Checked
Child Care Businesses in Idaho
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 504
- Child care workers
- 4,786
- Average yearly pay
- $24,240
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 1,770
- 11.8 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ada County | 135 | 1,597 | 506 | 12.4 |
| Adams County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 10.5 |
| Bannock County | 29 | 250 | 71 | 11.2 |
| Bear Lake County | 3 | 12 | Not reported | 4.5 |
| Bingham County | 8 | 92 | 55 | 12.7 |
| Blaine County | 10 | 23 | 25 | 14.0 |
| Boise County | None reported | Not reported | 5 | 6.0 |
| Bonner County | 15 | 60 | 33 | 9.4 |
| Bonneville County | 33 | 380 | 124 | 12.1 |
| Boundary County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 3.0 |
| Canyon County | 52 | 615 | 293 | 13.8 |
| Caribou County | 4 | 25 | Not reported | 5.6 |
| Cassia County | 9 | 61 | 20 | 11.4 |
| Clearwater County | 5 | 29 | 3 | 8.9 |
| Custer County | None reported | Not reported | 7 | 15.7 |
| Elmore County | 13 | 83 | 23 | 12.3 |
| Franklin County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 12.0 |
| Fremont County | None reported | Not reported | 19 | 13.6 |
| Gem County | 5 | 36 | 19 | 11.6 |
| Gooding County | 4 | 20 | 23 | 16.9 |
| Idaho County | 9 | 29 | 8 | 9.8 |
| Jefferson County | 6 | 22 | 25 | 9.4 |
| Jerome County | 4 | 26 | 30 | 13.5 |
| Kootenai County | 47 | 398 | 125 | 9.5 |
| Latah County | 13 | 152 | 30 | 10.5 |
| Lemhi County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 14.5 |
| Lewis County | 4 | 17 | 3 | 19.0 |
| Lincoln County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 5.6 |
| Madison County | 5 | 94 | 43 | 8.8 |
| Minidoka County | 5 | 23 | 14 | 8.6 |
| Nez Perce County | 21 | 180 | 27 | 11.2 |
| Oneida County | None reported | Not reported | 3 | 6.3 |
| Owyhee County | None reported | Not reported | 11 | 8.8 |
| Payette County | 8 | 88 | 29 | 13.8 |
| Power County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 4.9 |
| Shoshone County | None reported | Not reported | 18 | 13.1 |
| Teton County | 4 | 21 | 12 | 12.9 |
| Twin Falls County | 23 | 286 | 97 | 12.8 |
| Valley County | 9 | 41 | 9 | 14.5 |
| Washington County | 4 | 18 | 7 | 9.9 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Idaho?
- Idaho had 504 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 4,786 people. Another 1,770 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Idaho counties have the most child care centers?
- Ada County (135), Canyon County (52), Kootenai County (47) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Idaho?
- Idaho licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: