Checked
Minnesota Elections
Official results and voting statistics
- Registered voters (2024)
- 3,853,668
- People who voted
- 3,271,069
- Share of registered
- 84.9%
- Polling places
- 2,685
Official results
2020 U.S. Senate
Official certified result
| Candidate | Party | Votes | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tina Smith(incumbent)Winner | Democratic-Farmer Labor | 1,566,522 | 48.7% |
| Jason Lewis | Republican | 1,398,145 | 43.5% |
| Kevin O'Connor | Legal Marijuana Now Party | 190,154 | 5.9% |
| Oliver Steinberg | Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party | 57,174 | 1.8% |
| Write-ins (scattered) | Not reported | 2,229 | 0.1% |
| Rob Barrett Jr. | Write-In | 22 | 0.0% |
| George A. Dennis Jr. | Write-In | 5 | 0.0% |
| Stephen W. Carlson | Write-In | 3 | 0.0% |
| John Berman | Write-In | 2 | 0.0% |
Total votes counted: 3,214,256
2018 U.S. Senate
Official certified result
| Candidate | Party | Votes | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amy Klobuchar(incumbent)Winner | Democratic-Farmer Labor | 1,566,174 | 60.3% |
| Jim Newberger | Republican | 940,437 | 36.2% |
| Dennis Schuller | Legal Marijuana Now | 66,236 | 2.5% |
| Paula M. Overby | Minnesota Green Party | 23,101 | 0.9% |
| Write-ins (scattered) | Not reported | 872 | 0.0% |
| Stephen A. Emery | Write-In | 51 | 0.0% |
| Tim Meier | Write-In | 5 | 0.0% |
| Steve Carlson | Write-In | 3 | 0.0% |
Total votes counted: 2,596,879
2018 U.S. Senate (special election)
Official certified result
| Candidate | Party | Votes | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tina Smith(incumbent)Winner | Democratic-Farmer Labor | 1,370,540 | 53.0% |
| Karin Housley | Republican | 1,095,777 | 42.4% |
| Sarah Wellington | Legal Marijuana Now | 95,614 | 3.7% |
| Jerry Trooien | Unaffiliated | 24,324 | 0.9% |
| Write-ins (scattered) | Not reported | 1,089 | 0.0% |
| Stephen A. Emery | Write-In | 6 | 0.0% |
| Mike Kuitu | Write-In | 3 | 0.0% |
| Tim Nelson | Write-In | 2 | 0.0% |
| Kevin Hartnett O'Connor | Write-In | 1 | 0.0% |
Total votes counted: 2,587,356
Voters and ballots, 2024 general election
Election Administration and Voting Survey, 87 reporting jurisdictions
- Registered voters
- 3,853,668
- Active registrations
- 3,853,668
- Same-day registrations
- 163,214
- People who voted
- 3,271,069
- Voters as a share of registered
- 84.9%
- Voted in person on Election Day
- 1,960,360
- Voted early in person
- 850,705
- Voted by mail
- 328,830
- Mail ballots sent
- 576,563
- Mail ballots returned
- 455,698
Polling places and poll workers
- Precincts
- 4,103
- Polling places
- 2,685
- Election Day polling places
- 2,578
- Early voting sites
- 247
- Poll workers
- 34,886
Figures are reported by local election offices to the U.S. Election Assistance Commission. Some offices do not report every item, so a total may be marked with the number of jurisdictions that reported it. Voters as a share of registered is not the same as turnout of eligible citizens.
By county
2024 general election
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
Minnesota's members of Congress
Source: Federal Election Commission; U.S. Election Assistance Commission, EAVS