Checked
2026 Mortgage Loan Limits by County
Conforming loan limits set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency and FHA mortgage limits set by HUD, for one- to four-unit homes
- Conforming limit, 2026
- $832,750
- One-unit home, most counties
- Conforming high-cost ceiling
- $1,249,125
- One-unit, mainland high-cost areas
Loan limits by state
One-unit limits in 2026. Ranges cover the counties in each state.
Swipe the table sideways to see more columns.
| State | Counties | Conforming | FHA | High-cost counties |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 67 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Alaska | 30 | $1,249,125 | Not reported | 30 |
| American Samoa | 5 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Arizona | 15 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Arkansas | 75 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| California | 58 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 17 |
| Colorado | 64 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 20 |
| Connecticut | 9 | $832,750 to $977,500 | Not reported | 3 |
| Delaware | 3 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| District of Columbia | 1 | $1,249,125 | Not reported | 1 |
| Florida | 67 | $832,750 to $990,150 | Not reported | 1 |
| Georgia | 159 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Guam | 1 | $1,249,125 | Not reported | 1 |
| Hawaii | 5 | $1,249,125 to $1,299,500 | Not reported | 5 |
| Idaho | 44 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 1 |
| Illinois | 102 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Indiana | 92 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Iowa | 99 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Kansas | 105 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Kentucky | 120 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Louisiana | 64 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Maine | 16 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Maryland | 24 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 5 |
| Massachusetts | 14 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 7 |
| Michigan | 83 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Minnesota | 87 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Mississippi | 82 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Missouri | 115 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Montana | 56 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Nebraska | 93 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Nevada | 17 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| New Hampshire | 10 | $832,750 to $962,550 | Not reported | 2 |
| New Jersey | 21 | $832,750 to $1,209,750 | Not reported | 12 |
| New Mexico | 33 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| New York | 62 | $832,750 to $1,209,750 | Not reported | 10 |
| North Carolina | 100 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| North Dakota | 53 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Northern Mariana Islands | 4 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Ohio | 88 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Oklahoma | 77 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Oregon | 36 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Pennsylvania | 67 | $832,750 to $1,209,750 | Not reported | 1 |
| Puerto Rico | 78 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Rhode Island | 5 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| South Carolina | 46 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| South Dakota | 66 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Tennessee | 95 | $832,750 to $1,029,250 | Not reported | 14 |
| Texas | 254 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| U.S. Virgin Islands | 3 | $1,249,125 | Not reported | 3 |
| Utah | 29 | $832,750 to $1,150,000 | Not reported | 4 |
| Vermont | 14 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Virginia | 133 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 18 |
| Washington | 39 | $832,750 to $1,063,750 | Not reported | 3 |
| West Virginia | 55 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 1 |
| Wisconsin | 72 | $832,750 | Not reported | 0 |
| Wyoming | 23 | $832,750 to $1,249,125 | Not reported | 1 |
Frequently asked questions
- What is the conforming loan limit for 2026?
- For 2026, the conforming loan limit for a one-unit home is $832,750 in most U.S. counties. In high-cost areas it is higher, up to $1,249,125 in the mainland U.S. Loans above the limit for the county are often called jumbo loans.
- Why are limits higher in Alaska, Hawaii, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands?
- Federal law sets special, higher limits in these areas because construction costs are higher. Their county pages show the exact amounts.
- When do loan limits change?
- FHFA announces conforming limits for the next year in late November, and HUD follows with FHA limits. New limits apply to loans from January 1.
Source: Federal Housing Finance Agency; U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development · 2026 limits