Copperas Cove ISD | 7,761 | 11 | $12,684 | 19.5% |
| Melissa ISD | 7,735 | 7 | $10,919 | 3.7% |
| Texas City ISD | 7,711 | 15 | $16,390 | 26.5% |
| Eanes ISD | 7,604 | 10 | $13,292 | 3.4% |
| Harmony Public Schools - Houston North | 7,571 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
| South San Antonio ISD | 7,468 | 14 | $14,465 | 26.6% |
| Azle ISD | 7,304 | 12 | $12,425 | 12.2% |
| Seguin ISD | 7,290 | 14 | $12,831 | 15.3% |
| Texarkana ISD | 7,269 | 13 | $13,608 | 29.7% |
| Angleton ISD | 7,105 | 11 | $12,546 | 12.5% |
| La Porte ISD | 7,099 | 13 | $13,053 | 13.0% |
| Basis Texas | 7,092 | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Crosby ISD | 7,046 | 9 | $10,378 | 17.2% |
| Trinity Basin Preparatory | 7,007 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Crandall ISD | 6,922 | 8 | $10,871 | 10.1% |
| Cleburne ISD | 6,877 | 11 | $12,880 | 11.0% |
| Lufkin ISD | 6,865 | 17 | $12,674 | 19.6% |
| White Settlement ISD | 6,831 | 9 | $10,692 | 14.5% |
| Lancaster ISD | 6,822 | 11 | $12,726 | 17.1% |
| Vanguard Academy | 6,814 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Lockhart ISD | 6,753 | 9 | $11,614 | 15.2% |
| Red Oak ISD | 6,696 | 8 | $11,943 | 10.7% |
| Ennis ISD | 6,646 | 12 | $11,308 | 12.7% |
| Harmony Public Schools - Houston West | 6,541 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Galveston ISD | 6,383 | 11 | $13,797 | 25.6% |
| Highland Park ISD | 6,350 | 8 | $13,566 | 2.2% |
| Cedar Hill ISD | 6,253 | 12 | $12,628 | 13.6% |
| Friendswood ISD | 6,194 | 6 | $10,864 | 4.3% |
| Argyle ISD | 6,166 | 8 | $10,905 | 2.5% |
| Southside ISD | 6,091 | 10 | $13,564 | 22.0% |
| School of Science and Technology Discovery | 6,084 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Anna ISD | 6,038 | 8 | $12,029 | 8.2% |
| Joshua ISD | 6,026 | 10 | $12,172 | 8.5% |
| Roma ISD | 6,019 | 10 | $15,417 | 38.8% |
| Corsicana ISD | 5,998 | 8 | $12,080 | 20.8% |
| Elgin ISD | 5,959 | 9 | $11,354 | 13.7% |
| Nacogdoches ISD | 5,766 | 10 | $12,747 | 27.9% |
| Canutillo ISD | 5,747 | 10 | $13,179 | 15.6% |
| Life School | 5,735 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Desoto ISD | 5,708 | 11 | $13,331 | 16.0% |
| Harmony Public Schools - West Texas | 5,687 | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Splendora ISD | 5,687 | 7 | $12,146 | 12.8% |
| Dayton ISD | 5,675 | 7 | $11,087 | 22.3% |
| Wylie ISD | 5,606 | 8 | $9,721 | 5.9% |
| School of Science and Technology | 5,602 | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in Texas?
- Houston ISD (176,727 students), Dallas ISD (139,802 students), Cypress-Fairbanks ISD (117,927 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does Texas spend per student?
- Districts in Texas that report finance data spent an average of $12,815 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: