Checked
Walton
Regular school district · Defuniak Springs, FL · Grades PK-12
- Students
- 12,007
- 2025-2026 school year
- Schools
- 21
- Students per teacher
- 15.4
- 782 full-time teachers
- Spending per student
- $15,247
- Florida average $13,006
District office
- Address
- 145 S PARK ST, Defuniak Springs, FL 32435
- Phone
- (850) 892-1100
- Website
- walton.k12.fl.us
Enrollment and school counts come from the NCES Common Core of Data. Spending comes from the Census Bureau's Annual Survey of School System Finances, and child poverty from Census SAIPE model estimates. Per-pupil spending is current spending (salaries, benefits, supplies and services), not construction or debt, and is shown only for districts with at least 50 students.
Schools in Walton
Public schools that report to this district in the NCES directory
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| School | Grades | Students |
|---|---|---|
| Bay School | PK | 130 |
| Dune Lakes Elementary School | K-5 | 924 |
| Emerald Coast Middle School | 6-8 | 872 |
| Emerald Coast Technical College | 9-12 | Not reported |
| Freeport Elementary School | K-4 | 1,120 |
| Freeport Learning Center | PK | 114 |
| Freeport Middle School | 5-8 | 790 |
| Freeport Senior High School | 9-12 | 677 |
| Magnet Innovation Center | 9-12 | 117 |
| Maude Saunders Elementary School | K-5 | 554 |
| Mossy Head School | PK-5 | 521 |
| Paxton School | PK-12 | 783 |
| Seaside Neighborhood School | 5-12 | 501 |
| South Walton High School | 9-12 | 1,127 |
| Van R. Butler Elementary School | K-5 | 914 |
| Walton Academy Inc. | 5-12 | 130 |
| Walton County Jail Program | 6-12 | Not reported |
| Walton High School | 9-12 | 969 |
| Walton Initiative for Success in Education (Wise) | PK-12 | 264 |
| Walton Middle School | 6-8 | 796 |
| West Defuniak Elementary School | K-5 | 704 |
Frequently asked questions
- How many students attend Walton?
- Walton reported 12,007 students in 21 schools in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2025-2026.
- How much does Walton spend per student?
- In the 2023-24 school year, Walton spent $15,247 per student on current operations, compared with a Florida average of $13,006.
- What does per-pupil spending include?
- It is current spending for elementary and secondary education divided by fall enrollment, as published by the Census Bureau. It includes instruction, support services such as transportation and administration, and other day-to-day costs. It leaves out capital outlay for buildings and interest on debt.
- Why do some districts have no spending or poverty figures?
- Charter districts, education service agencies and other special agencies often do not report finance data separately, and Census SAIPE estimates child poverty only for geographic school districts. Values are also hidden for districts with fewer than 50 students, where a per-pupil figure can swing widely.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data; U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances and SAIPE · NCES district ID 1201980
Share: