Checked
Child Care Businesses in Florida
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 4,651
- Child care workers
- 64,646
- Average yearly pay
- $28,760
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 34,300
- 17.4 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alachua County | 74 | 1,095 | 381 | 15.9 |
| Baker County | 12 | 131 | 51 | 22.2 |
| Bay County | 37 | 508 | 225 | 14.1 |
| Bradford County | None reported | Not reported | 35 | 12.6 |
| Brevard County | 95 | 1,271 | 522 | 9.8 |
| Broward County | 410 | 6,292 | 3,775 | 21.2 |
| Calhoun County | None reported | Not reported | 20 | 14.8 |
| Charlotte County | 20 | 233 | 110 | 6.5 |
| Citrus County | 20 | 281 | 116 | 8.4 |
| Clay County | 43 | 760 | 230 | 12.0 |
| Collier County | 45 | 996 | 391 | 10.9 |
| Columbia County | 22 | 274 | 69 | 12.7 |
| DeSoto County | 10 | 72 | 49 | 16.7 |
| Dixie County | None reported | Not reported | 30 | 17.6 |
| Duval County | 269 | 3,597 | 1,674 | 19.0 |
| Escambia County | 67 | 703 | 491 | 17.1 |
| Flagler County | 16 | 216 | 106 | 9.6 |
| Franklin County | 3 | 20 | 10 | 10.4 |
| Gadsden County | 14 | 64 | 99 | 25.9 |
| Gilchrist County | 4 | 32 | 22 | 13.7 |
| Glades County | None reported | Not reported | 10 | 8.0 |
| Gulf County | 4 | 76 | 8 | 7.9 |
| Hamilton County | 4 | 61 | 22 | 19.1 |
| Hardee County | 12 | 170 | 51 | 24.5 |
| Hendry County | 18 | 185 | 93 | 26.2 |
| Hernando County | 31 | 469 | 199 | 11.1 |
| Highlands County | 23 | 262 | 99 | 11.5 |
| Hillsborough County | 358 | 5,576 | 2,826 | 20.9 |
| Holmes County | 6 | 73 | 16 | 11.3 |
| Indian River County | 29 | 395 | 136 | 9.9 |
| Jackson County | 10 | 131 | 64 | 15.3 |
| Jefferson County | 5 | 40 | 21 | 17.2 |
| Lafayette County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 3.7 |
| Lake County | 48 | 615 | 500 | 13.3 |
| Lee County | 120 | 1,632 | 896 | 12.4 |
| Leon County | 79 | 1,183 | 407 | 16.3 |
| Levy County | 10 | 194 | 52 | 13.7 |
| Liberty County | None reported | Not reported | 16 | 20.8 |
| Madison County | 10 | 45 | 44 | 29.9 |
| Manatee County | 92 | 1,259 | 459 | 12.8 |
| Marion County | 50 | 745 | 512 | 14.0 |
| Martin County | 21 | 447 | 122 | 8.8 |
| Miami-Dade County | 775 | 9,494 | 6,838 | 27.8 |
| Monroe County | 14 | 155 | 52 | 8.1 |
| Nassau County | 24 | 298 | 68 | 9.4 |
| Okaloosa County | 34 | 419 | 199 | 10.8 |
| Okeechobee County | 8 | 181 | 62 | 17.2 |
| Orange County | 351 | 5,717 | 2,788 | 21.3 |
| Osceola County | 74 | 1,072 | 949 | 23.9 |
| Palm Beach County | 299 | 4,558 | 2,245 | 16.6 |
| Pasco County | 105 | 1,831 | 710 | 13.3 |
| Pinellas County | 205 | 2,315 | 1,054 | 13.1 |
| Polk County | 141 | 1,534 | 1,421 | 19.8 |
| Putnam County | 20 | 205 | 217 | 31.5 |
| Santa Rosa County | 20 | 205 | 178 | 10.0 |
| Sarasota County | 65 | 646 | 321 | 8.4 |
| Seminole County | 122 | 1,938 | 609 | 15.2 |
| St. Johns County | 54 | 1,103 | 190 | 7.9 |
| St. Lucie County | 64 | 873 | 450 | 14.3 |
| Sumter County | 15 | 119 | 86 | 7.0 |
| Suwannee County | 9 | 114 | 56 | 14.3 |
| Taylor County | 4 | 24 | 29 | 15.3 |
| Union County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 13.4 |
| Volusia County | 122 | 1,373 | 646 | 13.3 |
| Wakulla County | 12 | 80 | 31 | 12.2 |
| Walton County | 11 | 103 | 94 | 12.7 |
| Washington County | 4 | 55 | 24 | 11.0 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Florida?
- Florida had 4,651 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 64,646 people. Another 34,300 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Florida counties have the most child care centers?
- Miami-Dade County (775), Broward County (410), Hillsborough County (358) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Florida?
- Florida licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: