Checked
Child Care Businesses in Mississippi
Counts by county from the U.S. Census Bureau. No provider names or addresses.
- Centers with employees (2023)
- 808
- Child care workers
- 9,884
- Average yearly pay
- $22,890
- Self-employed providers (2024)
- 7,490
- 28.2 businesses per 10,000 residents
Child care by county
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| County | Centers | Workers | Self-employed | Per 10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adams County | 11 | 116 | 69 | 27.8 |
| Alcorn County | 7 | 60 | 55 | 18.1 |
| Amite County | None reported | Not reported | 12 | 9.6 |
| Attala County | None reported | Not reported | 66 | 37.7 |
| Benton County | None reported | Not reported | 32 | 42.2 |
| Bolivar County | 11 | 232 | 88 | 33.5 |
| Calhoun County | None reported | Not reported | 37 | 28.6 |
| Carroll County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 13.4 |
| Chickasaw County | 6 | 36 | 38 | 26.0 |
| Choctaw County | 3 | 25 | 26 | 35.7 |
| Claiborne County | 4 | 20 | 19 | 26.8 |
| Clarke County | 4 | 31 | 48 | 34.0 |
| Clay County | 4 | 78 | 58 | 33.7 |
| Coahoma County | 9 | 175 | 153 | 78.9 |
| Copiah County | 6 | 52 | 95 | 36.3 |
| Covington County | 4 | 29 | 73 | 42.4 |
| DeSoto County | 37 | 583 | 394 | 22.5 |
| Forrest County | 20 | 200 | 230 | 31.9 |
| Franklin County | None reported | Not reported | 13 | 17.1 |
| George County | 5 | 87 | 64 | 27.4 |
| Greene County | None reported | Not reported | 38 | 27.9 |
| Grenada County | 7 | 133 | 46 | 25.0 |
| Hancock County | 3 | 11 | 55 | 12.6 |
| Harrison County | 53 | 648 | 515 | 26.9 |
| Hinds County | 113 | 1,108 | 785 | 41.1 |
| Holmes County | 8 | 97 | 118 | 77.8 |
| Humphreys County | 6 | 51 | 42 | 64.9 |
| Issaquena County | None reported | Not reported | 4 | 43.1 |
| Itawamba County | 6 | 41 | 12 | 7.5 |
| Jackson County | 34 | 505 | 360 | 27.1 |
| Jasper County | 4 | 49 | 44 | 29.9 |
| Jefferson County | 3 | 44 | 19 | 31.1 |
| Jefferson Davis County | 3 | 103 | 28 | 27.9 |
| Jones County | 13 | 174 | 168 | 27.2 |
| Kemper County | None reported | Not reported | 22 | 25.2 |
| Lafayette County | 5 | 69 | 70 | 12.9 |
| Lamar County | 16 | 274 | 81 | 14.8 |
| Lauderdale County | 19 | 197 | 217 | 33.0 |
| Lawrence County | 3 | 18 | 22 | 21.2 |
| Leake County | 5 | 45 | 77 | 38.5 |
| Lee County | 39 | 380 | 185 | 27.0 |
| Leflore County | 15 | 136 | 113 | 47.2 |
| Lincoln County | None reported | Not reported | 72 | 20.6 |
| Lowndes County | 23 | 292 | 113 | 23.5 |
| Madison County | 28 | 413 | 216 | 21.9 |
| Marion County | 5 | 25 | 60 | 26.9 |
| Marshall County | 5 | 218 | 124 | 38.0 |
| Monroe County | 11 | 144 | 45 | 16.6 |
| Montgomery County | 5 | 30 | 19 | 25.0 |
| Neshoba County | 4 | 33 | 62 | 22.8 |
| Newton County | 3 | 29 | 48 | 24.2 |
| Noxubee County | 4 | 64 | 47 | 50.9 |
| Oktibbeha County | 8 | 106 | 76 | 16.2 |
| Panola County | 10 | 147 | 143 | 46.6 |
| Pearl River County | 12 | 147 | 94 | 18.4 |
| Perry County | None reported | Not reported | 28 | 24.5 |
| Pike County | 18 | 133 | 173 | 48.2 |
| Pontotoc County | 10 | 143 | 49 | 18.7 |
| Prentiss County | None reported | Not reported | 64 | 25.4 |
| Quitman County | 3 | 30 | 23 | 45.0 |
| Rankin County | 43 | 746 | 199 | 15.2 |
| Scott County | 8 | 70 | 83 | 32.8 |
| Sharkey County | None reported | Not reported | 14 | 36.2 |
| Simpson County | 6 | 61 | 58 | 24.9 |
| Smith County | None reported | Not reported | 38 | 26.9 |
| Stone County | 3 | 28 | 26 | 15.3 |
| Sunflower County | 6 | 29 | 77 | 34.1 |
| Tallahatchie County | 5 | 71 | 37 | 35.7 |
| Tate County | 6 | 98 | 82 | 31.1 |
| Tippah County | None reported | Not reported | 31 | 14.4 |
| Tishomingo County | 4 | 27 | 21 | 13.4 |
| Tunica County | 5 | 54 | 49 | 57.0 |
| Union County | None reported | Not reported | 66 | 23.5 |
| Walthall County | 4 | 20 | 42 | 33.2 |
| Warren County | 11 | 93 | 112 | 28.6 |
| Washington County | 27 | 319 | 180 | 48.4 |
| Wayne County | 3 | 23 | 91 | 47.7 |
| Webster County | 3 | 28 | 15 | 18.1 |
| Wilkinson County | 5 | 36 | 33 | 46.6 |
| Winston County | 4 | 56 | 45 | 27.9 |
| Yalobusha County | None reported | Not reported | 21 | 16.9 |
| Yazoo County | 5 | 69 | 110 | 46.3 |
The Census Bureau adds noise to worker counts in small counties to protect business privacy, and leaves out counts it cannot publish. Counties with no centers that have employees show "None reported".
Frequently asked questions
- How many child care centers are in Mississippi?
- Mississippi had 808 child day care businesses with paid employees in 2023, employing 9,884 people. Another 7,490 providers worked on their own in 2024.
- Which Mississippi counties have the most child care centers?
- Hinds County (113), Harrison County (53), Rankin County (43) have the most centers with paid employees.
- How do I find a licensed child care provider in Mississippi?
- Mississippi licenses child care providers. Use the state's official provider search, which you can reach from childcare.gov.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, County Business Patterns and Nonemployer Statistics (NAICS 624410) · 2023 and 2024 data
Share: