Checked
Florida School Districts
Public school districts and education agencies
- Districts and agencies
- 84
- Students
- 2,856,320
- Fall enrollment
- Spending per student
- $13,006
- Average of reporting districts
- Largest district
- Miami-Dade
- 335,631 students
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Districts by enrollment
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| District | Students | Schools | Per student | Child poverty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Dade | 335,631 | 530 | $13,931 | 15.8% |
| Broward | 243,553 | 325 | $13,412 | 13.3% |
| Hillsborough | 218,958 | 293 | $11,431 | 13.2% |
| Orange | 207,308 | 275 | $12,678 | 15.9% |
| Palm Beach | 191,304 | 234 | $15,224 | 13.9% |
| Duval | 129,932 | 203 | $12,290 | 13.1% |
| Polk | 116,440 | 165 | $12,447 | 17.0% |
| Lee | 102,506 | 119 | $12,384 | 12.7% |
| Pinellas | 87,876 | 153 | $13,166 | 13.8% |
| Pasco | 86,611 | 107 | $11,574 | 11.5% |
| Osceola | 75,314 | 86 | $10,868 | 18.2% |
| Brevard | 73,577 | 109 | $11,956 | 12.3% |
| Seminole | 63,934 | 76 | $10,857 | 9.6% |
| Volusia | 61,724 | 87 | $11,204 | 15.3% |
| Manatee | 54,215 | 82 | $12,296 | 12.4% |
| St. Johns | 52,322 | 55 | $10,280 | 4.8% |
| St. Lucie | 49,308 | 56 | $12,594 | 12.9% |
| Collier | 48,252 | 74 | $15,064 | 11.9% |
| Lake | 47,340 | 61 | $11,288 | 11.3% |
| Marion | 45,972 | 62 | $11,943 | 19.6% |
| Sarasota | 45,246 | 64 | $15,458 | 11.0% |
| Clay | 39,116 | 55 | $10,782 | 10.1% |
| Escambia | 36,768 | 69 | $12,721 | 21.8% |
| Okaloosa | 32,047 | 49 | $11,131 | 12.2% |
| Leon | 31,579 | 55 | $11,591 | 21.5% |
| Santa Rosa | 29,621 | 41 | $10,692 | 12.3% |
| Alachua | 28,204 | 62 | $11,908 | 19.4% |
| Bay | 27,494 | 49 | $11,843 | 15.3% |
| Hernando | 23,734 | 32 | $11,535 | 13.0% |
| Martin | 18,316 | 36 | $13,894 | 11.3% |
| Charlotte | 16,997 | 25 | $14,602 | 12.1% |
| Indian River | 16,621 | 28 | $12,517 | 13.3% |
| Citrus | 15,531 | 26 | $11,807 | 16.8% |
| Flagler | 13,521 | 13 | $11,630 | 13.4% |
| Hendry | 13,430 | 16 | $9,492 | 23.2% |
| Nassau | 12,575 | 22 | $11,625 | 10.0% |
| Highlands | 12,040 | 24 | $13,205 | 20.4% |
| Walton | 12,007 | 21 | $15,247 | 14.3% |
| Putnam | 10,082 | 19 | $13,859 | 32.1% |
| Sumter | 10,013 | 14 | $14,013 | 21.3% |
| Columbia | 9,508 | 18 | $10,841 | 22.1% |
| FL Virtual | 9,035 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Monroe | 8,928 | 25 | $18,845 | 14.2% |
| Okeechobee | 6,143 | 12 | $12,404 | 22.8% |
| Suwannee | 6,004 | 13 | $11,896 | 27.3% |
| Jackson | 5,801 | 22 | $12,984 | 26.4% |
| Levy | 5,554 | 15 | $11,940 | 22.9% |
| Wakulla | 5,138 | 15 | $11,206 | 13.1% |
| Baker | 4,763 | 10 | $11,746 | 17.3% |
| Gadsden | 4,633 | 17 | $14,933 | 26.2% |
| Idea Public Schools | 4,602 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hardee | 4,547 | 11 | $12,694 | 22.7% |
| Desoto | 4,155 | 8 | $13,593 | 31.4% |
| Washington | 3,204 | 10 | $12,511 | 19.3% |
| Holmes | 3,013 | 10 | $11,995 | 25.3% |
| Gilchrist | 2,858 | 6 | $11,743 | 19.4% |
| Bradford | 2,848 | 11 | $12,025 | 27.8% |
| Fsu Lab SCH | 2,561 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Taylor | 2,524 | 8 | $15,127 | 27.7% |
| Union | 2,309 | 6 | $12,200 | 17.5% |
| Madison | 2,267 | 12 | $12,730 | 25.2% |
| Calhoun | 2,031 | 6 | $12,652 | 24.1% |
| Dixie | 2,001 | 8 | $12,912 | 28.4% |
| Gulf | 1,901 | 7 | $14,881 | 19.2% |
| Glades | 1,852 | 9 | $15,110 | 20.7% |
| Hamilton | 1,590 | 6 | $14,222 | 32.7% |
| Uf Lab SCH | 1,363 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Fau Lab SCH | 1,326 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberty | 1,249 | 8 | $13,596 | 22.0% |
| Franklin | 1,234 | 6 | $17,833 | 27.8% |
| Lafayette | 1,152 | 5 | $14,462 | 23.8% |
| DJJ District | 1,024 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Jefferson | 701 | 6 | $18,821 | 21.4% |
| Famu Lab SCH | 519 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Deaf/Blind | 512 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| TSC | 273 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Fsu Bay | 178 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
Frequently asked questions
- What are the largest school districts in Florida?
- Miami-Dade (335,631 students), Broward (243,553 students), Hillsborough (218,958 students) have the most students in the latest NCES count.
- How much does Florida spend per student?
- Districts in Florida that report finance data spent an average of $13,006 per student on current operations, weighted by enrollment.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · Last updated 10/22/2026
Share: