Skip to content

Checked

2026 California Loan Limits

Conforming (FHFA) and FHA mortgage limits by county

Counties
58
High-cost counties
17
Conforming limit above the baseline
Highest conforming limit
$1,249,125
Alameda County
U.S. baseline
$832,750
One-unit conforming

Loan limits by county

One-unit and two-unit limits, 2026

Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.

CountyConforming, 1 unitConforming, 2 unitsFHA, 1 unitFHA, 2 units
Alameda County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Alpine County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Amador County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Butte County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Calaveras County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Colusa County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Contra Costa County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Del Norte County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
El Dorado County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Fresno County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Glenn County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Humboldt County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Imperial County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Inyo County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Kern County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Kings County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Lake County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Lassen County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Los Angeles County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Madera County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Marin County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Mariposa County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Mendocino County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Merced County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Modoc County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Mono County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Monterey County$994,750$1,273,450Not reportedNot reported
Napa County$1,017,750$1,302,900Not reportedNot reported
Nevada County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Orange County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Placer County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Plumas County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Riverside County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Sacramento County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
San Benito County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
San Bernardino County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
San Diego County$1,104,000$1,413,350Not reportedNot reported
San Francisco County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
San Joaquin County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
San Luis Obispo County$1,000,500$1,280,850Not reportedNot reported
San Mateo County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Santa Barbara County$941,850$1,205,750Not reportedNot reported
Santa Clara County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Santa Cruz County$1,249,125$1,599,375Not reportedNot reported
Shasta County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Sierra County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Siskiyou County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Solano County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Sonoma County$897,000$1,148,350Not reportedNot reported
Stanislaus County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Sutter County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Tehama County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Trinity County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Tulare County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Tuolumne County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Ventura County$1,035,000$1,325,000Not reportedNot reported
Yolo County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported
Yuba County$832,750$1,066,250Not reportedNot reported

Frequently asked questions

What is the conforming loan limit in California?
In 2026, 41 of 58 counties in California use the baseline limit of $832,750 for a one-unit home. 17 high-cost counties have higher limits, up to $1,249,125 in Alameda County.

Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency; U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development ยท 2026 limits