Checked
Public Transit in Idaho
Transit agencies based in Idaho and what they reported to the 2025 National Transit Database
- Transit agencies
- 54
- Passenger trips (2025)
- 3.2 million
- 1.7 per resident
- Vehicle revenue miles
- 8.45 million
- Fare revenue
- $3.05 million
- 6.2% of operating costs
Monthly ridership
Passenger trips at Idaho agencies that report every month, in millions
Show as a table
| Period | Passenger trips |
|---|---|
| Aug 2026 | 0.10 million |
| Dec 2025 | 0.09 million |
| Dec 2024 | 0.09 million |
| Dec 2023 | 0.01 million |
| Dec 2022 | 0.10 million |
| Dec 2021 | 0.09 million |
| Dec 2020 | 0.08 million |
| Dec 2019 | 0.13 million |
| Dec 2018 | 0.11 million |
| Dec 2017 | 0.12 million |
| Dec 2016 | 0.13 million |
August 2026: 97,899 trips (0.0% vs. a year earlier).
Transit agencies in Idaho
By passenger trips in 2025
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| Agency | Trips | Revenue miles | Fare recovery |
|---|---|---|---|
| Valley Regional TransitMeridian · Bus, Demand Response | 1.06 million | 2.21 million | 1.9% |
| Mountain Rides Transportation AuthorityKetchum · Bus, Vanpool, Demand Response | 699,285 | 1.06 million | 6.2% |
| Coeur d'Alene TribePlummer · Bus, Demand Response | 217,320 | 645,560 | 0.0% |
| Boise State UniversityBoise · Bus | 206,251 | 140,381 | Not reported |
| City of PocatelloPocatello · Bus, Demand Response | 196,463 | 627,567 | 18.0% |
| Selkirks-Pend Oreille Transit AuthorityDover · Bus, Demand Response | 169,486 | 249,631 | Not reported |
| Ada County Highway DistrictBoise · Vanpool | 130,455 | 1.28 million | 65.0% |
| Regional Public Transportation, Inc.Moscow · Bus, Demand Response | 127,528 | 97,678 | 0.4% |
| Treasure Valley TransitNampa · Bus, Demand Response | 107,070 | 601,552 | 13.1% |
| City of Idaho FallsIdaho Falls · Demand Response | 94,439 | 347,001 | 16.0% |
| City of Twin FallsTwin Falls · Demand Response | 74,121 | 307,993 | 14.2% |
| City of LewistonLewiston · Bus, Demand Response | 48,251 | 154,627 | 3.5% |
| Shoshone-Bannock TribesFort Hall · Bus | 21,524 | 336,162 | Not reported |
| Shoshone CountyWallace · Bus, Demand Response | 18,844 | 74,005 | Not reported |
| Kootenai CountyCoeur D Alene · Demand Response | 10,829 | 77,515 | Not reported |
| Lemhi RideSalmon · Demand Response | 10,346 | 50,239 | 38.9% |
| Nez Perce TribeLapwai · Bus, Demand Response | 4,878 | 187,604 | 0.3% |
Other agencies on file
These agencies did not report 2025 service data, or report through another agency.
- Bear Lake County Memorial Hospital
- Blaine County Seniors Council
- Boise Basin Senior Center
- Cambridge Senior Center
- Cascade Senior Center
- City of Victor
- Council Senior Center
- Development Workshop, Inc.
- Elderly Opportunity Agency
- Filer Senior Center
- Franklin County Medical Center
- Fremont County Senior Center
- Gem County Senior Center
- Golden Year Senior Center
- Idaho Transportation Department
- Kuna Senior Center
- Mackay Senior Center
- McCall Senior Center
- Melba Valley Senior Center
- Meridian Senior Center
- Metro Community Transportation
- Minidoka Memorial Hospital
- Mountain Home Senior Center
- New Meadows Senior Center
- New Plymouth Senior Center
- Oneida County Hospital
- Parma Senior Center
- Payette Senior Center
- Rimrock Senior Center
- Salt Lake Express
- Tesh, Inc.
- Teton County
- Three Island Senior Citizens Center, Inc.
- TransIV Buses - College of Southern Idaho
- University of Idaho
- Valley Vista Care Corporation
- Witco, Inc.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the largest transit agency in Idaho?
- Valley Regional Transit carried the most passengers among agencies based in Idaho, with 1.06 million trips in 2025.
- How many transit trips are taken in Idaho?
- Agencies based in Idaho reported 3.2 million unlinked passenger trips in 2025, about 1.7 per resident.
- Why is an agency missing ridership?
- Small agencies that report through a state program, and agencies that started or stopped service, may have no service data for the year. Agencies are listed in the state of their headquarters even if they serve several states.
Source: Federal Transit Administration, National Transit Database · 2025 annual data, monthly data through August 2026