Checked
Child Care Businesses in Colorado
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 1,239
- Child care workers
- 16,720
- Average yearly pay
- $34,090
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 6,888
- 13.9 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adams County | 75 | 1,040 | 750 | 15.6 |
| Alamosa County | 3 | 85 | 20 | 13.9 |
| Arapahoe County | 128 | 2,055 | 868 | 15.1 |
| Archuleta County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 7.9 |
| Baca County | None reported | Not reported | 8 | 23.3 |
| Bent County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 7.2 |
| Boulder County | 86 | 1,240 | 271 | 10.9 |
| Broomfield County | 13 | 197 | 82 | 12.5 |
| Chaffee County | 5 | 25 | 26 | 15.4 |
| Cheyenne County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 23.0 |
| Clear Creek County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 3.2 |
| Conejos County | 4 | 38 | 9 | 17.3 |
| Costilla County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 11.1 |
| Custer County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 5.7 |
| Delta County | 5 | 32 | 29 | 10.8 |
| Denver County | 162 | 2,733 | 861 | 14.2 |
| Douglas County | 71 | 1,316 | 389 | 12.2 |
| Eagle County | 23 | 242 | 49 | 13.1 |
| El Paso County | 171 | 2,051 | 868 | 14.0 |
| Elbert County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 7.5 |
| Fremont County | 8 | 88 | 27 | 7.1 |
| Garfield County | 14 | 94 | 68 | 13.1 |
| Gilpin County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 8.5 |
| Grand County | 4 | 42 | 13 | 10.7 |
| Gunnison County | 6 | 92 | 15 | 12.2 |
| Jefferson County | 125 | 1,870 | 665 | 13.6 |
| Kiowa County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 21.8 |
| Kit Carson County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 22.8 |
| La Plata County | 17 | 134 | 43 | 10.7 |
| Lake County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 9.5 |
| Larimer County | 70 | 930 | 422 | 13.4 |
| Las Animas County | 3 | 37 | 9 | 8.3 |
| Lincoln County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 12.6 |
| Logan County | 6 | 63 | 24 | 14.4 |
| Mesa County | 51 | 389 | 141 | 12.1 |
| Moffat County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 6.8 |
| Montezuma County | 7 | 58 | 40 | 17.8 |
| Montrose County | 7 | 92 | 33 | 9.1 |
| Morgan County | None reported | Not reported | 42 | 14.2 |
| Otero County | 4 | 15 | 20 | 13.1 |
| Ouray County | None reported | Not reported | 6 | 11.8 |
| Park County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 6.1 |
| Phillips County | 3 | 17 | 7 | 22.2 |
| Pitkin County | 9 | 83 | 18 | 15.9 |
| Prowers County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 13.4 |
| Pueblo County | 21 | 231 | 187 | 12.3 |
| Rio Blanco County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 13.8 |
| Rio Grande County | 3 | 59 | 21 | 21.2 |
| Routt County | 9 | 112 | 20 | 11.6 |
| Saguache County | None reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0 |
| San Miguel County | 6 | 49 | 7 | 16.3 |
| Sedgwick County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 17.4 |
| Summit County | 14 | 133 | 35 | 15.8 |
| Teller County | 3 | 25 | 24 | 10.9 |
| Washington County | None reported | Not reported | 9 | 18.6 |
| Weld County | 71 | 763 | 596 | 19.0 |
| Yuma County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 19.0 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Colorado?
- Colorado had 1,239 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 16,720 people. Another 6,888 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Colorado counties have the most child care centers?
- El Paso County (171), Denver County (162), Arapahoe County (128) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Colorado?
- Colorado licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: