Something wrong? Let us know
Checked
Sumter
Regular school district · Bushnell, FL · Grades PK-12
- Students
- 10,013
- 2025-2026 school year
- Schools
- 14
- Students per teacher
- 15.5
- 646 full-time teachers
- Spending per student
- $14,013
- Florida average $13,006
District office
- Address
- 2680 WEST COUNTY ROAD 476, Bushnell, FL 33513
- Phone
- (352) 793-2315
- Website
- sumter.k12.fl.us
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Schools in Sumter
Public schools that report to this district in the NCES directory
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| School | Grades | Students |
|---|---|---|
| Bushnell Elementary School | PK-5 | 752 |
| Contracted Residential Services | PK-12 | Not reported |
| Lake Panasoffkee Elementary School | PK-5 | 621 |
| South Sumter High School | 7-12 | 1,077 |
| South Sumter Middle School | 6-8 | 890 |
| Sumter County Virtual Instruction Program | K-12 | 6 |
| Sumter Prep Academy | 1-12 | 101 |
| Sumter Virtual Franchise | K-12 | 17 |
| The Villages Charter School Autism Center LLC | K-5 | Not reported |
| Villages Charter School | PK-12 | 4,062 |
| Webster Elementary School | PK-5 | 690 |
| Wildwood Elementary School | PK-5 | 678 |
| Wildwood Intermediate School | 3-6 | 409 |
| Wildwood Middle/ High School | 6-12 | 710 |
Frequently asked questions
- How many students attend Sumter?
- Sumter reported 10,013 students in 14 schools in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2025-2026.
- How much does Sumter spend per student?
- In the 2023-24 school year, Sumter spent $14,013 per student on current operations, compared with a Florida average of $13,006.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · NCES district ID 1201800
Share: