Skip to content

Checked

Virginia School Districts

Public school districts and education agencies

Districts and agencies
210
Students
1,257,315
Fall enrollment
Spending per student
$17,169
Average of reporting districts
Largest district
Fairfax County Public Schools
179,323 students

Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.

Districts by enrollment

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

DistrictStudentsSchoolsPer studentChild poverty
Fairfax County Public Schools179,323223$20,0646.1%
Prince William County Public Schools90,24298$16,4727.7%
Loudoun County Public Schools81,486102$21,2423.4%
Virginia Beach City Public Schools64,73188$15,6999.0%
Chesterfield County Public Schools64,19473$13,9767.9%
Henrico County Public Schools50,91579$14,35610.4%
Chesapeake City Public Schools40,60748$16,11711.2%
Stafford County Public Schools31,81234$13,9505.8%
Arlington County Public Schools27,95042$25,0957.1%
Norfolk City Public Schools26,80749$16,79022.0%
Newport News City Public Schools25,88243$17,92617.3%
Spotsylvania County Public Schools24,03634$14,8659.1%
Richmond City Public Schools20,96257$23,71228.9%
Hampton City Public Schools19,47233$15,83820.9%
Hanover County Public Schools16,76824$14,1647.1%
Alexandria City Public Schools16,57519$21,92810.9%
Suffolk City Public Schools14,56522$14,97011.2%
Frederick County Public Schools14,44719$15,4997.4%
Albemarle County Public Schools14,14925$19,9756.4%
Roanoke City Public Schools13,81126$19,43922.1%
Roanoke County Public Schools13,73529$14,3286.9%
York County Public Schools13,10519$14,5374.8%
Portsmouth City Public Schools12,90523$17,00022.5%
Rockingham County Public Schools11,67923$15,4799.1%
Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools11,37116$15,78719.0%
Fauquier County Public Schools10,86119$15,5525.6%
Augusta County Public Schools10,13019$14,4277.1%
Montgomery County Public Schools9,46121$15,1759.2%
Bedford County Public Schools8,93022$13,7699.3%
Culpeper County Public Schools8,38111$13,70312.3%
Pittsylvania County Public Schools7,83021$14,80214.1%
Campbell County Public Schools7,77715$13,64011.2%
Lynchburg City Public Schools7,65720$17,52721.3%
Manassas City Public Schools7,34510$18,25314.9%
Washington County Public Schools7,27017$14,86013.0%
Henry County Public Schools6,91613$14,19516.8%
Harrisonburg City Public Schools6,65211$16,62521.0%
Prince George County Public Schools6,2207$13,54810.3%
Franklin County Public Schools6,10912$16,13915.8%
Wise County Public Schools5,77913$13,25623.6%
Shenandoah County Public Schools5,70310$14,99212.0%
Danville City Public Schools5,56417$21,09133.5%
Isle of Wight County Public Schools5,5199$14,5068.2%
Louisa County Public Schools5,3346$15,69411.1%
Tazewell County Public Schools5,13414$14,70818.7%
Orange County Public Schools5,0749$13,82711.2%
Warren County Public Schools5,0249$14,9089.1%
Gloucester County Public Schools4,9179$15,8649.6%
Accomack County Public Schools4,62313$15,69421.2%
Caroline County Public Schools4,6005$13,10812.9%
King George County Public Schools4,5915$13,7557.1%
Petersburg City Public Schools4,5827$16,27434.9%
Halifax County Public Schools4,49610$16,26617.1%
Charlottesville City Public Schools4,43910$21,65515.2%
Botetourt County Public Schools4,42412$15,2656.4%
Pulaski County Public Schools4,3859$14,07114.6%
Winchester City Public Schools4,3627$19,63917.9%
Scott County Public Schools4,16615$14,18224.0%
Dinwiddie County Public Schools4,1477$15,66312.4%
Smyth County Public Schools4,13215$15,58018.5%
Powhatan County Public Schools4,0775$14,3215.9%
Salem City Public Schools3,9848$14,03011.7%
Hopewell City Public Schools3,9497$17,05922.5%
Mecklenburg County Public Schools3,9077$15,61518.0%
Amherst County Public Schools3,9009$15,16012.3%
Wythe County Public Schools3,73413$14,62314.7%
Fredericksburg City Public Schools3,6295$18,08416.8%
Giles County Public Schools3,5757$12,62913.1%
New Kent County Public Schools3,5725$13,9295.1%
Carroll County Public Schools3,43711$15,09015.8%
Manassas Park City Public Schools3,3924$15,77210.5%
Russell County Public Schools3,34510$14,40618.6%
Radford City Public Schools3,3215$10,61415.5%
Fluvanna County Public Schools3,3154$15,4817.9%
Waynesboro City Public Schools3,0437$16,56518.4%
Colonial Heights City Public Schools2,9716$16,69814.8%
Lee County Public Schools2,96611$15,61324.1%
Page County Public Schools2,9289$15,44115.1%
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools2,8047$15,72116.1%
Greene County Public Schools2,7817$14,93011.1%
Staunton City Public Schools2,6926$17,26516.7%
Falls Church City Public Schools2,6715$24,4333.2%
Goochland County Public Schools2,6435$16,0516.1%
Rockbridge County Public Schools2,4886$16,61210.2%
Appomattox County Public Schools2,4214$13,30116.7%
Southampton County Public Schools2,3637$15,12413.4%
Buchanan County Public Schools2,3169$17,60324.5%
Patrick County Public Schools2,2767$14,80418.8%
Bristol City Public Schools2,1675$18,29624.2%
King William County Public Schools2,1144$13,7608.3%
Poquoson City Public Schools2,0304$13,8255.0%
Greensville County Public Schools2,0173$26,43825.7%
Clarke County Public Schools1,8834$15,0156.9%
Buckingham County Public Schools1,8685$16,40919.4%
Prince Edward County Public Schools1,8454$17,75922.5%
Dickenson County Public Schools1,8013$16,14322.0%
Martinsville City Public Schools1,7935$18,95430.7%
Nottoway County Public Schools1,7925$17,71521.6%
Charlotte County Public Schools1,7075$15,46924.2%
Floyd County Public Schools1,6665$14,76812.6%
Amelia County Public Schools1,6003$14,51511.9%
Madison County Public Schools1,5854$14,88411.0%
Lunenburg County Public Schools1,5774$16,18422.8%
Westmoreland County Public Schools1,5744$19,17518.9%
Grayson County Public Schools1,5617$16,22520.1%
Nelson County Public Schools1,4924$20,03617.8%
Galax City Public Schools1,4343$15,07832.4%
Richmond County Public Schools1,3983$15,26217.9%
Brunswick County Public Schools1,3695$20,00222.7%
Northampton County Public Schools1,3005$18,04421.9%
Cumberland County Public Schools1,2783$19,15517.3%
Middlesex County Public Schools1,2493$17,53816.7%
Northumberland County Public Schools1,1623$20,16120.0%
Franklin City Public Schools1,1242$20,54435.5%
Essex County Public Schools1,0923$17,15818.4%
Sussex County Public Schools1,0473$25,17725.6%
Lancaster County Public Schools1,0183$17,83818.7%
Buena Vista City Public Schools8864$17,09318.5%
Norton City Public Schools8552$14,50725.3%
West Point Public Schools8432$15,9635.3%
Bland County Public Schools8182$15,18212.4%
Mathews County Public Schools7903$20,61713.8%
Rappahannock County Public Schools7732$20,33112.0%
Surry County Public Schools6913$26,49816.9%
King and Queen County Public Schools6113$16,87016.2%
Colonial Beach Public Schools5932$16,80319.3%
Lexington City Public Schools5372$14,44114.0%
Charles City County Public Schools5232$24,69114.1%
Bath County Public Schools5093$23,52714.1%
Craig County Public Schools5072$17,47214.2%
Highland County Public Schools2082$24,26918.1%
Virginia School for the Deaf and Blind-Staunton651Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What are the largest school districts in Virginia?
Fairfax County Public Schools (179,323 students), Prince William County Public Schools (90,242 students), Loudoun County Public Schools (81,486 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
How much does Virginia spend per student?
Districts in Virginia that report finance data spent an average of $17,169 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
What does per-pupil spending include?
It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026

Share: